We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is everything, entertainment is wanting! Defibrillators ready!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Caldera Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Caldera Palace
Save
You added Atlantica Caldera Palace to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Timing is everything, entertainment is wanting! Defibrillators ready!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 4th visit in 3 years to senatori. Again a lovely room with swim up... Which we found better than the private pool rooms we had previously. Second visit in May and the restaurant is understaffed as other years, leading to below average service from frustrated staff, this is a real shame because a few more waiters would solve the problem and make the main restaurant a more enjoyable experience. Food was good, plenty of variety for a week away. We did skip meals due to feeling like we were always at dinner or lunch. Queues for the restaurant at busy times were again due to understaffing, cleaning and preparation of tables an issue. I will say that those there work really really hard but are put under unnecessary pressure.

This time there were a fair number of people suffering with sickness. I have never known this at senatori before....

The showcast this year were not a patch on previous two years and there is a big gap in entertainment between 8 and 10pm. In previous years a band/duo would have played or Tom who was very entertaining. It seems this crop are just not that talented and the entertainment manager was absolute Butlins, in fact I'd bet that's where he learnt his trade and it is reflected in the resident shows. I must say that three of the six nights were good. All of these were external acts and worth watching.

Overall, enjoyable week, nothing is ever perfect but the rooms make this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall a good experience.
Two childrens swimming pools well away from the adults pools, was a big plus.
Food variety & presentation excellent, but quality not 5*, talking to other people who had been there before this was definitely an area where cost economies were being made, a child free restaurant would also be an improvement, two adults eating at 8.30/9.00pm do not want tired crotchety children running free round tables in the premium priced Al Dente restaurant.
The Junior suite room was spacious, well equiped (iron,tv,hairdryer, tea/coffee making facility)clean, bed comfortable and towels changed daily if requested.
Another plus was the ability to do the airport check in for the return flight at the hotel, making for a smooth hassle free no luggage handling departure.
All the staff with whom we came into contact were helpful, friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is marketed as a 5 start resort with the "Sensatori" experience which is why we're so scathing.There is even a contrived presentation on the first morning telling you that you are going to have a number of Sensatori moments over your time there. These included:
Queuing; up to 45 minutes for the restaurant to eat the same reheated, ordinary food over your time there.
Stray animals running through the resort and restaurant.
£5 per pint.
A 'generous' small bottle of water in your room on day 1 which we kept it the luke-warm fridge.
The usual battle for sun loungers.
Poor service at poolside - our drinks AND waiter disappeared after one order!
The noise!!! you'd get less noise in a tin box with people constantly banging on it with a ladle; and that doesn't include the furniture that is constantly dragged around by the cleaning maids and other residents.
The freezing cold pools making them unusable.
The day trip with a sweet but ultimately knowlegeless tour guide and then be rushed around.
Good luck with whoever you get above or next to you - the people above us allowed their child to run around, bang on the floor and play football until 2am and then start again at 7.30am.
Not being able to book into the other restaurants for the first three days and then when you do finding the food is exactly the same food or worse: anyone for beef in gravy with boiled to death broccoli in the Thai restaurant anyone? Oh, and good luck getting a drink in the restaurant - it is so understaffed that the hard-working local staff are run absolutely ragged (we were quite ashamed that we added to their load as they simply couldn't work harder to fulfil the level of service needed).
Be realistic, this is a family-oriented hotel with beautiful building but no substance to substantiate the 5 star rating. 3-star at best as stars are awarded on service, food quality, as well as facilities. The phrase we would use is 'all fur coat and no knickers'!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a 5 star in the sense that it's a 5 star family resort, don't go there expecting Mayfair luxury or the Ritz. We had a suite which was huge, staff were very friendly (god knows how you'd annoy them!) although you may have to wait to be sat or for drinks at some of the restaurants. The El dente restaurant was fantastic, pricey but worth it. Not much to do in the area but the hotel has enough to keep you entertained!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and courteous. The food is plentiful and extremely delicious. Can't fault the place at all. Would have liked a swim up pool, but content with my small secluded terrace. Nice to have adult only pools to avoid noisy children, also as a couple we were generally seated away from families during meals. Main restaurant and Greek restaurant were buffet style, there is a la carte for full waiter style and also Mexican, Thai, Japanese and DIY grill. Very good, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with swim up pools, sea view or small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from a week here with my wife, daughter, son in law and grandkids (3 and 4) . We had a family and a double room with an interconnecting door in the 1000 block and this was perfect for the children as they could get access to us without going out into the corridor. (there was a lock on the door so we could escape their attentions when it all got too much!!) Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to others. More detailed comments as follows:

