We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Tripura Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle to your Saves list
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Tripura Castle Road | Tripura Castle Rd., Shillong 793003, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Tripura Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were on our way to Cherrapunji and decided to stay at the Tripura Castle. As mentioned it is on the outskirts of town, but considering how crazy the traffic in Shillong is, this place is an oasis of calm. The rooms are charming but the mattresses are indeed too hard and need updating. The staff are happy to build a fire in your room which makes the chilly nights more bearable. Indeed the staff are excellent - well trained and eager to please. We asked the hotel to make specific vegetarian food for us (not on the menu) and they did a very good job of accommodating our wishes. We wanted to walk in the forest behind the hotel, which the woman at the front desk said was not possible. However, we did indeed find a way there and walked all the way to Shillong Mountain which has a wonderful view of the city and surroundings. A nice thing to do if you want to avoid the city. It isn't cheap, but we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We are extremely grateful for your comments on our hotel. Being a hospitality industry we try to cater all the requirements of our guests and make sure that they leave our property with a memorable experience.

As for the walk through the forest to Shillong Peak, we did not recommend you to go without a guide as we want to make sure that your trek is enjoyable, safe and avoid any inconvenience. However we are glad that you enjoyed the view from Shillong Peak which is the highest point in Shillong city.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
15
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Whenever we travel the decision we are usually faced with is: do we want to stay in a comfortable four or five star hotel or in a heritage place that adds a bit more of an experience to the trip? In the case of Shillong there are actually no such four/five-star hotels that fit the bill. Most come across as rather depressing, worn buildings and as such Tripura Castle is probably your best bet when you visit the city. Two things need to be noted from the start though: 1. The hotel is quite far from the city center. A taxi ride will set you back about two hundred rupees and takes about fifteen minutes. A walk down should take forty five minutes to an hour. 2. It's not really a castle-castle. It used to the summer residence of the 'royal' family of Tripura and its clear that like much of the rest of Shillong's scenic architecture its been inspired by a British cottage kind of building style that one finds in smaller hill stations in India as well. That said it is definitely a lovely property, beautifully kept and with a distinct character that makes it well worth staying here.

We were here for four nights in December. The rooms are spacious, the beds as well, though the mattresses are quite hard, something the hotel could look into. Although these are 'period' beds surely better mattresses are available? The bathroom was spacious as well and the complimentary toiletries of decent quality. Hot water was almost immediate, something we well appreciated considering how extraordinarily cold it gets at night.

The cold is an issue... if you travel during the colder months (December, January etc) please keep in mind that your room will be very cold throughout the day unless you keep the fireplace running (staff will help you). The small heater that came with the room is definitely not sufficient to keep the room warm enough. The hotel's restaurant is a pleasant place to spend some time if the room gets too cold but the bar upstairs is open from one side meaning it basically gets as cold as it does outside. The restaurant is quite decent. We had dinner there a number of times, all of which were tasty though nothing specifically great (an issue in Shillong in general we felt). Breakfast is a bit of a mixed bag: a la carte is excellent, the buffet which they only roll out when they expect a lot of guests not so. We also had dinner in the Cafe belonging to the hotel down below the hill (see review on tripadvisor).

Service in general is excellent though, the staff very friendly and helpful. With this property we're a bit back-and-forth between Average and Very Good. It is not a particularly affordable place, the rooms really did get very cold, wifi is ridiculously slow, and breakfast was only so-so. On the other hand: this is a lovely property, quite scenic, beautifully located, with truly helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay during the holidays. The hotel is an extension of the Castle of the Maharaja of Tripura which was opened in 2003 for commercial purpose. It was the summer house of the Maharaja who fell in love with Shillong during his era. We are keeping in mind of installing all modern facilities for the comfort of our guests without affecting the Heritage look and ambience of the place.

