We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a special place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creta Maris Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Creta Maris Beach Resort to your Saves list
Creta Maris Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration week 1-8 May
Ranked #12 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW what a special place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in the Bungalows from 1st Oct to 11th. No. 559. We went with Thomas Cook All Inclusive. Had a beautiful sea view and the gardens below had a pomegranate tree and other beautiful plants and trees.
This is by far one of the most special places we have stayed. The complex has a "magical" feel about it and has an exquisite layout. The Bungalow we stayed in wasn't upgraded yet BUT we found it quaint. It made us feel we were living in a greek village. Plenty room for the 2 of us. We could nit pick like others do BUT we WILL definitely be back! The room had 2 beds pushed together. BEST sleep anywhere I have had. Extra pillows in wardrobe. Safe in room. (FREE)Room also has kettle and tea coffee sachets left everyday. The beds changed every 2 days. Soap, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion topped up whenever you need it. Beach towels left in bathroom on arrival. These can be changed between 4pm & 6pm at main pool everyday. We spent a lot of time round by the Steki bar pool. Most of the time very peaceful and Poppi at the Steki bar is SO amazing. What a asset to the Creta Maris. Always a smiling and so pleasant! There's a little hidden gem round by the bungalows on the rocks with sun loungers. The most stunning views and a nice gentle breeze blowing if too hot.
Now the main restaurant in the Creta has something for everyone. I am a bit fussy but I certainly found something delicious to eat all the time. White, Rose & Red Wine on tap to help yourself. Peach orange and apple juice on tap too! The staff are all amazing in there but KATIRINA & ELENI are 2 of the most nicest, pleasant and amazing staff we met in the complex. We just hope The management know they have an amazing group of people working for them. Thanks girls! ;-)
We ate late lunch in the restaurant by the main pool. Yet again we could not fault ANYTHING. Pasta in there is outstanding. And staff are great.
Toilets around pool areas and in hotel are always clean.
The Romantic bar is a great place. Inside amd outside seating. Drinks with tye A.I. are fine. I'm a vodka drinker and there local TROPHY vodka was great. Also the brandy was fine as well. Cocktails ok and they have Baileys. Bar staff are a bit rushed at times but always pleasant.
A la carte Italian up at the Terra was so nice. The dessert table is the best I've ever seen.
We had a late flight. Check out was 1200. You can leave your cases next to reception. They let you carry on with your All Inclusive until it's that sad time to leave. Downstairs there's a late departure room with shower facilities. Towels shower gel amd lockers. Great idea.
Yes there were a few conferences on but they never bother anybody like some people moan about.
All in all it is definitely a must for us to return. 100% effort and thank you!
Lastly we took advantage of the Thomas Cook Fast Track for the return flight. €37 each. Worth EVERY single €. The airport is RAMMED. Never seen anything like it. For your €'s you are taken to the front of the queue at all points and then taken to a small peaceful relaxing lounge. And when your flight is ready you are taken downstairs and yet again taken to the front of the Queue and there is little or no stress apart from the few stares as u are treated like a V.I.P. A huge thanks to Stacey. Rep for Thomas Cook. An great ambassador for Thomas Cook.
We SO look forward to returning here again and again!!! 100% relaxing holiday. Thank you all at Creta Maris. Xxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    325
    89
    33
    13
See reviews for
510
395
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have been there in mid of October 2013, at the end of season. The weather was just fine, sea was warm, but swimming in the pools not possible-water was cold.
We were satisfied with our vacation, nice room, good food, and perfect thematic restaurants. Nice beach, although there are sea wreck, but nice sand everywhere on the hotel beach. Perfect bar on the beach. Pitty was, that the indoor pool in the lower area was under reconstruction, so we had to go to the Terra building up to the hill, but no problem at all.
It is a nice hotel, definitely would like to return.

Room Tip: 826B is a family room, with sea side view. Two balcony and a lot of room inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had an issue in trying to find out the perfect location for a very "demanding" family composed by two teen agers (17 and 18) 1 boy of 11, 2 grand parents and finally we two...
Creta Maris was just the perfect choice!

Grand mom and dad were happy as they could stay with their nephews without interfering with their holidays, the two teenagers were soooo happy as animation staff was just great, great food, great location and last but not least the nearby town was just 5 minutes walk distant and they could enjoy late night in disco...our little boy was so happy as he could enjoy his parents, his grand parents and have fun at the same time without the need of being "forced" by his elders brothers to do things he didn't want to... and finally we two we had a very restful and joyful holidays as nobody complains about nothing! After one year at work, you just want to see you family happy and deserve some peace for yourself as well...The 4 restaurant are all very good, although the central one thanks to Italian Chef Massimiliano, reached its best and especially August 15th was jus unbelievable!

The staff team is exceptional, Lino, Jessica and all the rest of the crew were just as amazing as professionals, very good job!

On our way back we discovered that we forgot a new black-berry inside the safety box, well, they send it back after a week, very professional and very customer care oriented.

Location is beautiful, clean rooms, good service, excellent food, swimming pools very clean, and fun was everyday.

Thanks, we really enjoy it!