Meals: Ate mostly in the main dining hall which offers a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good food and lots of variety, main dishes varied from day to day. Used the Tex-Mex as an alternative lunch venue on occasions and again found what was on offer very acceptable. Booking a table for dinner in the three inclusive restaurants (Tex Mex, Thai and Red Saffron (Greek) was a bit problematic as they fill up very quickly so BOOK IMMEDIATELY YOU GET THERE and if the machines say there is no availability go to the main reception and they usually find a few slots. We dined at the Thai, which was good, and our daughter dined at the Red Saffron. It is a buffet and many of the dishes were similar to the greek ones available on occasion in the main dining hall so they were disappointed; the food was good though.

Drinks Package: We took this but not sure that we got the full value as the children tend to govern your day and finding time for cocktails before dinner etc was difficult.. Would have no hesitation in recommending this to couples or groups of adults though as they have more time to indulge themselves!

Travel/Check-in/out: Very smooth and short transfer time from airport was important with small children.

Trips: We went on the "Minoan Magic" trip to Knossos and Heraklion. Knossos worth while and v interesting with a good guide but afternoon in Heraklion was a waste of time as far as we were concerned. Half day trip to Knossos would have been better

Facilities: Very good site with lots for kids to do and kid free areas if you want to relax. Easy access to the beach. Gym small but ok if you like that sort of thing, Daughter had a couple of treatments which she found acceptable. Evening entertainment for adults v good and kids club live in the early evening a real hit for the little ones.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful despite the fact that we were there on the last week of their season.

OVERALL: An enjoyable holiday at a lovely resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We’ve just returned from a one week stay. We booked through Thomsons (Sensatori resort). The hotel is lovely, maybe not quite as contemporary and modern as Tenerife Sensatori but still lovely.

To make this review helpful I’ve split into good points, and room for improvement points!

To put the points into perspective, we would return to this hotel.

Good points:
Swim up room - we paid the extra for a swim up room and definitely think it was worth it. We were fortunate to get a room that had sun all day which basically allowed us to sunbathe all day and access our own private part of the pool from our swim up, there were only 4 other rooms that shared the same bit of the pool. Watch out though as you walk round the complex you’ll see rooms that don’t get the sun all day.

Restaurants - generally the quality of food was really good, enjoyed the Tex Mex through the day and at night. Also the Aroma Stone Grill was good, don’t be put off by being told you cook your own dinner, it’s not quite like that. Your dinner comes partially cooked on a hot stone and it continues to cook at your table. Good service in here too.

Staff: found all the staff very nice and pleasant. Nothing ever seemed to be too much bother (although see my minor note about trying to get a restaurant for my birthday below!).


Room for improvement:
Check-in process: we arrived in the early hours of the morning (01:00) and there were quite a few of us to be checked in, unfortunately there was only one person on reception checking us in. You then have to wait to be shown to your room as the complex is so big. Not really a huge problem but at this time in the morning you just want right to your room and you don’t want to have to wait until everyone else is checked in and ready to be shown to their rooms.

Booking of restaurants: this is a bit of a pain, every time we went to the kiosk to book in advance they were fully booked, but like other reviewers have said, speak to reception and they’ll sort you out. I was a little disappointed on one occasion though, as I’ve previously said we arrived in the early hours of the morning, this was my birthday day, so I spoke to reception to see if they could fit us into any of the other restaurants that night with it being a special occasion – they said they’d speak to the general manager and get back to me – I’m still waiting on them getting back to me!! I’ve stayed at other 5* hotels at my birthday and have returned to my room to be greeted by a cake, flowers and bubbly without any prompting! Also, note the restaurants say they’re full and can’t take any more bookings, walk round them I’ve never seen one without a spare table yet, so I'm sure they could have fitted us in for my birthday.

Red Saffron restaurant: the only night we were a little disappointed was the night we booked to go to the Red Saffron restaurant. Don’t really see the difference in this restaurant from the main restaurant and the quality of the meet from the bbq just wasn’t quite up to standard.

Wine with meals: the quality of wine isn’t quite there, we’re no wine connoisseurs but having both drank a full bottle each of red and rose I would normally be feeling the effects, but with the house wine you don’t!! It says on the label 11% proof, I would doubt this very much. A couple of nights we paid to have wine off the menu and you could totally tell the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Caldera Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Caldera Palace

Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantica Caldera Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hotel Chersonisos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Hersonissos
Atlantica Caldera Palace Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Caldera Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.