We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pullin Puri Hotel

Pullin Puri Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pullin Puri Hotel
Save
You added Pullin Puri Hotel to your Saves list
New Marine Drive Road Swargadwar, Puri, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Puri
singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Poor service!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I visited Pulin Puri in December, just before Christmas. It is peak tourist season during this time and so we realised that the Hotel management decided it could get away with anything! The service throughout our week-long stay was atrocious! We would have moved if not for the simple fact, that all other hotels were already packed!

Firstly, although it was really cold and we were not going to use air conditioners in any of our 3 rooms, the Hotel refused to waive off the charge for the air cons and insisted on the inflated room rate. Thus, we ended up paying almost as much as we would have had to pay for a 3 or 4 star accomodation!!!

Other than that, there was no running hot water even in these premium rooms. Whenever we ordered room service, the service was painfully slow, invariably delayed and often wrong! We had to repeat orders several times, send reminders and send back food we hadn't ordered. During all lunch and dinner service hours, the Hotel refused to serve tea, coffee, snacks and even warm water. One of us fell seriously ill and needed warm water, but inspite of several requests we were not served. Also, since the restaurant is independent of the Hotel, Hotel guests do not receive any priority in terms of room service. Also, every time we eat anything, we had to pay for that immediately since they refused to charge it to the room.

The day we were checking out, we found all the service staff lined up in the corridor and waiting expectantly. They were particularly attentive and even those staff who we had never encountered during our entire stay began hovering around. We knew that they were waiting to be tipped but since it wasn't feasible for us to tip twenty of them individually, we gave them a lump sum and asked them to distribute it amongst themselves. This led to aggressive demonstrations of anger, a lot of grumbling, etc. It was very uncomfortable and unnerving! I certainly will NOT reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

Excellent room service.
Well maintained rooms.
Instant service from all quarters.
Superb food quality.
Efficient restaurant staff.
Perfect location.
A home away from home.
Our AC in room302 stopped working on day 6 of our stay. It got rectified in 45 mins sharp. The way it was handled was absolutely proffessional.
I was uncertain about the type of reception prior to our visit after reading certain reviews, n now, i would recommend anyone n everyone to go for it. We were in rooms 302 305 .
Last but not the least, the manager n the staff on the front desk were really really good well behaved n honestly helpful. We were surprised about the negetive reviews.
Dr. Sandip Kr. Nath

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silchar, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We visited `hotel pulin puri on june19th 2011 , the best hotel i got in puri , the food was very good the housekeeping deptt was very friendly very prompt in their service , the sea is just opposite from every room of t6he hotel, I recommend all to select room 301/302/303 , the front office staff are very helpful , only thing disappointing is that they dont allow lift after sea bath

Room Tip: book the hotel before online and always take the souble ac room to view the sea in its best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I would like to appreciate the restaurant BHAJA HARI MANNA. The food quality is awesome. Sukta, Pabda macher jhal, amer chatni -simply unforgettable. Those who want to visit Puri I would ask them to have pure bengali food at reasonable price in bhajahari- you would love it.
Uloopi

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Hotel rooms are very small vis a vis the rooom rates. no leg space avaoilable in the rooms even if ur in super delux rooms. Food is not up to the mark as the attached restaurant "bhajo hari manna" doesnot serve fresh items. Though food joints are available nearby.
if u would like to spend all your time in balcony then i would recommend this hotel as balcony is as big as hotel rooms

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have gone there with my family and checked in Pulin Puri on 14th December, 2010. From then to 20th December, 2010 it was a tremendous experience of my family about the service of the Hotel. The Hotel gave us really a good service. Mr. Shankar Nath Banerjee (Shankar Dadu), a big salute to you for such type of accommodation. Thank You Dadu keep it up.

i can advise every person please check in Pulin Puri and see how they are, don't be diverted by some wrong person. Hotel Pulin Puri and Hotel New Sea Hawk are the most comfortable place for stay at the beach area of Puri.

RAJA BALIYAL
ADVOCATE
HIGH COURT
CALCUTTA
WEST BENGAL
INDIA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

It is near to the sea shore .. and 15 min from puri jaganath temple. Hotel is very much valued for money and the food was good. Biggest adantange it was near see..any time we go to the sea and play.. Room service was good and clean.. hotel tourism was very helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullin Puri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullin Puri Hotel

Address: New Marine Drive Road Swargadwar, Puri, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Number of rooms: 52

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullin Puri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.