We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark to your Saves list
Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have recently returned from a weeks stay in the Mareblue Village and I have to say it was an absolutely fantastic holiday! We arrived at the hotel at 4am and were greeted with refreshments and food which I thought was a lovely touch especially the arrival time. We had an amazing room, with views of the sea which was the perfect start to the day when opening the curtains! Yes there was a steep hill but there was also a golf buggy to pick up and take you if you felt you couldn't manage it. We spent most of our time around the main pool which was very clean and plenty of beds! We did have a look around the other pools but found this one most comfortable and also nearest to the bar!! :) The food was delicious and was plenty variety and there was never a shortage of drinks too!! Needless to say I have put on about 4lb whilst away! haha. The only criticism I would make is there is a lack of evening entertainment for the adults at the bar, could do with maybes a karaoke night or something. The bingo was a little bit tedious after the first night.... (I love my job! haha). Overall I had an ab fab time and would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and would definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    223
    126
    52
    35
See reviews for
372
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

1. Location -very good. Don’t take the hotels that are far from the city if you would like to travel
2. Free Bus service every hour to and from the beach or 10 minutes walking to central cheronisus (the town nearby)
3. Children - love it. Lots of pools/beach/water Park/slides
4. Food- excellent. Maybe the best thing in the hotel. All inclusive is very good. Lots of choices to everyone, fresh every meal + drinks +alcohol.
5. View- lovely beach view from our room - other has pool view
6. Pools- not warmed up -a bit cold when the weather is getting colder (end of September)
7. Wi-Fi – have to pay 6 euro for 24 hours or 25 euro for 1 week
8. Towels - have to pay 10 euro deposit for each towel - you get it back when leaving
9. Sleeping - in the family room there are 3 children's beds +one double (not big) bed.
10. The parents are separated by a thick wall with a door without a key – no privacy …
11. got a flight back in the evening –so we need to leave the room until 12 pm. we are allowed to stay in the hotel facilities / all-inclusive until the flight -no charge.
12. if you want to stay in the room until 7 pm – extra 38 euro
13. To sum it up – its not a new hotel and could do a renovation - but it's good value for your money if you're getting a good deal.
14. The create people are very friendly and we need to support them in this rough financial time.
Enjoy – Lior - Israel

Room Tip: ask for the lower level room - near everthing - the best tip i got from other tripadvisor users
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading reviews we had some reservations before going.. How wrong were we. Me and my girlfriend went for a week at the begining of Sept 2013. Food was better than expected got a little repetitive towards end of week. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hill was worth the walk up to our apartment with a great veiw and relax pool but would not be able to do this for two weeks.
All inclusive bar has friendly lively staff and a good choice of drinks to get a little tipsy each day.
Snacks available if you miss lunch which is handy when you get out and about. Stallis and Malia are five minutes away if you want a livelier holiday but this place was peacefull and so relaxing.
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone and would return if ever back in Crete.
Spa was not really a spa a massage chair and fish pedicure were available but the rest was closed or not working. No sauna needed just walk up the hill and sweat ya behind off that way. This would be the only small negative of a great holiday.

Room Tip: Any number under 500 for an easy walk.. Over 800 for a great view and easy access to relax pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading some reviews i was quite worried but when we got there there was no problem. We arrived late at night at were allowed to eat in the restaurant and have a few drinks even though the all inclusive had finished. We had an excellent view from our room, however we were at the top of the resort, this was no problem for us as were young and fit however for older people or people with disabilities the hills may be a problem. The relax pool was perfect, the sunbeds were a lot comfier, the pool bar and staff was great added to this there were lovely views. The waterpark was small (only 4 slide) however they didnt get boring and were great fun. The food was nice, some things standard everything with some different choices. We did find to get slightly bored of the food but i think you expect that with all inclusive s. We did eat out a couple of times in the old village which is beautiful, much better than the main tourist area, with some of the best food ive ever eaten. Beaches close to the hotel arent great but adequate. Its a nice quite location and the taxis, in my opinion, were a fair rate and easy. The bar in the evening is perfect for a quiet drink with pool tables etc. I wouldnt recommend the entertainment but i dont think thats our cup of tea anyway. The room was lovely, so clean and we had so much space. Overall had a perfect week away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Described misleadingly as 'Four Star' - it definitely is not. Have to say the food was good and the staff O.K. The room was basic and quite a walk from the facilities (bar and restaurant) and a quiet drink in the bar was an impossibility, as the middle-of-the-road type music played in the bar, jarred uncomfortably with the loud dance music coming from the pool on the other side, just above head level. You can't walk to the beach, it's inaccessible and there's no footpath along the (very busy) main road, so the shuttle bus has to do. If you must go to this hotel, at least take your driving licence with you, then you won't be a prisoner there, you'll be able to get out and see some of Crete!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 3am and the night staff checked us in very quickly before we went to our room the staff showed us to the restaurant where the chef had prepared us a few things from the meal prior to our arrival including cheeses,hams,breads,fruits and drinks even though the all inclusive stops at 11pm we then in our own time were taken to our room 1010 (top row of rooms of the resort) on a golf cart with our bags in the morning we then found out we are a 5 minute walk from the pools and restaurants down a ver step hill or steps. If you have any health problems i would advise you try and book to be in the vicinity of the pools and restaurants i emailed them twice and phoned our holiday agents (olympic holidays) twice to make sure we were close as I'm disabled but nothing was done and the hotel was fully booked so no movement available. Food amazing for both meat eaters wanting to try local food and an amazing variety for vegetarians. Pool really nice perfect temperature when its boiling at midday and very clean. Slides really fun for ages. Air con in rooms really good and free. check out is at 12 noon and our return flight was at 3am local time the next day but the hotel let us use all the facilities and eat in the restaurants until we left. There are professional photographers at the hotel that will not take no for an answer and are on a hard sale to sell pictures. Would defiantly recommend to families and couples

