We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but needs maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Puri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   New Marine Drive Road, Puri 752001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 68 Puri B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location but needs maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This was one of the few hotels, who could be contacted over phone before we started our "suddenly decided" weekend trip. We went to Puri on 15th April 2010 and returned on 18th Apr 2010. At this time, Puri was almost full and this was one of the few hotels which still had rooms. We took 2 rooms: one a suite (Rs 2000) and the other one (2BD: Rs 1500)just beside it. This is located on the New Marine Drive Road, just beside the Light House. Swargadwar was walking distance of 15 mins. The beach is just across the road. The hotel provided beach umbrellas and chairs to beach. The suite had a 270 degree view which was awesome. The suite had a mini fridge as well. There is a nice cute lawn in the hotel where one can chill if there is a large group. The niceties end here. The furniture was just average and cried "need maintenance". The lighting & color of the room were good but some of the lights were missing. There were ample plugs but only few of them working. The toilet was clean but the taps dripped. The ac had to be fixed. All the power cables were dangerously dangling. We had to ask for extra towel and tissue (only 1 towel was provided). The glass panes of the walls facing the beach needed cleaning. The sofa sunk when anybody sat. The food is okayish. The resturant was under maintenance. We had food only once there though we had breakfast everyday. The hotel has a "panda" associated with it. We have used his service to perform "puja" for Jagganath @ Puri temple [everybody knows Puri Pandas are bothersome and it is better to take a Panda before entering Puri temple]. The Panda was fine and we paid him Rs 151. The car parking was outside the hotel (the parking lot was shared by the hotels) and at night we parked the car inside the hotel. There is adequate gaurd outside @ day & evening. However, there is a scarcity of space inside the hotel parking. The hotel has Shree Hari, Niladri, Hans Coco Palms & Sonar Bangla nearby. Hotel Prabhupada, Laxmi Palace were neighbours. We had checked Shree Hari (no rooms), Niladri, Samudra , Vijoya Intl (no rooms) & Puri Resort (didnt have good rooms) before checking in here. Shree Hari , Vijoya International seemed to be best if you dont get the cottages of Puri Resort. Samudra has a stinking neighbourhood [beside the Mayfair & Vijoya & OTDC].

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

It was an average experience for us as we had stayed there for two nights . We had choosed the hotel only because of its location . Our room was average with basic facilities . Staffs were not professionals ,room service average. Tariff was a little bit higher compared to the service provided.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We went to puri in 1st week of new year. Beach resort is the best place to stay in puri and enjoy beach of puri. After the wonderful day in the beach the best place to relax is this resort. the lawn is very good and food is also good. staff is also very helpful. i will recommend this resort fr every traveler who want to visit puri.

  • Liked — The lawn of hotel is very good
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed for a week at the puri beach resort. Strategically placed at the new marine drive road, one needs to get to the other side of the road to get into the sprawling puri beach. Marine drive is 10 min walk from Swargadar and the beach is sparsely crowded. The hotel has arranged for an awning flanked with chairs at the beach itself. One can also take massage from a masseur of the hotel right in the beach or in the lawns of the hotel. Another thing which we liked was the facility to have a dinner right at the sea beach with chairs and tables and food--all arranged by the hotel. The rooms are excellent, most of them are sea-facing backed up by excellent room service. A tip - get hold of the corner sea facing rooms, they are more spacious and have a balcony too.
We paid Rs. 650 for each of the rooms. All other facilities mentioned are free. We got there in off season and so were lucky with the rates and got ourselves pampered

  • Liked — ACCESS TO SEA BEACH AND DINING LAZING IN HAMMOCKS AT THE BEACH
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAIBASA, JHARKHAND
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We straightly come to this hotel. I along with my wife and my little sonof 4 years came here for a leasure holiday trip. We like puri for its variety. We can visit Logannath temple and at the same time enjoy the holiday in sea beach. it was a fantastic tour and this is my 10th visit to puri and everytime i leave in different hotels. This time also this hotel is very good, supporting staff and neat and clean environment.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Beach Resort

Address: New Marine Drive Road, Puri 752001, India
Location: India > Orissa > Puri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puri Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Puri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.