We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and clean hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gandhara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gandhara to your Saves list
Hotel Gandhara
C T Road | C T Road, Puri 752002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A very nice and clean hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is really a relax point to get to if you just want to take it easy. Price is great compared to what you get. Clean, no bugs, good kitchen (they keep it simple buy the menue and therefore prepair good dishes) and nice service. I had a good experience here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
48
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were going to stay in Puri in "Z Hotel". However, all our requests sent by e-mail remained unanswered. Having come there from the train station, we learned that only one night stay was possible, and since then the hotel is fully booked. Next morning we had to find another hotel. We've choosen "Gandhara" by chance - it was nearby. But our intuition did not fail. Spacious room, great bathroom, cleanliness everywhere, nearby garden was excellent. But I must mention the main thing! First evening we went to dinner. We've tasted prawns in two different restaurants. But it has turned out that the best cook was in our one! He was very low and small. Sorry, I've forgottten his name. His butter/garlic grilled prawns and tempura - were superb. In addition to this, he was specialized on Japanese dishes. So, okonomiyaki he had cooked were not worse than I tried in Kyoto!
Perhaps, in this trip, Gandhara hotel was out of competition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We only stayed the one night, do so wish it had been longer,fabulous hotel,wonderful apartment, there was nothing we wanted or needed that was not catered for, the food was wonderful, the staff also wonderful,all in all could not fault it in any area...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Puri visiting Lingaraj Temple and the surroundings. Being the height of summer, after a long commute from Bhubaneswar The Ghandara was like a little oasis.
The room was a little cramped and dusty for me. I got the management to mop and change sheets. I really enjoyed the courtyard with the pool and tables for dining under the mango tree. I didn't manage to swim, but my friends said the pool was splendid. Super clean and shaded.
By the way, it was mango season, mangoes were literally dropping from the tree! Do try the Mango juice, its almost 100% mango. The best thing about this hotel was the service.
Good service really soothes the nerves and lets us enjoy our holiday.

Room Tip: ask them to change linen and mop
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I live and work in nearby Bhubaneswar, and Puri is the perfect place for me to visit at weekends. I've stayed in a few different hotels in Puri but Gandhara is by far the best and I now won't stay anywhere else. I've stayed in the hotel on 6 different occasions now and love it more each time I visit. My husband visited in March for 2 weeks and he still says that this hotel was the highlight of his whole trip. He was sick a lot and we spent a lot of time in the hotel room or playing with the dog.

Rooms are spotlessly clean, hot water is available 24 hours a day, AC is powerful, wifi works perfectly (and is free) and the food is excellent (and all freshly prepared). One of the highlights of this hotel for me is the staff - they are all incredibly friendly and polite, and really helpful. I've had a lot of very bad service in India but in this hotel the service is great.

Swimming pool is a lovely addition especially in the hot months, and there is a well-stocked fridge beside it where you can get cold drinks/ water/ beer 24 hours a day which is great. The hotel also has an in-house friendly dog named Limca who I love, he's a gentle giant! I've used the hotel's taxi service a number of times and the driver has been great, car very comfortable and air conditioned.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Puri, it's an oasis and a real home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here with some friends in March for the weekend and it was very pleasant! The pool and courtyard were beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful, including when I was unwell - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We, a group of four colleagues/friends from the Netherlands, Australia and India had a wonderful stay in the Hotel Ghandara in Puri. The hotel management as well as the staff are very friendly and the place is kept clean constantly. The greatest thing about this hotel is it's courtyard which is an excellent place to relax, with its shady tree, tables and lovely clean swimming pool. The hotel is situated on the main CT road, but because of the courtyard it's still a very quiet place. Most of the rooms are located in the back behind the courtyard, and are spacious and clean. Especially the upper rooms have nice views over the town and the sea. The sea is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

This is the kind of hotel that is often so difficult to find, something that is not too basic and budget, but not too flash and expensive either. Perfect if you are on a low/mid-range budget and feel like being outside of your room a lot without being in the bustling streets all the time. We had seen a lot of dark AC hotels, restaurants and rooms, so we were very happy to be able to sit outside, have a nice cold beer by the pool, and enjoy the sounds and smells of India.

Contrary to some of the negative reports that were posted here, we think this is a very recommendable place. Also we had no trouble at all with the driver we booked to visit the Sun Temple in Konark and drive us to the airport.

Room Tip: We liked the AC rooms at the back behind the courtyard the most. The rooms at the very top of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gandhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gandhara

Address: C T Road | C T Road, Puri 752002, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to offer you the services of Hotel Gandhara located in Puri, Orissa, India. We believe that our modern facilities and pleasant personnel can please all visitors and business travelers. Located in a quiet part of Puri town, just a stones throw from Jagannath Puri Beach, the Hotel Gandhara can meet all your needs and requests. With clean rooms to suit all budgets, we are sure that staying with us will make your trip to India a pleasurable experience. All facilities are available here to make your stay comfortable and easy. With in hotel facilities such as internet access and travel operator, we can really enhance your stay in Puri, together with friendly and helpful staff, the Hotel Gandhara is probably the best hotel in Puri for International travelers. Room service, international menu and cable TV, all set in a beautiful garden atmosphere, really make our hotel a welcome oasis for international travelers. Come and stay with us and experience for yourself the wonderful sights and sounds of Puri in Orissa at a secure hotel with choice of rooms from AC luxury to budget accommodation.WIFI IN ALL ROOMS.We have a long experience in accommodating activities ever since 1984 Hotel PoliciesPS- Information for Indian Tourist.(Please read carefully before booking.)Indian Bachelors (boyfriend & girl friend) are strictly not allowed.( Only we give room for Indian family & couple. Our Hotel is not in the main crowded beach & shopping center. Hotel is closed to Chakratirtha Beach.(Chakratirtha area is very popular for foreigner tourist.Indian tourist not feel very well in our hotel & this area) Pets Policy: Pets are not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gandhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gandhara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.