Only one minor thing, although the Spa is very nice, prices are too high for the poor quality they offer, it's a pity...I would have done many more massages if the first one was ok

Room Tip: Ask to be located not near the road and quite close to the main restaurant. Theatre is not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a unique concept of a hotel in Crete island, allowing the guest to taste all the different dimensions of the island (taste, music, drinks, beaches and entertainment) in a single resort - however there are two problems. First it is really expensive for Greeks and second the Cretan tastes will be better demonstrated without the all- inclusive obligation which does not fit with the overall concept

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are an elderly couple and stayed here for 4 days before going on a mediterranean cruise. Was very pleasantly surprised as It was absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded to a Bungalow which was enormous. It was like being in a little village. The Restaurants were all very good and the food and drinks were excellent. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. First we thought there was going to be nothing outside the Hotel but after venturing out one night we found excellent shops, bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away, lovely surprise. Little bit of walking backwards and forwards to facilities but this didnt affect us too much.

Just a couple of negatives though, there were about 6 lovely pools but with no-one in them, couldnt understand why then found out that the water was absolutely freezing despite the temperature being very hot and in the 80s! It was hotter in the Sea. Also in the evening and late into the night (at least midnight sonmetimes beyond) there was outside entertainment with loud speakers that did actually keep us awake, but hey ho, its only rock'n'roll, and we were on holiday.

Its only Rock'n'Roll

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself my partner and my son stayed here for two weeks in September, we could not fault the hotel for anything, food fantastic, cleanliness fantastic, pools fantastic and beach fantastic. The staff were efficient and helpful, the maids worked tirelessly and did not get underfoot as some reviewers have said. Congratulations to the management we had a great two weeks of relaxation and have already recommended it to friends who have booked to stay next summer. If not for the fact that we go to different places every year we would have re-booked ourselves, maybe in a couple of years we will.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in Creta Maris for a holiday in October.
Perfect hotel with a huge territory for waking, sunbathing, swimming and just relaxing.

Location is great, just few minutes walking from shops and taverna/restaurant area, if you are bored and want to spend time outside of the hotel.

Food is to die for! It doesn't change a lot every day, but you would need a month to try each course. Also there was no problem with a la carte restaurants reservation. We were lucky to visit Limoncello with crazy delicious desserts and Cochlias for a seafood BBQ that was absolutely fantastic!

During the day you can find an animation team offering games and different activities. Every night there is a disco or other amusements. If you want to get out from the hustle and bustle near the main pool, just go to other swimming pools on the hotel's territory.

Rent pedalo and discover Hersonissos from the sea. Also there is a perfect rocky beach for snorkeing. But bring your mask or buy it in the shop near the hotel.

I would differently recommend Creta Maris Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in general: Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to the fishing village of Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. Hotel location: Directions from Heraklion Airport to Creta Maris: From the exit of the airport follow the national road with direction to Agios Nikolaos. Go straight ahead for about 20km. Turn right in the exit to Kastelli and then turn left for Hersonissos. Go straight ahead for 2 km and turn right for Hersonissos village (old road). At the time you arrive in Hersonissos (after 2km) you will see at the left side a medical center. Turn left there and at the first crossroad turn left. Go straight ahead for about 500m and you will see Creta Maris in your right side. Directions from Heraklion Port to Creta Maris: From the exit of the port turn left in the traffic lights. After 500m turn right and go straight ahead. After 300m turn right to the national road with direction to Agios Nikolaos. Go straight ahead for about 20km. Turn right in the exit to Kastelli and then turn left for Hersonissos. Go straight ahead for 2 km and turn right for Hersonissos village (old road). At the time you arrive in Hersonissos you will see at the left side a medical center. Turn left there and at the first crossroad turn left. Go straight for about 500m and you will see Creta Maris in your right side.. Service at the hotel: Luxury Guest Services Crete Hotels - Creta Maris Hotel Crete At Creta Maris, the choices for every hour of the day are endless and cover every need. Besides the athletic and entertainment activities, the restaurants and bars, you also have at your disposal spacious lounges to relax, shops, blooming gardens for a little stroll, bridge corners, TV, hair salon, medical room, business center, Internet services, car rental, foreign exchange, theatre, church, and helipad. You can also enjoy relaxation and well-being at the Hammam Spa where the main object is to make you feel better than ever before. Gastronomy in the hotel: Restaurants In the 6 restaurants to be found on the premises of Creta Maris Beach Resort, traditional cuisine meets up with "guest cuisines" and offers wonderful gastronomical delights. Most ingredients are supplied by local producers. Sports, entertainment and pool in the hotel: Activities Creta Maris is a paradise for the active and for those who love sports. There is something for everyone. Swimming in the sea or at one of the swimming pools, tennis courts, football pitch, archery, mini golf, beach volley, water-sports, table tennis. The more daring can rent mountain bikes or have a game of golf at the Crete Golf Club, which will satisfy even the more discerning players. Hotel room/Accommodation: Many different room categories within the two main buildings, Maris & Terra buildings and the bungalows, can accommodate approximately 2000 clients. All rooms are equipped with all necessary comforts and offer either a garden or veranda. Creta Maris has 680 rooms including rooms with different view, suites, and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creta Maris Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.