We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is ranked only four star in the area, but its like a two star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Polo Towers to your Saves list
Hotel Polo Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Haryana
1 review
“The hotel is ranked only four star in the area, but its like a two star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

The hotel is ranked only four star in the area, but its like a two star. The lobby is fine. The food is exellent. One must try the sizllers there. Although the rooms are well furnished but moist. A particular smell is there in almost every room. The back-stairs are dirty and full of old furniture and waste etc. causing blocked stairs. Thus in case of emergency these can't be used. The hotel staff is exellent and service is great.

  • Liked — Room Service
  • Disliked — Moisture in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
38
16
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Assam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I went to shillong on 28th April, 2006 and stayed in the hotel polo tower. It was a very memorable experience for me as the faciltites i got from the hotel was superb. The price was also reasonable around Rs.700 for a day. The meals provided was also very very tasty. I was very happy to stay in the hotel.

  • Liked — The room and service
  • Disliked — The television was small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We had a very nice trip to Shillong. We enjoyed the very different sightseeing, the interaction with the local people and the hotel where we stayed. We stayed in the Boutique room for which we got a good rate at the hotel`s website.We had booked a pick up from Guwahati Airport in a small car but they sent us a nice long car as the small car was not available! We were very happy at that mistake!
Please do not miss going to cherrapunjee,its a place like no other. I even loved the view from Shillong peak and the sweet local tea served there.

  • Liked — Nice decor and their pub.
  • Disliked — It was raining in Shillong for the first day of our stay.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I have returned from Shillong only last week. It was a great trip. Hotel Polo Towers was wonderful. People are well mannered. I took a room for two nights which cost Rs.5090/- inclusive of taxes. The restaurant was very good. The food was also quite good except the tea. They could not make the tea properly. Room service is wonderful and very much prompt. Overall Hotel Polo Towers was excellent. People never give photographs of the hotels or places visited hence becomes very difficult to decide. I have taken some photographs which others may like.

  • Liked — room service
  • Disliked — check in time is too long
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

went to shillong for official work and stayed in the hotel for 1 day.
The remote of the TV was not there in the room and when they provided one it was not working.
The food is not bad but less than expectation of a 4 star hotel. The breakfast had limited choices.
Room service was not good. The dishes in which we ate last night was still there when we checked out around 1.00 pm

  • Liked — location was good
  • Disliked — room service was bad
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtib, Front Office Manager at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, October 15, 2008
Dear Sir,

We thank you so much for recommending our hotels location amongst the lush Polo Grounds.

We are very apologetic that the TV did not function properly when you were there with us. You would be happy to know that we are now replacing our televisions with High Definition 32" LCD televisions. As such, we are confident that you will not face such problems again.

After your feedback, our chef has increased the breakfast buffet spread considerably, adding, among other things, many cereal options, varieties of breads and others.

We have also initiated a process overhaul of our room service and hope to have it effective by the end of October this year.

We thank you very much for your constructive criticism and look forward to welcoming you to Shillong again. We are confident that you will enjoy our new features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I recently stayed in this Hotel as it claimed to be a four star hotel on the web site.Well it was a very disappointing experience with the rooms smelling ---finally could find a room with no smelly carpets. The linen was stained and dirty and had to ask for a change. The food too was bad ---- Thick Rotis and apparently stale chicken. Some of the staff , specially at the reception appeared rather arrogant. The restaurant and bar in the basement were again stuffy and smelly. My verdict --- an avoidable place. I think Shillong has better and more airy places to settle for a night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtib, Front Office Manager at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, October 15, 2008
Dear Sir/Madam.

Greetings from Shillong,

At the outset, we would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Polo Towers,Shillongs only 4 Star hotel.

We are extremely sorry to note that you did not have a great experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on "the Polo Towers Experience" and as such are very concerned when we see that a guest is not satisfied.

As you have correctly mentioned, we are Shillong`s Only 4 Star hotel as certified by the Government of India, Department of Tourism. We think that it is pertinent to inform you that no other hotel in Shillong is classified, as such, we are not just the only 4 Star Hotel in Shillong but are also the only classified hotel in Shillong at this time.

We are deeply apologetic for the unacceptable condition of the carpet and linen and you would be pleased to know that we have replaced carpets in most of our rooms with elegant modern wood flooring.

We are in the process of investigating which member of staff was on duty during your stay, and you can rest assured that they will be dealt with strictly.

We once again apologise for the various shortcomings and are confident that we will not disappoint you on your next visit to Hotel Polo Towers,Shillong.

In order to make sure that you have yet another reason to come to Shillong, we would be pleased to offer you a free stay for 2 at our luxurious, contemporary Boutique Rooms.

Please contact me at nkmohanty@hotelpolotowers.com for any further queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polo Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polo Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.