Room Tip: anything less than 500/600 is close enough to pools and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

ARRIVAL
We are a mature couple, recently retired and thought we would give this all-inclusive holiday a try as it appeared to be very good value. We were not disappointed and had a thoroughly enjoyable week. We were well received and taken on an electric vehicle with our luggage to our room which was about half way up the hill. Having read lots of reviews before we departed it was difficult to know what part of the complex would suit us best. We didn't want to be amongst the liveliest area, nearer the bottom of the hill with lower numbers and we didn't want to be at the top (900 - 1000), although this would have been the best sea views, so we asked our holiday company to request a room about half way. Our request was met and we were given room 705. We were slightly disappointed, on seeing it, that we did not have a sea view, but it was in a quiet area, in the middle of very well kept gardens and had a nice big balcony.
ROOM
The room was of a good size and clean, although perhaps the decor was a little tired. A cleaner came every morning to freshen it up and empty the bins. You are not allowed to put toilet paper in any toilets in Greece but bins are proved and you soon get used to this. During our week we had one change of sheets and two changes of towels. There were plenty of sockets (needing Europe adapters) but the power was only available when you were in the room as the key needed to be put in a slot to activate it. This is often the way in hotels.
OUTSIDE & POOLS
As described, the hotel is on a hill and set out with small blocks of rooms and lots of very well kept gardens throughout. On the reception level there is a big family pool with a toddlers pool next to it. It is near the main bar and adjacent to the restaurant. There is always music playing around the pool and in the bar, which tend to be two different songs. A little further away there is the flume pool with a bar and this seemed to be quite quiet. Nearer the entrance is a kids pool where adults can only go if accompanied by a child and the bar here does not have alcohol.
The best pool for us, and what made the holiday so good and acceptable, was the Relax Pool which was a way up the hill, about room level 900. It was a delight with a good size rectangular pool, sun beds, tables and umbrellas all the round it and a bar which had had it's opening hours extended to 11.00 pm although they were officially open until about 5.30. There was no music, no children and floating toys were not permitted although a blind eye was made for one or two lilos.
FOOD & DINING AREA
We were particularly impressed with the food and had been expecting the worst with all-inclusive. There was a tremendous variety for every meal with plenty of fresh salads and fruit. Every lunch and dinner time had some constants but also something different every day so we did not get bored with it. The vegetables were rather overcooked but tolerable. The dining room was large and had plenty of tables for various numbers. They had nice cloths on and were constantly being cleared and relayed.
DRINK
Many of the reviews were critical of the drink, suggesting that it had been watered down. This may have been the case but it was really not a problem, in fact, in such hot weather, it was probably a good thing. You can have as much as you like so if you really want to have lots of alcohol, just go and get more. In the dining room there was red and white wine and beer on tap plus machines providing a lot of soft drinks and water. Some people even filled up there water bottles to take out with no restrictions from the hotel. We found all the drinks quite drinkable and did not feel the need to buy and better brands.
STAFF
All of the staff were very friendly and hard working and we could not fault them.
SHOP
There is a little shop on site which sells cold drinks, sweets, gifts, beach items, clothes and more. This usually opened at about 10.00 and stayed open until the evening.
OFF SITE
There is a free bus hourly which takes you down to the Star Beach. It is about a 10 - 15 minutes walk away if you do not want to wait for the bus. The walk back from here is up hill but doable. We walked it a couple of times and even on into the seaside town further along the coast. We once did this and then on up into the mountain to see a few little villages and then got the taxi back. We did not think €7 was expensive and was very welcome.
We hired a car for two days form a person who comes to the hotel. Her rate for a Panda was €50 for one day or €90 for two, which we did. There are lots of car hire places down in the town and one was even as cheap as €20 a day but we felt more reassured using the one from the hotel.
SUMMARY
Overall we found this a good holiday. There were all ages there and lots of different nationalities, which for us, made it more interesting.

Room Tip: Low numbers -easy walking, lively and near the action. Middle numbers quiet and not too difficult t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#33 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Village & Aqua Park Hotel Chersonisos
Mareblue Village And Aqua Park
Mareblue Village Hersonissos
Mareblue Village Hotel Hersonissos
Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeus Hotels Village Resort & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.