We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic, British, Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Hotel
Save
You added Pinewood Hotel to your Saves list
Rita Road | European Ward, Shillong 793001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Guwahati, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Majestic, British, Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

A very old school British hotel. Very cozy rooms especially if you take the cottage. You can light ur own bonfire right in the middle of ur cottage. Staff is very pleasant. Food is average. Location is nice especially when you taking a break from the bustling life of a city. A must stay if u goin with ur special one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    58
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
19
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have visited with my colleague for official work and to experience the beauty of Shillong. The room has been booked by my local dealer. It looks very nice while entering into the hotel with nice scenic beauty of the lake beside the hotel with British structure . But our good feeling went off with in a while when we checked in the hotel. Right from the receptionist to the service boy we found lack of knowledge regarding service industry. The rooms are quite big but very poorly maintained. There is a nice fire furnace in the front room but not a single heater in the leaving room. It was very cold climate while we have visited in Shillong. We can not even sleep in the bed room due to the cold as there was no electric heater with in the room. So, we stayed whole the night in the front room beside the fire furnace. The best part of the hotel is the food. But serving is very poor. Over all I have mixed experience regarding the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I still havea nostalgic memory of my visit to this Hotel in my childhood with my parents 30 years back. I thought of recapitulating my faint memories and plan a stay once again this Jan'11.
I felt bad, the old Colonial style is gone with the present dry & impersonal attitude of the staff. The Hotel is not at all being maintained, the Rooms are not well maintained,the Reception looks to be a Govenment Office block, the Receptionist is too repulsive than impulsive. The Garden is dry and dirty.
I wish I had not visited this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

It was our honey moon and we had chosen the north east of India (Shillong). Had heard a lot about Meghalaya and wanted to see north east. People are extremely calm and relaxed. No one is in a hurry unlike metros in India.

We didn't get time to search on net this time and one of our uncles had booked it for us.We relied on him as he had visited this place before. And, believe me it was good that we trusted him. Pinewood hotel is a nice play to stay.

Rooms are spacious , well ventilated with good furniture. Rooms are clean and with good staff. Staff is courteous. When we reached Pinewood, it was extremely cold and it was freezing at 6pm in the evening. We ordered pakoras and tea in snacks. Room service is good.

Pinewood has a restaurant as well. Its a nice one and we didn't feel like going out. Ambience is good .Weddings also happen at this hotel. We got the chance to attend one, when we were staying there :)
Pinewood is located at an amazing place. Its not far from the city and not crowded as well. So, one can relax ,enjoy and dine. There's a lake and a nice park nearby. Walking in the woods an awesome experience.

Can definitely think of going again and staying there :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is what to be said for Pinewood Shillong! Withstanding the changes in the ever crowding Hill Town the atmosphere within Pinewood still has retained its velour. It provides a peaceful abode to visitors travelling for any reason; be it a business trip, a family holiday or honeymooning?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed in deluxe room...the room was clean and peaceful ..the food quality and room service was great...the front desk was also very helpful.
Would love to stay there again...:-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Disappointing hotel, supposed to be one of the better ones in Shillong but does not live up to that billing. Rooms are poor quality and in a state of disrepair - room I was in had large patches of damp near the sleeping area; it was drafty and cold; appliances were rusty; phone was not working; electricity was not working properly - some switches did not work and wires were hanging dangerously all over the place; beds were hard and uncomfortable. Very unpleasant room to stay in, no outlook or windows which could be opened in the evening because it was on the ground floor. Little option in evening but to sit tucked up in blankets on a very hard uncomforable bed watching TV. Main parts of room were clean (bed, bathroom) but lack of attention to detail - light switches were flighty with grease. Communal areas are little better, front side looks quite good but disrepair highly visible round the back. Staff/servants quarters are onsite adjacent to guest rooms and are of very poor quality. Business facilities don't always work. Indian food in hotel restaurant tastes good; western food is terrible. Not sure if food hygiene and safety standards in preparation are well-observed, picked up a tummy bug whilst there which might have been due to the hotel food, so stopped eating it. Live music in restaurant was very good. One positive is that the staff are very polite and obliging, they try and fix what problems they can but they can do little about the basic infrastructure. For all this, the hotel charges top rates which are far from deserved.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Rita Road | European Ward, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Shillong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.