In regards to the facility in the rooms, we are in talks with the wi-fi service provider and in the process to strengthen the bandwidth. The management is looking into the heating system and it should be better by next winter as we will be having much improved heating system in all our rooms.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had an fabulous trip in this dushera in Shillong, at first i and my friends were completely confused where to stay for the trip but Greenlimon holidays has suggested the perfect place tripura castle which has got the best location and has got marvelous heritage look........... thanks to Greenlimon holidays for making our trip wonderful...... we will visit this hotel next time next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that Green Lemon Holidays made the right choice for you and your friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my husband visited this place on first week of november'13. It will remain one of our best time spent. lovely place, wonderful people and amazing serenity. Rooms were excellent with a touch of royality and the service was impeccable. Room rents were fair enough. Tiered gardens with cherry blossom trees and orchids were a real treat.
But the best part of the hotel was its food which the best in town. Specially the Cafe can give any five star a run for money. We would love to go back there. It was surprisingly rejuvenating.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on main building. Its more ethnic that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are happy to know that your stay with us will remain one of your best time spent.

The Café located within the annexe serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies and we try our best to keep up with the expectations of our guests.

We appreciate your positive response regarding our hospitality and service and we hope that we will see you again in our Heritage Hotel in the coming future to experience an improved service in both our restaurants and accommodation.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a royal palace converted hotel, located in shillong city. The hotel has single and double room accommodation with indoor games, open lawn to enjoy the early morning sunrise, bar and restaurant. The rooms are big and spacious with wood work. One can take a walk across the forest adjacent to the hotel or can enjoy the morning sunrise/slight drizzling, depending of the season, with a cup of tea in the open courtyard.. The staff and friendly and cooperative. I have been to this hotel recently and I advise others to stay at this hotel during your visit to Shillong.

Room Tip: try to book rooms in the corridoor next to reception area. one can enjoy the morning sunrise with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We appreciate your wonderful review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is the first "heritage" hotel in the north-east. Opened in 2003 in the Castle's annexe, it is also the summer retreat of the Maharajas of the Manikya dynasty of Tripura.

Each of the spacious and tastefully appointed guest rooms retains its old world 'heritage' character. The restaurants – The Rice Court serves Indian, Chinese & Continental and Café Shillong Heritage serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies.

To add to the beauty, is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle with lusty pine trees, tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids which is a complete package for guests who wish to get away from the maddening city life.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The property is located away from the chaos of the city center. Excellent service along with the old world charm of the property add to the experience. We stayed in rooms that were a bit away from the main hotel. They had a golf cart to take you to the main hotel where the restaurant and bar are. With limited number of rooms, the property does not have an over-crowded feel at any time. You can actually find a whole section to yourself at the restaurant or at the bar and spend an excellent evening relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is a property located away from the city crowd and is set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine that overlooks some part of the city.

The newly constructed Garden Wing Superior rooms are spacious and well designed using local materials to the greatest advantage and a café located in the middle of the annexe. The golf cart stationed 24 hours takes you to the court yard area, where we have the Rice Court restaurant serving Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean cuisine with a Mezzanine Bar offering a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What caught my eye for this property was its location away from the the commercial activity and noise of police bazar and laitumkhrah. This place has a very royal feel with beautiful wooden floors, well carved varnished furniture and king size beds. I felt like I was embraced within the aura of the castle. It is among the few hotels in Shillong which has a bar and is open till around 10, 10:30 pm which is quite late as the bars here close early. This place had beautiful well maintained gardens and our room (the supreme suite) overlooked a small garden which had a green and fresh view. Service was also good. If money is not a constraint, one should come here to relax at least for a day. That is what I did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is located away from the hustle bustle of the main city and very close to nature - an ideal place to rejuvenate yourself.

The property reflects the regality of a royal home with its preserved heritage essence – from its tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids, carefully selected pieces of furniture, its splendid interiors blend with the modern amenities gives a sense of homely stay to our guests.

To add to the beauty is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle overlooking the majestic pine trees and garden.

Besides the Mezzanine Bar, there is also Café Shillong Heritage within the annexe and serves Mediterranean, Asian, Northeastern cuisine and a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Address: Tripura Castle Road | Tripura Castle Rd., Shillong 793003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Palace of Maharaja of Tripura. Nested among the green pines, bamboos and dotted with cherry blossom trees, you know that you are in for an exhilarating experience as soon as you drive up the misty hills, surrounding the Royal Heritage Tripura Castle Hotel. Though situated barely a mile away from the city center the establishment offers an air of seclusion and privacy and is an ideal base from which to explore the attractions of the town and countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.