We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Polo Towers to your Saves list
Hotel Polo Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Nice hotel. Situated near the polo ground, Shillong. Rooms are spacious but the interior could have been better. Talking of room service, the hotel has a well trained house keeping staff and they know their job. The restaurants are well made and food well prepared.
If you want to be in the center of the city then this is not for you. There are cabs available outside the hotel, if you do not have a vehicle at your disposal.
Overall a good place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    28
    7
    9
See reviews for
33
14
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We took the opportunity to use our free weekend to visit the Hill Station of Shillong and Cherrapungee. The Polo Towers was reputed to be the best hotel in town so it was booked for us.

While there is nothing really terrible about the hotel, it's not in my opinion a 4 star. The rooms were odd and a bit uncomfortable. The bed was very uncomfortable, with a thin mattress on a metal frame. But the really weirdest thing about the room was that the power switch was in the hall. So one of my colleagues had a problem with kids running in the hall late at night turning his power off and on repeatedly, and ringing his buzzer.

Breakfast was not bad. The bar was funky and not particularly inviting. The drink choices were very limited. The wireless was really spotty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bengal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

we have stayed in hotel polo tower for 5 days 4 nights, hotel room is good, though there was not a good view from room, room service is good, reception and house keeping behavior is also good and co operative , however the food quality is not up to the mark.towels given in the room are not cleaned properly and looks dirty. complementary breakfast doesn't have much variety. tough there was difference in the price menu given in the menu card and the actual bill upon complaining the hotel people are kind enough to give us discount on the bill.overall good

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I loved the hotel cause it was slightly faraway from the crowded bazaar areas of town. Walking distance from teh golf course and the wards lake. Very good food. Smallish warm british pub, free wifi and warm smiles!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Well, after all the negative reviews on TA, Polo Towers seems to have changed. I visited this property a couple of weeks back and I am really impressed. Food is good, rooms are plush and service seems to have improved a great lot. Shillong is no longer same these days with a lot of crowd and hullabaloos, but PT is undoubtedly the best place to stay if you want to make your stay memorable. Car parking is small, the lack a lawn and swimming pool, but never mind all those things when you are at Shillong. They have a good bar. The staff is okay, service is good too. Ginger, the restaurant serves multi-cuisine selection and the staff there are very nice. Try Indian and chinese food there. At the end of the day, it is a good place to relax and unwind. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Not that Polo Towers is very bad, but it is just not recommended.

At my first night, wi-fi was not working and I couldn't get an exact explanation of why and when it would resume; international phone calls couldn't be made and I was told that it was the numbers were not working; the business centre facilitated with an XP desktop couldn't get online. Imagine how bad it was for adventurers far away from home not being able to tell their families that they were safe? But everything was okay starting from the second day.

Rooms were okay - the typical deluxe rooms have shampoo, conditioner, shower cap, bath and facial towels, complimentary bottled water. So make sure you have your own hair dryer and dental kits. Though it claims to be the only four star hotel in the city, do not expect coffee or tea packs, or a safe.

The buffet breakfast is okay, though choices are very limited. At least the restaurant GINGER is operated by friendly staff and offers a cosy environment, which is why in the evenings it is oft-visited by local families.

Do not expect smile or attentive manner from every single staff from the help desk. Do not expect the in-room manual is correct (it provides instructions of making IDDs but in fact you have to ask the operator/front desk staff to initiate one).

Last but not least, do not expect a cosy and visitor-friendly neighbourhood because Polo Grounds is apparently where settlers live and is far away from the vibes of Shillong. This area is pretty dirty and chaotic, with cunning cab drivers gathering outside the hotel, waiting for another stupid tourist.

Advice: Pick somewhere near Laitmakrah or B&B or guesthouses instead of hotels. Because all hotels seem to be like between two to three stars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have stayed at the Hotel several times since 2008, as far as I remember at an interval of three months.

The rooms are OK. The lights in the rooms were very very low, which I find is being gradually improved.

The main problem with the Hotel it seems is the staff.

They do not probably know how to smile and greet a guest. From the gate onwards they view a guest with rather grim and suspicious looks. At the Reception, they would hand over the keys while talking with others or looking away. In other Hotels not even star rated I have experienced that the guest are greeted with a "namaste" at least. This has to be taught to them.

The staff in the kitchen and room service are even more terrible and as if 'hostile' to the guests.

Once one of the room-service waiters waited endlessly after setting my dinner in the room. On my asking why he is waiting he said "give me some tip at least".

Although the services include round the clock kitchen (limited items), the kitchen staff forgot to deliver my breakfast box at 6 a.m. as ordered the previous night. On enquiry, they had the cheek to retort that no order was booked for 6 a.m.

During my last visit in July 2010 I wanted a pair of toasts along with my bed tea in the room. The staff at the other end of the telephone repeated four or more times that I must come down to the Restaurant for the toasts. When I raised my voice to tell him that he should not argue with a guest like that he relented.

This sort of things keep on happening all the time and if I report to the Hotel General Manager, he rebukes the staff but again similar things repeat.

This no one would expect in a "4 star Hotel".

The house keeping staff seem to be the only group of staff who are polite and the cleanliness seems to have improved somewhat over the year.

The food is OK but nothing great. Even in Hotels like Taj where I have stayed several times minor variations are made in the way the dish is cooked according to the guest's preference. Once I wanted a particular dish there without any chilli and that was served. Here at Polo Towers the staff would make it more 'hot' if you request for a bland preparation. To get it you must catch hold of the G.M. or the F&B Manager who are not always available.

The breakfast served at the restaurant underground feels like repulsive if you stay for several days. It is either oily and semi-raw puri or bhature which is a thicker version of the puri. The items like Upma are not properly cooked and can not be had. The cook present at the counter would serve you eggs fried or an omelette. During my last visit when I wanted a boiled egg, initially they refused. then I was told that it is not ready and would take time. after my insisting that I want a boiled egg, I was made to wait for 15 minutes on the plea that it was being freshly boiled and after that I was served a cold egg from the fridge.

i admit that if I go to the G.M. etc. some immediate action is taken but that is very short lived. Also the managers should in that case be available round the clock which they are not.

My assessment is the Hotel is being run by under trained poorly paid disgruntled and often arrogant staff and it definitely does not deserve the star rating.

Name: Debasish Ghosh.
Location : Kolkata.
email: ghosh.debasis2007@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polo Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polo Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.