We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place with both pros and cons....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   255 / 2 and 255 / 3, Sipasarubali Village, Baliapanda, Puri 752002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Puri
salt lake, Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a nice place with both pros and cons....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The resort is nice but needs restoration in some places. We had reached early in the morning. As booked the resort had send a vehicle to pick up us from station. We were accommodated in a different room on paying some charges as we had reservations from 12:00 P.M. We went there on the republic day. The resort had made good arrangements for celebrating the same with complimentary snacks.The kids got flags painted on their faces. One of the senior guests hoisted the flag. Felt nice. The pros of the place are as follows:
1) The food quality and variety is good. Though a bit expensive but you have no option as there is no other restaurant nearby. Its better to take all meals package which include breakfast lunch and dinner for the family. It should cost around Rs.1300/- per day.
2) The staffs were good and courteous.
3) The pool was clean & well kept.
4) The rooms were well kept.
5) The beach is calm and less crowded.
The cons of the place are as follows:
1) The place is located away from the main beach area. Returning back to the resort in night is a task with no street lights and very bumpy red soil road. the stretch should not be more than 3 to 4 kms. but the auto walas charge around rs125/- for a one way trip to the main beach area.Once we had to pay rs. 600 fare for an indica just for a doctors visit in the main beach area from resort as one member of the group had sprained her foot.
2) The walk to the beach is also not very good. The stairs from the resort to the beach are without railings very steep and not properly constructed. The walking distance from the resort to the beach is quite considerable as compared to the main beach hotels.
3) Those who want to enjoy big waves will have to go to main beach area.

I would suggest the resort guys to provide transportation to the guests at a reasonable rate.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    32
    8
    18
See reviews for
95
27
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sibsagar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Except for the distance, there were absolutely no cons for us.Enjoyed staying here every bit,even the children loved walking around the lawn and playing table-tennis.The only problem is getting back at night one ought to get the last shuttle,booking a cab for every trip to town gets very costly

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I visited Sterling Golden Sands Puri with my family consisting of my spouse and my two teenage daughters . We had opted for a 2 BR property and I expected that it will certainly be comparable to other Sterling owned Resorts that I have stayed in . But on checking into our rooms we found it to be way below my expectations . It requires major Civil work - walls are cracked and in urgent need of some bright colors . Overall the apartment was quite spaciuos but quite a distance from the restuarent which was also under renovation . The Private Beach on the mohona is a revelation and it is far from the maddening crowds of Swargadar and the hotel lifeguard is excellent . They have a regular drop to the Puri baech which is helpful since the resort is located quite a distance from the city . Also if you are in the religious mold like my better half they have the services of an excellent panda called Rajaram who arranges for a totally hassle free darshan without making you pay from the nose at every point . The best part of the resort are the staff who are absolutely brilliant including the chef and the travel desk guys Sanjeev and Ratnakar . The waiters will literally bully you to eat more than your hearts content and the variety in the restuarent is amazing .Keep it up Sterling Golden Sands but yes major civil work is required - taht stops me from rating the trip as excellent .Regarding day trips do take the Chilika Lake trip and on the way do order your lunch at the place where the ex- Mayfair Chef has opened a small restuarent ( no AC or likewise frills ) - the crab masala is one of the beast that I have ever had - even better then the North Goan shacks !

Room Tip: In case you are travelling with small children or elderly members be sure to ask for a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Location of the resort is very nice. Beach is very nice and silent. Not overcrowded. Tourist can enjoy clamness and beauty of the beach. Sterling resort is located at the point where Bhargavi river, a branch of Mahanadi meets the sea. At the jucture of the river and the sea, there are lot of fish and one can see fish-eating birds at this place. Children can enjoy watching the fishermen catch fishes using traditional method. The sunrise at this point is amazing.
Food in the resort is good, ambience of the resort is good. We expected to eat some traditional sea-food preparation in the resort, but did not get.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I am a Tour Operator and we arranged a business conference at Sterling Resort Puri . Very good Location away from city rush complete relax the Staff is also very Friendly Specially Mr. Safat the Operation In-charge , Mr. Zakir the tasty food manager ,Noor and the Trainees . room service is also very good .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have been visiting Sterling Resort Puri for the last 14 years and every time it has been a new an enriching experience. The homeliness of the place and warmth of the people makes stay a delightful experience.The one thing which has remained all throughout is the ever smiling and helpful people at the front desk who are always willing to go that extra mile for the guests. Ranjeet and Mukesh and Dola are three delightful characters who have always made my stay memorable and hence the urge to go back again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had booked resort for 25th and 26th feb'2012 to celebrate our 25th marriage anniversary along with my daughter.Mr Ranjeet Nanda was our travel coordinator. Up to reaching and checking in, the things appeared to be fine but after that nothing appears to be alright.Room service were pathetic and rude.After providing packaged water on first day they asked to drink tap water from next day.Mr Nanda disappeared from next day He did not have botheration.Play area was in deplorable condition with no AC working and area was dirty.Pool table was kept in dining area covered with a cloth and other was out of order.

Above all, when we shown our problem of not having train up to 10 pm in night , they forced us to leave the resort and bundled us out in a cab and dropped to Puri railway station without showing any courtesy.The behavior of Manager,Mr Mukesh was even worse and unacceptable in hospitality industry like resorts.He must has shown courtesy and asked us to keep stay in waiting lounge and had a lunch (Paid) but to contrary refused to do any thing.I was made help less in front of my wife and daughter.

Due to kind permission of station master of Puri Railway Station , we were allowed to stay in AC waiting room (only two hours prior stay is allowed normally) for 10 hrs otherwise we would have to pass the time on footpath of Railways.

We did not expect such a in human response from management of Sterling Resort.

Room Tip: One Bad room Apartment are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Sterling Holidays has been working hard to provide good holiday experiences and we are incessantly working in that direction.

We understand that you have chosen to spend time with us on such an important occasion as the 25th Wedding Anniversary. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us on this special day. We have also noted the points you have made which inconvenienced you. We have made particular note about the air-conditioner, swimming pool and the dining table. Please be assured that we will look into each one of the issues and sort them out.

We once again thank you for your visit and hope that you will give us a chance to demonstrate that we have taken steps to improve our product and service.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 255 / 2 and 255 / 3, Sipasarubali Village, Baliapanda, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.