We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with very good services and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Mahodadhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fort Mahodadhi to your Saves list
Fort Mahodadhi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Beach Road | Swargadwar Beach, Puri 752001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with very good services and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel (in the suite)recently for about 4 days.It is clean,staff is very good and courteous.Service is good and the buffet breakfast(on the house) was quite good.The location is good- almost bang on the beach and yet there is hardly any noise in the hotel as it has large garden in the front keeping distance from main road.The main market at Swargadar and the Shri Jagannath temple are nearby.This hotel was once a retreating house of a noble person as I understand and later was a Govt. office.Now it is a full fledged hotel but still retains somewhat the old days charm and nobilty.The ethnically decorated rooftop restaurant is quite unique in a place like Puri.The swimming pool was well maintained and the split airconditioning machines were running perfectly in the room.The toilets have their own Geiser and thus hot water supply was abundant.Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in Fort Mahodadhi Puri in Oct end 2012 , i found it the best hotel in Puri , food was really very good , and Staff is really very cooperating , and their service was also very good , our room was Sea Facing , and room size and the decor of the room was excellent . And they have big Lawn which is not available in any other hotel in Puri .
Over all i will really recommend everybody to go to this Hotel .

Room Tip: I think you can choose Suit or Delux room , but Sea facing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Despite being from Odisha, and having been to Puri many times, I had never heard of this property. I found it from Tripadvisor and must say was by and large happy with the discovery.
Standing right on the beach, in the midst of more well-know names such as Puri Hotel and Victoria Club, this one is positioned as slightly upmarket hotel for young couples, lone travelers and the like, not so much for big families or big groups. Its tarff on the site (Rs 5500/Rs 7000) is a little high for what it offers. I got it at less than Rs 4000. For that price, it is excellent.

This is right in front of the beach and you can enjoy the beach scene from your room balcony, which is spacious, but not that well-maintained. In fact, what is even better is that it is a little away (half a kilometer) from Swargdwar, which is extremely crowded. So, while you are not too far away from the activities, you are saved from the crowd/noise.

It is a very good property, though I won't say it is quite well-maintained. Nothing problematic or specifically bad but a great property like this deserves much better. Services is warm and good, but not what you expect from an upmarket hotel. But there is hardly any hotel in that area at this price that has such a large space outside.

The in-house dining is limited, though they run two restaurants outside, which are pretty okay. But one tricky thing: they have a check-in/check-out time of 8 AM, something that I have not come across anywhere else. If you travel by Air from outside Odisha, you can never reach Puri before 10.30/11; so the early check-in does not help much. If you book directly, negotiate a late check-out.

Summary: a good place for lone travelers/couples/small groups if you get it at the right rate (below Rs 4500). I think a little effort in beautifying it would make it one of the best properties in that location.

Room Tip: Any sea-facing room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Plus;
1. It has excellent location, if you consider the most crowded beachfront of Puri to be an excellent location.
2. It's an old style building with oodles of frontage and parking, giving it an excellent set-back from the road. something no other hotel can claim.
3. The ceilings in the building and rooms are sky high, giving a good feel.
4. Room basically clean and spacious.

Minus
1. No hot water tap in the washbasin. Go figure if you need hot water for a shave.
2. Lizard in the room (anyway, this is India, no?)
3. Breakfast was pathetic, though this being a Kamat Hotel, the sambar was good.
4. The front desk was clueless. No offer of help in taking the luggage to the car.

Overall impression: A great property, run in a bland fashion with no feel or passion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent rooms, off season discounts available, nice pool, nice beach view, and delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It has great location in beautiful garden and quite close to all important points in the city. The hotel is rather small and quiet. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was tastefull decorated, clean and comfy. The bathroom was also in a good condition. The hotel offer some good facilities. There was an outdoor pool, small spa with massage and quite good restaurant. The breakfast was very good. The price higher than in others hotels but the level of service was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Had a good experience staying there . I found out this property during my last visit at Puri , and wanted to check out so i booked for couple of rooms for 3 nights stay . The property was a palace which belonged to some rajas of Puri and later was taken over by an entrepreneur once the govt failed to operate it as a heritage hotel.
The rooms were clean and big , especially the pool facing rooms had a fantastic view of the serene garden and the blue pool .
You will feel going through a royal sojourn once you step in the reception area through the huge pathway . The view of the sea from the first floor sitting area which is an extended part of the bar was awesome !!!!. Not to miss out on the well decor roof top restaurant which is wonderful to have your dinner amidst the sea breeze .
Being very close to Swargadwar , the tourist hustle bustle of Puri , you just can walk down while not getting tired . More to do in the early morning and dusk when u can walk down the pathway on to the beach in less than 2 minutes .
Yeah !!! just wanted to mention about few things which i noticed . The hotel guys were really cool to allow me to check in, right at 4.30 am when i reached the hotel inspite their check in time being 8:00 am and that too without mentioning it at all ...........
Although there were some glitches with the room AC , which poured out water than cool air (yeah water !!!) , they finally upgraded me to a bigger room inspite of the assurances and irrate of the so called Mr. AC fixer , (who kept on saying ," sir whatever you say is right , but there is no problem with AC"). The person at the reception in the morning shift was very courteous and responded promptly to ease the stay .
I could realise that the huge ceilings of the room and the size warranted AC's with larger capacity or multiple units and the humid weather , was playing a devil with the AC and the hotel authorities are actually trying their best to fight out for a comfortable stay .
I cannot stay away from mentioning the swimming pool area , which is surrounded by sufficient greens where u can spot some colourful birds and the water is just too clean and blue . Once you are in the pool , u can have a fantastic view of the sea beach right across the portico while no one is able to see from the other side . Call it magic of royal architecture.
The food was really good and the room service was excellent and prompt .
My father was not keeping well and i just wanted to take him to a beach getaway for a change of air ,,,,, and i cannot stop saying " I SAW MY DAD THOROUGHLY ENJOYING AND SAY IT WAS ONE OF HIS NICE TRIPS " ......
Given an opportunity i would still go and experience the royal stay !!!! .
BE THERE TO EXPERIENCE IT ....

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the front for a good sea view else pool facing rooms are wonderful if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Mahodadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Mahodadhi

Address: Sea Beach Road | Swargadwar Beach, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Mahodadhi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fort Mahodadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Mahodadhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.