We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERALL GOOD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Sea Hawk

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel New Sea Hawk
Save
You added Hotel New Sea Hawk to your Saves list
Marine Drive | Swargadwar, Puri, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OVERALL GOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here from 13th to 16th April 2013 the overall experience was good. Sea beach can be visible from all the hotel rooms. Food quality was also good over all there is a value of price.
The travel desk is excellent and anybody can depend upon the same.

However only bad experience was during checking out, all different layer hotel stuffs are asking for tips which i feel very embarrassing and unfortunate comparing the overall hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hotel is nicely situated, with a beautiful lawn and children's play area. All the rooms have a balcony, facing the sea. We stayed in 202 (Non AC). The rooms, the linens, the towels were all neat and clean. The service is very good and the service boys are always ready to serve you. The hotel also has a lift. The food, served, is very homely and reasonable.You will enjoy all of these at an affordable price @1450 for Non AC, which is much less than any other hotel, in the same line. So be there and enjoy your trip, with your family.

Room Tip: Try to chose room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Recently I have visited Puri with my family and stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The room rent is within budget (Rs. 1400/- + tax for DAB NAC) and the spacious balcony is really awesome with a vast view of the sea front. You need not have to go to the sea beach. The room is okay. Service is okay. Food is good and the room service is fine. The well maintained garden is really an attraction.

Room Tip: If you are not going in Summer, when you may require AC, the non AC room on 2nd and 3rd floor, front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you are planning to visit Puri, you should definitely try Hotel New Sea Hawk, on Marine Drive. The Hotel is nicely situated, with a beautiful lawn and children's play area. The rooms (both AC and non AC) are beautifully decorated with modern amneties. Most importantly, all the rooms have a balcony, facing the sea. The rooms, the linens, the towels are all neat and clean. The service is very good, theservice boys are always ready to serve you, just a trinkle away. The hotel also has a lift. The food, served, is very homely. The front desk is always there to help you with rail / bus tickets. You will enjoy all of these at an affordable price, which is much less than any other hotel, in the same line. So be there and enjoy your trip, with your family.

Room Tip: The room no. 201(AC) and 202(non AC) are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhubaneswar
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The location of the hotel is very good. its near swargdwar, the main beach of puri. All the rooms in this hotel is sea facing. the check in time is 7 a.m and we reached before 1 hour of the check in time, so we have to wait 1 hour for check in. the room quality was good and clean but there were old furnitures. you can get nice sea view from the balcony. food was very tasty. recomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First the location : Bang on the Swargadwar Beach - cross the road and the beach is yours.

Apart from this the hotel is a decent propery with mid sized rooms and balconies overseeing the sea. We had around 8 people comfortably seated in the balcony enjoying the plesent breeze in the evening and the night. We had a hilarious experience as the AC started dripping water and we were told that this was because we had used the remote to operate the AC instead of the main switch. There is a very nice play area for children with swings and slides to keep the younger ones occupied. The play area also has two benches overlooking the sea.

The hotel has a well manitained lawn and this is a plus point.

While the restaurant is not very spacious or organised I cannot fault the food at all. Portions are generous and the food is tasty. A massive positive is that they readily customise food as per prior request - you can ask for non spicy food for your children. The prices are very reasonable.


All in all a value for money experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am back from a four day long vacation from this hotel today, and still all of my family members are suffering from terrible food poisoning.

Drinking water of this hotel is poisonous. Yes, Poisonous!!!

Seriously, my mom was on mineral water diet and she is the only person safe today. rest of us got to visit doctor when we were in Puri due to stomach upset caused by this poisoned water. Last two days of our trip got spent only in disaster management!!!

And again, behavior of the staffs of this hotel is extremely cold… normally we expect a bit of warmth from the hoteliers, don’t we?

These kept aside, beautiful balcony view, great location (so close to Swargadwar, yet away from maddening crowd).

Hence, stay here. But don’t eat, don’t drink, don’t talk in this hotel… :-)-

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Sea Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Sea Hawk

Address: Marine Drive | Swargadwar, Puri, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Number of rooms: 41

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Sea Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.