We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Value Hotel with Charming and Helpful staff and a fine Locatgion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silva Beach to your Saves list
Silva Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“An Excellent Value Hotel with Charming and Helpful staff and a fine Locatgion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have just spent a week at this hotel and, even though it closes on 26th October, it was still about 80% full. The staff are exceptionally helpful (Alex at Reception comes to mind) There are two pools and two bars, drinks are free until 2330. The only drinks not on the all-inclusive tariff are certain cocktails.
The food is fine and there is variety, day by day. The dining room staff are on top of the job, clearing and laying tables. At breakfast the bacon is not what we are used to but everything else is fine; four different sorts of eggs, boiled, poached, fried and omelette. Plenty of breads and cakes, fruit, yoghurt, jam and honey.
Every room has a modem and Ethernet cable to use one’s own computer; the free wi-fi is seriously slow and really only worthwhile for email and won’t handle attachments or news and weather sites.
Some people with mobility difficulties might have difficulties as, although there are ramps everywhere and ground floor rooms, the site overall is on the steep side
Rooms are large, all with a/c, sheets and towels changed daily, only one armchair, a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and a safe. Note that there is no socket in the bathroom for charging electric razors and the 2 pin sockets in the rooms do not accept razor chargers. As a not brand new hotel one is stuck with the business of no paper down the toilets, which seems a bit mucky to some.
I found the loud piped music in the main bar area intrusive and inappropriate - thrashy drumming and singing by a woman apparently sitting on a sharp stick!.

For flights including luggage, transfers and 7 nights inclusive you will be pushed to find a better hotel in Crete for £200 a week!
Plenty of local souvenir shops and supermarkets, more car and quad bike hire than you can imagine. Cars range from cheap and cheerful Hyundai, through Peugeot, Renault, Toyotas and VW to an Aston Martin Convertible! I paid £52 for 3 days of a Hyundais ATOZ. Overall speed limit is 90 kph, petrol is €1.80 a litre and diesel is € 1.55. If you go inland petrol stations can be few and far between.
I would be very happy to return and recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a keen price, acceptable food and drink and amiable helpful staff

Room Tip: Avoid any room overlooking the mail pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    324
    174
    54
    16
See reviews for
104
601
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my girlfriend last month. After the coach transfer from hell with the horny primark version of One Direction who were heading to Malia we were pleasantly surprised to find they had prepared a cold selection of food and few drinks for us, even though we didn't arrive till 1am!

The room was clean and tidy and in a great spot just set back from the main pool. The food was good, although a little tiresome towards the end. That being said, it was the perfect excuse to head to the amazing Vesuvius restaurant 10 mins away - the best meal we had all holiday and one definitely not to be missed!

So what didn't I like?...

Adults only? Ummm No. OK, so some of the guests were 14-15 which is bearable but the pool overlooking the beach was frequently full of kids/babies. It seemed anyone wandering by could use it (locals included) and no one really seemed to care.

DRINKS!!! I'm pretty sure they even dilute the water here. Although bearable being all inclusive they insist on operating a ridiculous 'table service' in the evenings whereby you can't go up to the bar for a drink. You have to sit and wait. and wait. and wait. One evening, after 25 minutes of being ignored and fed up, I went up to the bar and offered to pay cash which, unsurprisingly, saw me next to be served! They also stop all inclusive BANG ON 11pm. The waitress took our order at 10.50pm but them came back just after 11 to tell us the bar staff hadn't got round to pouring one beer and one wine before 11 so we couldn't have them unless we paid. Ridiculous!

So, All inclusive it is, but only when it suits. Breakfast for example? You could help yourself to 50 oranges if you fancied it, but a glass of orange juice? 1 Euro. And the safe................

Naturally we wanted to lock our passports away. The sign on the safe says to call reception for the code, which we did. A member of staff came and reset it, charging us 30 Euros for the privilege!! The reset button is on the inside edge of the door and the instructions written on the inside - use Google translate on the free wifi if you can't suss it out. They literally charged us £30 to push the button which, for a supposed 4 star all inclusive, is a tad cheeky to say the least!

