We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Mahodadhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fort Mahodadhi to your Saves list
Fort Mahodadhi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Beach Road | Swargadwar Beach, Puri 752001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good heritage hotel in front of beach (location is good near to beach & shri jagannath temple and market). service is good and it also have roof top restaurant where u can sit and relax. only thing missing is beach view from room. one more restaurant is there in the compound of the hotel where you can try non veg food which is really good.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

Thank You for providing your valuable feedback on our location and service, especially the Restaurant the GAA - Ethnic Village Theme Restaurant on the Roof top and the MOSTLY GRILLS on the Sea Beach Road. Here I would like to mention that we have various choice of Food outlets with different ambiance at Fort Mahodadhi viz, The British Bar - BARON, Where we do have a open terrace to feel the soothing sea breeze while dining.GAA - The Ethnic Village Theme Restaurant serves the multi-cuisine with a homely atmosphere with personalized service by our professional service team. Vithal Kamats - Original Family Restaurant, A exclusive family restaurant with quality vegetarian cuisine at very affordable price. Famous for its South Indian Snacks. MOSTLY GRILLS offers a wide range of Veg. & Non Veg. Snacks (Opens only in the evenings). Famous for its Tandoor Preparations.

You might have noticed that We have various category of rooms of different Theme and Ambiance like Deluxe Wooden Cottages, Villas, Fort Deluxe and Suite Rooms to suffice the expectations of our Guests. Four Dlx Fort rooms are having direct sea view from the huge Balcony, Two more Dlx Fort Room with Sea view from windows. There are two suite rooms with view from windows and Four cottages and Villas with direct sea view. So out of 25 Rooms we have 12 rooms with sea view. Requesting you to try one of these room on your next visit to FORT MAHODADHI Puri.

Once again from the entire team of FORT MAHODADHI i am thanking you for your nice feedback. Your feedback will definitely help us to provide better attention and service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fort Mahohdadhi on your next visit to Puri and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.


Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went there over a weekend for 3 days in the first week of April. We were 6 adults and a child.

Location: This hotel is located on the beach road at walking distance from main market at Swargadwar. The location is excellent.

History: We asked the hotel staff about the name and the history of the hotel. We were told that Mahodadhi is actually another name of the sea. Originally this was a fort built by Maharaja of Bihar who gifted it to King of Odisha. During independence, King of Odisha gave this to Government of Orissa. The property was leased for hotel purposes currently.

The property: The property is large with extensive garden and driveway. Due to this lawn and garden area, the main property building is some distance away from the sea. There are three kinds of rooms available -
1. Deluxe room : These are on the ground floor surrounding the swimming pool. You may not have proper sea view from these rooms.
2. Cottages: These are on the first floor parked on one side of the huge terrace. Two cottages face sea.
3. Villa: These are on the ground floor on the side of the main property building. Again, you might not have direct view of the sea from the room.

Overall the property is very nice, clean and gives you an old world charm. The terrace is very large and extensive. There is a bar cum restaurant on one of the side terraces and the other terrace has a large restaurant.

Condition of the rooms: We booked 3 cottages (since it was only available at the time). The cottage rooms definitely can be much better considering the price tag associated with it. The rooms are small and some of the basic amenities are missing in some of the cottages. For example, out of the three cottages, one had mirror, others did not. The cottage facing the sea did not have the Air Conditioner working properly. Water kept on dripping within the room although we called the technician multiple times and he tried several times to fix it. Some rooms had coffee maker and others did not. Most of the phones did not work and we had to call technician and get it fixed. Quality and type of bed varied from cottage to cottage. Seemed like some were new and others were old and the condition varied with age. Also, there are serious problems with sewerage system which resulted in foul smell in one of the cottages. Swimming pool is well maintained.

Restaurant: The terrace restaurant is very nice overlooking the sea. I loved it. You have options of ala-carte and buffet and the quality of food and variety is pretty good. Cost wise, considering it is Puri where there are lots of food options, I would say cost is on higher side.

Service: The service of the staff was very good. We got response from them even at odd hours of the day and night. They were courteous and tried to help us out as much as they could.

Overall, the property is great but to make it more attractive, the management has to maintain it properly. There is opportunity for much improvement.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

It was indeed a privilege to have you at Fort Mahodadhi, during your recent visit to Puri. Thank you so much for providing a detailed feedback based on your stay experience with Fort Mahodadhi. your beautiful comments on our location, ambiance & service will definitely encourage others to stay in our Hotel and also will help us in providing better attention and service to all our guests.

Your feedback on few amenities in the room which were missing are taken very seriously by the Management and immediate actions are taken to re-install the things in place. Hope you will find better facilities and amenities on your next visit to FORT MAHODADHI Puri.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

once again from the entire team of FORT MAHODADHI i am thanking you for your feedback.


Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited Puri again after 14 long years. So many changes I expected, but was worried about my stay. Though people will say "in Puri, you will get plenty of places"; but I wanted a pleasant and comfortable stay on the beach and city market area should be within reach. And I must say, Fort Mahodadhi not at all disappointed me in any aspect. I had travelled with my family as my wife, 2 year old kids and my parents (65+ age) and they are really pleased with the stay and enjoyed the vacation as it should be.

First the location, the hotel situated right opposite to the sea-beach and being an old heritage property, it has got ample open space in front. So even though you are just opposite to the beach yet are far away from the bustling crowd of the market area. The hotel is not that far from the station. We took an auto and reached there in 15 min (just 3 plots after Victoria Club Hotel) and auto fare was Rs. 123.00 (including night charge which is applicable from 10.00 PM - 6.00 AM), and it is pretty nearby to the market place. I would say 10 min walking distance.

