We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Born to cook!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yiannis Place - CLOSED

Yiannis Place
Sanoudaki 25 & Dimokratias, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chersoniso, Iraklion, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Born to cook!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Yiannis place offers different kinds of food, in every dish you taste the maitre himself.
Price quality ok.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions and hospitable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Luckily this restaurant was one of the few open during our stay in Crete (early April), so we got to patronize it twice! And it did not disappoint! I especially enjoyed the stuffed grape leaves and fried squid. The staff was also especially friendly. First they made a balloon out of a rubber glove for our baby, which made her very happy. Also my father dropped his wallet in the restaurant and they graciously returned it to him.

Definitely worth it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant run by fantastic people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

On the day of our arrival we needed something to eat and our rep recommended 2 restaurants, 1 to the left of our apartment and 1 to the right. We decided to go left and from that night thereafter! The food was absolutely wonderful from the word go. When we go on holiday we eat local food and every dish served was spot on and at very reasonable prices. But what makes this restaurant special are the people who run and work there. Yiannis, his lovely wife Tanya, Dimitris and the other members of staff all make you feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Legendary Greek hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are from India and were keen on authentic Cretan food, which somehow got lost in Hellinisation, Europization and globalization. Yianni gave us a superb Greek lunch, which included vegetarian fare (thanks to his charming Dutch wife who is Veg and understands the Indian concern) and then told us to come back the next day for genuine local cuisine. Which we did, and sure we got a rare treat. Lavish desserts came on the house. Wish to see this little traverna get due recognition.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Fantastic food and a very warm welcome, The chef comes out to greet you and talk you through the menu, the kitchen is exposed and very clean, the only thing is the view isn't great but sit with your back to the road because the food it way better than anything you will eat on the seafront. This is the only traditional home cooked food we had, the other eateries are all the same.
Just a shame they dont have a branch in London!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yiannis Place also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yiannis Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.