We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice feel to it - buckets of old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chanakya BNR Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Save
You added Chanakya BNR Hotel to your Saves list
Chakratritha Road, Puri 752007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice feel to it - buckets of old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely large rooms. Clean. Good furniture. Lovely clean bath room. A nice restaurant. A decent view. The room was well done. The hotel has been recently renovated but has lost none of the old world charm it had when it war built as a guesthouse for the Bengal Nagpur railways. In Orissa, you get a feeling that anything modern just won't do so this hotel was just right for us!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
20
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

beautiful corridors, large rooms, old architecture and a nice location... this place does have a charm..... it was run by the railways and is now in private hands.....
the service is fair, the people are friendly... one of the staff members whose name is sanjog was very helpful.
some of the details which could add to an old world charm in the rooms are missing,
my parents stayed in a room on the ground floor and that did not have adequate seating despite being large.... my room on the first floor had a sofa and some nice kerala style lounge chairs outside the room, to relax

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice hotel.Though i spent only 24 hours-but I like the Location,the rooms.In fact-the hotel is one of the very nice hotel all over India.Lighting was excellent at night.From reception to balcony at 1st floor-its really enjoyable.Overall a very good hotel to stay at Puri.I should recommend this hotel to everyone.Only one negative point-though sea is visible from the balcony,but there is no direct path to the beach-you have to walk 5-7 minutes to reach the beach.Otherwise-excellent place to stay at Puri.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our large group of 12 stayed at this hotel for 2-4 nights last month. It is well-located and lovely to look at - a heritage property that has been modernized without sacrificing its "feel". Rooms are simple, but totally adequate for a hotel in its class. Still, there is much room for improvement. Customer service is earnest, but verging on poor. Requests made (setting up extra cots for kids, for example or servicing hot water heater/tank) were, it seemed, not passed on to the appropriate parties; as a result multiple calls were necessary before these tasks were completed. I daresay that even room cleaning, including the removal of dirty dishes from room service, was not a given. One especially annoying thing was that it was impossible to make change anywhere in the hotel. Even a IR 100 note presented challenges for the staff. The front desk (and restaurant) at a hotel should always be able to make change for customers! The hotel's credit card machine was not working on both occasions when we needed to make payments. Thankfully we had the cash, or we would have definitely missed our early morning train on our final final day in Puri. If our travels ever find us in Puri again, I think we will have to look elsewhere for accommodation, unless current reviews of the BNR lead us to believe that vast improvements in customer service have been made.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to stay at this hotel in Puri on my honeymoon for the reason that in UK I know a lady, now in her late 80's who used to live in the hotel in the days of the Raj. I loved the hotel mainly I think for that reason as I was walking down corridors and into rooms where she had been as a little girl. I think the hotel has been done up a lot since I was there but it was lovely anyway - clean rooms and very pleasant staff, always willing to help. The food was good and there are plenty of other restaurants in Puri to go to. Would definitely go back to this hotel. They have their own website now so you can check out the rooms that have been done up. I am still in touch with some of the staff from there via Facebook. Lovely people, lovely hotel. Thank you for making my honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: I would always request a room at the front of the hotel so you get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in Chanakya BNR Hotel from 28th to 31st Dec 2012 . It was a peaceful and relaxing stay in compare to the corwded hotels and beach at sea beach hotels at marine drive road. Hotel is truely a heritage hotel and if you need good relaxing place to stay surely this is the choice.
Hotel service is average , food is very hygenic and good. The only disadvantage is the auto fare when you to go to the swargadwar beach which is 50 to 60 rupees each trip one way.
I still feel it can be maintained a bit more on the furnitures etc , the lawn is good but the TT table and the badmintion court shows the lack of maintainence . Over all I had a nice stay and good ambinece.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon at the BNR and have come back to the day 40 years later. The building, rooms and garden have been renovated by the new owner remakably well keeping in place much of the heritage angle of the property but at the same time modernizing the rooms, plumbing etc. But all the good ends here.

The hotel now lacks an approach to the beach - to get to the sea you need to trudge 700m down crowded roads. The service is quite terrible, staff untrained. Concept of making up rooms does not exist. We needed to call 4 times and yell twice before we got our room cleaned after 2 days. They are completely understaffed also in the dining room with very poor service. There is no bar. No swimming pool. Its possibly for these reasons that the occupation is very low while other facilities in Puri are overflowing. The management has entered into contracts with State owned corporations who send their staff on subsidized holidays. So you have extended families coming in who make a lot of noise and dry their linen on the front verandah railings.

Koch and Krishna

I will give Chanakya BNR a year at best before it goes under again. So our 50th anniversary will be some place else!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanakya BNR Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanakya BNR Hotel

Address: Chakratritha Road, Puri 752007, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanakya BNR Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.