We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Toshali Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Toshali Sands to your Saves list
Toshali Sands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ethnic Village Resort, Puri 752002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Please think infinite times before you decide to live in this place. We had gone as part of a conference. The rooms are so so so bad. The toilets make a public urinal look cleaner. Service is pathetic. No towels in the room ever and you need to call them up atleast 4 times to get towels. The towel on the first day reeked of kerosene making me want to puke. The beds are made or hard rocks! Back breaking is an understatement. All in all one work - AVOID

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    78
    41
    17
    32
See reviews for
180
51
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Secunderabad, India
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Happened to attend a 3 days conference here

Where do I start is hard to comprehend. Rooms are not clean , not maintained - overall - bad

Service is pathetic. Food is average and not worth the cost you end up paying for it

Location is ok , nothing much to talk about

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited this resort for a marriage recently. We stayed there for 2 nights. Its a great place to relax, has amazing landscapes and also there's a lot of greenery. We enjoyed this place as there was a little chill in the morning as well as evening and a good fog all around.

Room Tip: They have a private beach which they arrange for tourists and its a must try out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked a room at this resort after visiting their website--which showed very well appointed rooms, resplendent landscaping and boasted a private beach,no less ! With such preconceived ideas, we booked a so called "deluxe" room. To our utter disappointment it was a stark room, with a distinctly run down air ,located in a peripheral building that itself resembled a construction site. The bathroom was also poorly maintained and not too clean. True the room was large and in fact was a two room apartment, but the quality was in more keeping with a nondescript lodge. Ironically this "deluxe" room was only slightly cheaper than their cottages showcased on the website. We protested strongly , and I am happy to say the experience was a very pleasant contrast after that , They shifted us next day to a villa ,and it was all that the web site promised. Well furnished,and with a lovely ambience. Full marks to the the front office manager who was very helpful and responsive and defused the situation to our entire satisfaction. We happily paid the extras they charged us. The " private beach " is some 3 km away and visiting hours are only 6 AM to 5 pm, located in the midst of a wild life sanctuary. The resort provides transport regularly and the breach itself is pristine, clean and uncluttered with a backdrop of Casurina trees. The resort restaurant has a limited menu, but having said that, the quality of food is good. We were also happy with the service . All in all worth a stay, but do make sure to get a commitment from them what they are going to provide you when you make a booking.

Room Tip: Confirm that you are getting a room in the resort proper, and not in the peripheral buildings
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Toshali sands is a good resort with all that is required for a cool, calm unwinding experience. Rooms are Okay, food is also just Okay but palm trees and coconut trees add to beauty of the resort. Service is having some issues at times but then that is the norm with the resorts. Its little far off from Puri town so stay only if you have a vehicle at your disposal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location of the Hotel is nothing great but the Hotel has a private beach about 2 kms away which is clean and has no crowd, the drive is through a forest. The Hotel has free transport to the beach.
We had a cottage overlooking lawns. The flooring had soil stains. The bathroom is moderately big but odd shaped. On both days of our stay, there was water choking in the bath area and we had to call the plumber who came after 2 calls. Toileteries were of low quality and inadequate for a couple. For a cottage priced around Rs 6,000 per night, one would expect bottles of good quality shampoo, bath gel and moisturisers, not just 2 sachets of shampoo and low qualty soap. Hangers in the wardrobe were inadequate.
There is only one restaurant but it is a multi-cuisine one. All preparations were good and staff was friendy and courtious. The young Chef was genuinely interested in feedback.
The Hotel has nice sand sculpures and a very nice organic farm that ensures supply of most commonly used vegetables in the restaurant.
The Gents' SPA is a rip-off. The ambience was bad. It has no reception area worth the name, just a functional office. Massage rooms are only cubicles with hardly any space for changing. The lighting is bad too- just tube-lights. There is no space or even a hook with a hanger to hang clothes, just a nail at the top of the cubicle.The SPA area has a ramshackle feel.
There is a nice shop in the Hotel with good collection of quality "Pattachitras", the art for which some villages around Puri are famous.
Overall, the Hotel is overpriced, specially for a small town like Puri. It needs re-furbishing.

Room Tip: Cottage Rooms overlookig the lawns have a nice sit-out outside the room but in case of a function on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had booked 2 deluxe cottages for two days at the total amount of Rs 26600 which was a very huge amount and was expecting a good luxury but was disappointing when we had seen that cottages. They are just like a hostel room ,we were two couples having two small Children with us but cottage was so congested that if we take extra bed then there was no space left for even walking. Then we had upgraded by giving Rs 18000 which included child charges and up gradation to villas.

Villas were also not upto the mark as per the rates they have charged. There were too much mosquitoes that no body was able to sleep in the night. Food is o.k specially breakfast and their private beach was also at a very lonely place . It was in the forest area.This hotel is also at a lonely place specially it is dangerous to go their after 8 P.M.So we do not recommend this property to anyone looking for luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toshali Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Sands

Address: Ethnic Village Resort, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puri
#4 Spa Hotel in Puri
#4 Family Hotel in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toshali Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toshali Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Sands Puri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toshali Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.