We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit on an idle weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary

Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary
Chingleput Division; M.A.S. Complex | 46D/5 – VillakadiI Koil Street, Kanchipuram, India
0424-240876
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 things to do in Kanchipuram
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to visit on an idle weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The bird sanctuary is essentially a large lake (about 30 acres) with trees (mangrove type). The best season to visit is Nov - Mar . I went in Dec 26th and there were thousands of birds. (How to get to Vedanthangal bird sanctuary: Part 1)

Essentially, you get to be in a long walkway around the lake (around 2~3 kms on either side of the entrance).

The birds are around 200 ~500 m away and on a clear day you wont have trouble seeing them. It is preferable to carry your telephoto lens or binoculars if you are keen on having a closer look.

There are two watch towers too from where you get to see the birds and the view is very scenic from there.

You can take a lot of pics when you go there. Some of my snaps are in
http://tildekarthik.blogspot.in/2012/12/vedanthangal-bird-sanctuary-part-2-what.html

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nicely maintained and good for a one-day visit from Chennai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This park is about 75Kms from Chennai. The drive along NH45 is pretty smooth and the condition of the highway (toll) is good. After crossing the toll, you will come to a section of the road that is one-way and the exit to Vedanthangal is after this stretch, on the right. Keep an eye out for this exit because its very easy to miss it. The inner roads (11Kms) are also good but there are like a million speed-breakers so the going is slow.
Parking is very limited at the sanctuary and you may have to park a little distance away on days when there is a crowd.
Tickets are very cheap (Rs 5/adult) and carrying cameras is extra (Rs 25 for still and Rs 100 for video).
The sanctuary consists of a walkway that has been constructed around the Vedanthangal lake with some elevated lookout points. They offer some very good views of the nesting birds. Take binoculars or zoom lenses with you to see the birds up close. The walkway is clean but you will see some stray dogs and even monkeys around. I suspect its because people picnic at this place and there is an abundance of left-over food.
There are no restaurants nearby so be prepared with a good stock of food. All you get near the sanctuary are coconut water, biscuits and some fruits.
We saw pelicans, storks and a few other species of birds.
Also, remember that this sanctuary is open only from Nov thru Mar.

All-in-all it was worth visiting once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visited Vedanthangal Bird sanctuary in Mid-November with high hopes of some good birding. However, when I arrived at the entrance gate, to my utter shock, I couldn't find a single forest dept personnel while the ticket counter remain closed. I considered myself lucky to find 1 single Pond Heron foraging there. I was also shocked to find a group of locals playing cards / gambling inside the premises ! An even more disturbing sight was to find a couple of caged monkeys wailing for help there. Although I must've perhaps landed there at a wrong time, I must express my disbelief at the poor state of affairs at this place. No wonder I found close to 17 other avian species at the nearby Maduranthakam lake.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Birds of different feathers flock together...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Being the oldest bird sanctuary in India, Vedanthangal is the best place for bird watchers in and around Chennai.It's about 75 kilometers from Chennai. If you visit Vedanthangal during the season (mid November to early March), you would find thousands of birds that belong to hundreds of species as they make this lake as their natural winter habitat. Birds like common sandpiper, grey wagtail, blue winged-teal, pintails, egret, garganey, pelicans, herons and strokes are some of the overseas visitors (mostly from Europe) without visa. You can also enjoy the flora and the naughty monkeys around you. This place is ideal for a one-day picnic from Chennai, but remember to pack your food and carry your camera.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to visit on a one day trip from Chennai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Vedantangal Sanctuary provided us with a very good view of thousands of birds on trees and bushes in the lake. A very good location for a day trip from Chennai, Kanchipuram and Mahabalipuram.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary also viewed

Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.