We reached early morning (around 4.30 am) at the hotel and was skeptical about if there will be any person to receive us at the hotel having said that the check-in time is 8.00 AM. My all doubt got cleared when I reached the hotel as we received a very welcome greetings from the front-desk person Manas. After a completion of brief formality we have checked-in into our rooms on 1st floor from where you can view the great sight of Bay of Bengal and can feel the comforting breezes.

The rooms were neat and clean and tied up. In bathroom we found all the daily care needs like towels, face wash soap, moisturizer lotions. There was an electric kettle and tea-bags, coffee and sugar sachets. The stuffs were all very courteous. The room services were very prompt. Not a single day I remember, that I had to call up for cleaning up the room or replenish the stuffs for daily care or for tea. Complementary 1 bottle of packaged water was been provided for each day. The rooms though some people would find less spacious but for me it was sufficient enough. Since the renovation work is going on, few areas I have noticed and brought into notice of the administrative people and they promptly fixed it. Like door bolts and cupboard doors etc. AC was working find and so was the TV.

Now coming to the food. I suggest to stick to the foods which are there in the menu card and we will get mouthwatering foods. We tried the Chinese and those were awesome. Though we tried to have the Bengali food and it did not turn out that good. There was the buffet breakfast available at the restaurant, which is complementary and got a plenty of varieties. And these were tasty as well. There was a guy called Sagar he was serving us and took good care of us. The hospitality is pretty remarkable from rest of the restaurant stuffs as well. The location of the restaurant is very good. You can enjoy your breakfast watching the great view of the sea. There was arrangement of the dinner buffet as well but we did not try, rather we ordered as a-la carte to our room. Veg items also we tried and those were also good. There was a swimming pool and Gym on the backside of the property. There was a separate Bar area for those who wants to chill out watching some sports while having there drinks or just sitting on the terrace while enjoying their drinks as watching the Sunset with soothing breezes.

Only negative points which I noticed is that, there was some renovation going on and few stuffs are kept unfinished like tighten up the door knobs/bolts are loose and in cupboard we noticed saw-dust on few rooms. I would like to request the management to look into these area and fix these at the earliest.

Overall it was a great vacation that we spent and I would definitely say, Fort Mahodadhi is a great place to enjoy your vacation at the fullest. Given a chance I definitely would love to stay again here.

Room Tip: Cottage room on 1st floor are having better view esp. Room# 204 & 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

It was indeed a privilege to have you at Fort Mahodadhi, during your recent visit to Puri. Thank you so much for providing your beautiful comments on our location, ambiance & service. Your comments will definitely help us to provide better attention and service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fort Mahohdadhi on your next visit to Puri and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

once again from the entire team of FORT MAHODADHI i am thanking you for your feedback.


Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has got excellent position. Housed in a heritage property, the hotel has inherited a few heritage artefacts and furniture. However, the following are the negative points :
1. Callous management.
2. In-courteous staff.
3. In appropriate position of rooms -- the sea breeze is hardly been felt in absence of a veranda.
4. Costliest room tariff compared to other hotels in the same location.
5. Untidy dining area.
6. quality of food not good.
The experience was appalling and we would never suggest anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: room no 107 might be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

staff n manager were very helpful providing us on site booking even though we went during yatra days.
Awesome location..just walk on to the beach across the road..good food..three dining options available..nice n clean pool with kids area ,beware f monkeys though..which frequent the first floor mainly bcz f its open terrace style restaurant.
All in all a memorable stay at a heritage property.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

It was indeed a privilege to have you at Fort Mahodadhi, during your recent visit to Puri. Thank you so much for providing your beautiful comments on our location & ambiance. Your comments will definitely help us to provide better attention and service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fort Mahodadhi on your next visit to Puri and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

once again from the entire team of FORT MAHODADHI i am thanking you for your feedback.


Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The best part of this hotel is its location and the grand land area.

This being a heritage property it has grand open spaces.

The rooms are decent and some cottages which have been refurbished, are small but better option to stay at.

The hotel restaurant is poor and badly managed.

The saving grace is the vitthals restaurant which is a part of the property but is just outside the hotel.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

It was indeed a privilege to have you at Fort Mahodadhi, during your recent visit to Puri. Thank you so much for providing your beautiful comments on our location & ambiance. Your comments will definitely help us to provide better attention and service to our guests.

Your feedback regarding the service at restaurant is discussed with my F&B team and necessary steps are being taken for the training of F&B staffs to match the expectations of all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fort Mahohdadhi on your next visit to Puri and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

once again from the entire team of FORT MAHODADHI i am thanking you for your feedback.


Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The USP of this hotel is its location. All attractions and the beach are a stroll from this property. Its a beachfront hotel in the center of the town and has a old world charm about it. The property is old but has been reasonably maintained. There are some good antiques in the hotel to add to the old world charm. The the terrace is lovely to have a drink and chat during the evening. The staff is courteous but need to be quicker in responding to the demands of the guests.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahodadhi, General Manager at Fort Mahodadhi, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fort Mahodadhi - A Beach View Heritage Hotel !!!

It was a privilege indeed have you at Fort Mahodadhi Heritage Hotel Puri. Thank you so much for providing your beautiful comments on our location & ambiance . Your comments will definitely help us in upgrading ourselves and meet the expectations of our Guests.

Your feedback is discussed with my entire team during the staff meeting. Necessary trainings are being provided to all staffs to upgrade the service standards matching guests expectations.

Once again I am thanking you for your beautiful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Fort Mahohdadhi on your next visit to Puri and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Thanks and Regards,
Ashish Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Mahodadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Mahodadhi

Address: Sea Beach Road | Swargadwar Beach, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Mahodadhi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fort Mahodadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Mahodadhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.