We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - worth finding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mythos

Mythos
Sanoudaki 19, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
+302897022223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 172 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Place - worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tough place to find especially if you are on the outskirts of Chersonissos - otherwise take the address and get a taxi.

The friendly family welcome is wonderful, especially for the footsore people searching for the place, great menu with lots of choice and advice from the waiting staff.

We just had to go back twice, first time had the sharing meat platter (excellent value at 20Euros) and secondly the pork shank and the lamb kleftiko (stunning), both times the service, food and ambiance was second to none.

Finished off with a great free desert and little carafe of ouzo? with lemon water - nice touch to end a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    105
    24
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Im so sorry its taken this long to leave a review we ate there in July. I am in the trade and therefore can be quite critical. fine dining it is not but it is authentic Greek cooking in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere it certainly is. Once we discovered it after day 2 we went back 6 times. Some would say boring, but when we went to other places the quality of everything was just not there, you are just another tourist with a euro to spend. Mythos is well worth a visit. Even the groups of lads who dined there before partying were respectful. I think you would be disappointed if you missed out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Back again this year and the food and service are still excellant I would recomend the the restaurant to anyone, we eat here every year and look on Mano and Ghanni as friends. The only thing missing was Manos's father who normally meets and greats you at the entrance everybody has to retire sometime but I will miss him.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful family run Taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely little Taverna just off the main strip. Excellent menu with lots of choice and traditional Greek food. Very pleasant and friendly owners and great value for money. We loved it so much we ate here every night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone planning a visit to Hersonissos, The service was just fantastic, and the food divine.
The first night we went in, we were seated in the Garden area, immediately served, we were given free hot rolls and butter, the main meals were very cheap for what you get, and to finish the evening you get free fruit and ice-cream and free ouzo. Great value for money. We ate here 4 time in the week, and on our last night they gave us a bottle of wine to take home with us as a thank you for using the restaurant and as a goodbye gift. Will be back next year!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mythos also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Mythos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mythos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.