We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money grabbing theives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Oasis Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Money grabbing theives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a terrible time here every time you buy something they try to squeeze an extra euro out of you, pool is good needs a clean though food wasn't to bad but once again they'll do anything for more money so their obviously struggling. Wouldn't ever return and wouldn't dream of recommending it to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for two week last year in june and had an absolutely fantastic time! There was not one thing we could fault with this place! Great food, rooms and family.
A massive thankyou to Marinos, Heidi, Dimitris and Manos!
Our only regret was not being able to stay this year - through fault of our own leaving it too late! However, we didn't stay far away this year and went back to visit them and was welcomed with open arms ! Just truly wonderful people!!!!!

We will be back next year for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from a two week break at this gem of a hotel We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived Our room 407 was lovely modern and spotlessly clean with beautiful views .The food was excellent yes Pork did feature quite often but it was delicious .I would have liked more fish choices but the vegetarian choices made up for it .The whole family work extremely hard seven days a week to keep everything running efficiently and hopefully in these tough times they will keep being as successful as they are .We had a late checkout and were able to keep the room 25euros but worth it Heidi will do her best to accommodate guests if the room bookings allow Just ask couple of days ahead .A huge thankyou from us we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well second visit to the Oasis Beach and what can one say the food is stunning and the ambiance of the place is 1st class, ok it's not the entertainment capital but who cares the rooms are A1 and the rest goes hand in hand I get very annoyed when people leave negative reviews !!! For the money you pay this establishment is 5 star and you certainly get well looked after on all fronts well done It was a stunning and relaxed holiday to the owners & their family a little gem of a place This is certainly the place to chill and recharge the batteries Thanks and the food is stunning good home cooking Greek style

Room Tip: All rooms are A1 but some get sun in the morning whilst others in the afternoon room 102 is morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I chose this hotel on reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The main reason was the good write ups on the food. Well what a disappointment. Ok if you like pork!!. Pork every day, some days in 3 dishes. We had watery fish once in 2 weeks and chicken twice, which was little knuckle bits with not much meat. The food was not varied. ok if you like vegetables, lots of them from owners own garden Stewing steak once. The breakfast wasn't too bad but no toast. Bread and jam meat and tasteless cheese. If you didn't get there early all the melon was taken, which left tin peaches. This hotel is mainly occupied by Germans only 2 other English there when we went. The owners wife is German. We didn't eat as much as the Germans for breakfast and wanted to take 2 slices of bread back to our room for later. The owner told us off for this. The other English wanted to take a plate out to chop up fruit on, they were told no!
The swimming pool is cold and the first week was covered in flies. The sun beds are uncomfortable but plenty of them.
The rooms are clean but 5 Euros a day for air con. Sheets changed once a week and towels every 3 days, if you can call them towels. They were thread bare and old. On the last day we were herded out of our room dead on 12 and we had 12 hours to wait to be picked up for airport. We were told to shower at the swimming pool outside in cold water and change in the small wooden hut outside. We asked to pay extra to keep our room but this was denied.
This hotel is no good for children, nothing for them to do.
In the evening there is nothing to do, the bar doesn't even play music. The area itself has 2 supermarkets and 2 gift shops ,one bar and one taverna. The captains bar is good for a full English breakfast. 2 eggs,3 bacon,large sausage,tomato,beans,2 toast & jam, coffee and fresh orange juice all for 6.5 Euro. No entertainment anywhere. Most of the other hotels are fully inclusive Mikes supermarket is the cheapest and the man serving is very nice. Good place to buy your cigarettes . Beach sandy but rocks in sea. Sea was always too rough to go in.
Well worth a trip on the little train for 10 Euros. Don't take a trip from Sparrow Travel. We booked to go to Spinalonga at 45 Euros. Coach full of different nationalities. On island one hour only and guide arrived 20 minutes late so missed a lot about the island. Then we went for a barbeque where they took us to a heap of rocks for 2 hours. Ate on boat. Pork once again. Finally ended up at Agios Nicholias for an hour. The boat went from Elounda which looked lovely but we weren't allowed any time there.
If you go to this area for a holiday you definitely need a car , or pay for taxis, didn't see any buses. I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at back ground floor good. But hotel quiet every where. would not like a room attached to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigmore kent england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

they say you should never go back to the same place twice! how wrong! for the second year running, we went back to this beautiful, friendly, family run hotel. We were greeted like old friends and had a super room overlooking the pool. The food was great, the family are simply wonderful, and I'm glad that nothing has changed! It was so relaxing, knowing who we were going to, and what to expect. I've read a few reviews from people who complain that the breakfast is a tad simple. Its a comprehensive continental! On offer is, bread, croissants, cake, jam, marmalade, chocolate, honey, cereals, meats, salads, yogurt, cheese, tea, coffee, hot choc!! do people honestly want more than this at breakfast?? apparently some do! for those who want a big english fry up, i have two suggestions, pop down the lane to the captains bar or stay in england! or better still, stay in Malia, where apart from the sun, its like a dodgy area of soho! english pubs, sick on the pavement, you know the kind of thing! but if you want peace, calm, good food, lovely people, up market area, then this is the hotel for you! Our special thanks go to heidi and marinos for the lovely welcome, manos and demetri for the excellent food and bar service and claudia for keeping our room so beautiful! The evening dinners are some of the best we've ever had, authentic, tasty and plenty of it. The dining room has a lovely calm and well mannered feel to it, no one rushes to heap their plates up, its all so civilised!
well done oasis beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, Lancs
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here in August. I agree the evening meal was delicious and varied but breakfast not so good - bread tasted stale and cheap ham and cheese slices. Only scrambled egg that was cooked - cake was very good though! We stayed as a family and once the kid's bed was in situ there was no room to move about. It was like 3 of us sleeping together! Double bed comfy though. Bathroom ok but dark and no hot water for a wash in the morning. Also soap dish (which weighed a ton) wasn't fixed properly and fell on my foot causing a lot of pain and bruising! Pool area was nice and at least had a shallow end for kids (unlike some hotels in Crete). Overall not too bad but wouldn't go back - depends whats an issue for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Hotel

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.