We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong to your Saves list
Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringking Pong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalimpong
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The best in the area for now but fortunately Mayfair is moving in. Clearly this hotel was nicely appointed once. The bones are good, the gardens lovely and the views fantastic. But now it smells, the linens are stained and the staff slow to pick up dirty glasses in the sitting room. We only stayed one night and I couldn't get out fast enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir

Our due apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the painting and polishing routine maintenance that was being undertaken during your stay with us in the lean off season . As for the stained linen we have informed housekeeping and we assure you this will not be repeated again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Oaks for 1 night. The hotel is similar in style (Raj style) to the Elgin Norkhill in Gangtok but is less elegant and is less well maintained. The rooms were clean but the rooms and the hallway were very musty and everything was a bit frayed. The room did not have AC but did have a fan. We didn't find this to be a problem as it gets cool at night. The beds are quite hard which may be a problem for some people.

We had breakfast and dinner there and the food and service were quite good. The hotel had WIFI in the lobby but it was very slow at times. The best time to access the Internet is in the mornings and late evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir /Madame

We are svery sorry for the inconvenience caused to you . Our due apologies ! We have taken note of the musty smell in the hallway of the hotel. This was actually due to the routine paintwork and polishwork that was being done during the lean monsoon rainy season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I visited this hotel in April. We mad an advance booking for a double room and the staff gave us a twin room saying "Sir, abhi kuch khaali nahi hai". On asking for a room change, they told us to wait for a day. We also noticed that they were serving stale food to guests. We came on a night and saw what we had for dinner, being served as lunch to some guests who arrived next morning. The over all food quality was really bad. It's a four star property, but we've seen 2 stars better than this one. We would not recommend this hotel to any one visiting Kalimpong.

Room Tip: Please choose a different hotel. Not worth the money they charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sir ! We thank you for your review. Our investigation has revealed that you had reserved a Twin (Two Separate Bedded Room) . As the hotel was alsmot full the front desk was unable to meet your request for a room change to a doube room. We understand that this has angered you! We do set menus for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner with a new menu each time. It is hotel policy to serve the remaining food after each guest meal session to the hotel staff. THE QUESTION OF SERVING STALE FOOD THEREFORE DOES NOT ARISE AT ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I went for my honeymoon to all the 4 resort of elgin property i.e., Elgin, Darjeeling Silver Oak, Kalimpong Elgin Mt Pandim, Pelling and Nor-khill, Gangtok. This is one of the best property I have ever visited. My stay at Silver Oak was during the Christmas time & the Christmas Bonfire was just SUPERB ! ! ! Their sense of hospitality is just excellent. It just make me feel like home. I really enjoyed my trip at the Elgin properties and if given a chance i would love to visit there again & again........

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

i went and stayed there last year. it was a mesmerizing experience...i love to travel and i have travelled a lot of places and stayed in many good properties.to me the attention i have got from elgin group is superb..they made my stay memorable. it was excellent trip and i am looking forward to go and stay in their property again.its a SECOND HOME to me.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The best thing about the room is the view they offer. The room and the bathroom itself are unimpressive. I stayed in one of the first floor rooms and the entire room shook whenever we walked on the floor. Calling it "old world" would be putting it politely. This does not mean that the room was not comfortable. But yes, the room WAS a bit filmsy. The food was excellent
though. And the dining hall and common were beautiful. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went with my wife, Hema, and spent three nights at the hotel. Efficient and helpful GM - Mr. Sushanta Ghosh. Second floor room overlooking the garden was very spacious and welcoming. Dining room was out of a BBC masterpiece theater drama set in 1930s British India. Dining room staff very attentive as was the housekeeping staff. Hotel location excellent, easy walking distance to main shopping area if you can handle the crowds. Good buys in the Tibetan shops on Rishi Road, particularly Buddhist statues, and thankas. There is a well known Buddhist monastery towards the end of Rishi road where you are welcome to participate in their prayers and meditation. Kalimpong is a good stop between Bagdogra airport (3 hours) and Pelling (3.5 hours). We did two stopovers at the hotel. Dramatic views of the Teesta and Rungit rivers enroute.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room overlooking the garden and mountains. No screens on windows so secure sheer dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong

Address: Ringking Pong Road, Kalimpong 734301, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kalimpong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalimpong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Silver Oaks was built in 1930 and once belonged to the prominent architect Frederick Desraj who built the old Teesta Bridge. It is now converted into a luxury hill resort in the Himalayas. Lounging in the landscaped gardens in a profusion of colour, one is treated to breathtaking views of the Himalayas. The natural decor is characteristic in the imposing Kanchenjungha which can be seen on a clear day, blooming petunias and asters, the serrated violet edges of iris, iridescent butterflies flitting through colourful azaleas, drooping geraniums, proud orchids and heaven, temporarily descends on earth. Sitting in one of the quaint gazebos, the tea seems to be flavoured by the refreshing winds of the Himalayas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong Hotel Kalimpong
Silver Oaks Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elgin Silver Oaks Kalimpong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.