Overall it was a nice holiday but I wouldn't recommend it to friends. For the price we paid I expected better. It's a 3 star at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't no what people want!! this hotel is fab!! like an old Greek village!! rooms kept spotless, and maid wonderful!! aircon good!! shower lovely!! very powerful!! we stayed in main part and not the annex!! views were fantastic!! romantic bar is lookin over the pool, fab location!! the whole hotel is in a fab location! lovely walks along the front down to the harbour which takes about 30 mins!! can't understand bad reviews!! breakfast not brilliant, but you can still find something to eat, outdoor seating area, absolutely fab!! all drinks good, ended up tipsy most nights!! barmen fab!! would definatly would go back!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent a week in October 2013.Food was a bit mundane repetitive. Staff were helpful but its just a laid back weeks holiday. Drinks were of no great quality . Room was clean unfortunately was facing main road and was opposite karaoke bar.
Basically a cheap holiday in the sun is what I paid for and what I got.

Room Tip: Do not get one facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at Aquis Silva Beach
If you want a free for all total crap as long as plenty holiday this is for you.
There is plenty of food on offer but nothing with standard if you like chips, chicken bits, liver, Frozen carrots, Dry fish, Boiled Turkey Roll and Bread then you will find it fine.
There was no such thing as a Roast or even on the salad bar Tuna which I think I have had in every hotel I have ever been in
The same with drinks if you want them dished out to you with no standard you will be fine but if you like the little extras that make a holiday special you certainly not get it here every thing is basic for the people who think more is best.
Rooms average clean
One good thing that happened to me the hairdryer broke and I put a note on it and when I returned it had been repaired which I thought was great and to be honest didn't expect.
Crete isn't what it used to be but I think that is due to the plight Greece is in with the economy.
Will not return !!!

Room Tip: People I spoke to said the annex although dated are nice and big our room was 154 overlooking side r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked a week here for myself and adult daughter to have a relaxing time and get away from it all. And thats just what we did. We were the last to arrive at about 1.30am and we were given the most warmest of welcomes. After being taken to our room we were given a plate of cold food which was most welcome. This warm nature continued for our stay, nothing was too much trouble with the reception staff. The setting for the hotel is great, yes the beach is small but with no children to make sandcastles it didn't matter. It was nice to have shops nearby - and a pharmacy to cope with the mozzie bites!The salt water pool is fab, you are really floaty light and was our favourite spot during the day, however it could be noisy with two differing types of music blaring out from the bar. You do need to be up early to get your towel down if you want a spot in the sun. The rooms are beautifully clean with a great fridge to keep your drinks in, which alas you will need to do. The alcohol is dire! The wine so watered we drank beer at meal times as at least it was palatable which the wine wasn't. The spirits were poor too.Food was ok, but there are some great places to eat just nearby so go and try them and get some authentic greek food. Unusually there are no wristbands at this hotel you have to show your room key wherever you go which can be a pain during the day unless you have pockets in your swimsuit!
The day before you leave make sure to book the shower room in the reception area. They give you towels and 20 minutes which meant we were able to enjoy a full last day around the pool. Do give this hotel a try I think you will enjoy it, we did!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ideal location close to the town & sea front promenade although the hotel has the best of everything on site. Pools, bars, restaurant and great staff catering for your needs.
Very good food from their international buffet each meal time, had trepidation after reading previous reviews but they are unfounded. Yes, buffet each day but menus change each day, food is good and plentiful and I'll defy anyone to go away hungry. Good fun in the evenings with the animation events and of course, the all inclusive bar. Join in, let yourself go and you'll have a terrific holiday with a totally international crowd of like minded people.
We were impressed by the warm welcome, efficiency and the pleasure taken by the staff in ensuring everything is in order for your enjoyment, Special thanks to Minas & George in the bar for being entertaining as well as providing the drinks.
Rooms are spacious and very clean/spotless, with the usual daily maid service. Again a pleasure to talk to the Greek lady as nothing was too much trouble down to putting a red flower on the bed regularly.
The hotel complex is quite large but relatively easy to fins your way around with the pool, bar & restaurant central to everything. Fairly low architecture which is based on the style of a Cretan village. Plenty of greenery, flowers and fruit trees - all making it attractive and colourful.
Recommend for anyone, and if you have any special requirements don't be afraid to ask as they will always oblige if possible and only too pleased to be able to help.
The town is ideally situated - only 1/2 from the airport / capital (Heraklion), and plentiful tour operators running organised day trips to the many attractive places to visit on the island.
One of the best holiday locations we have had in Europe made all the better by the Greek hospitality received everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silva Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.