We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very warm place with excellent music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munchies Shillong

Munchies Shillong
Close to Don Bosco Sqaure , Main Road | Laitumkhrah, Shillong 390003, India
8974087724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Shillong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
New Delhi, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very warm place with excellent music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

this is the place to visit if you'r ever travelling to this part of india , very nice staff .

the ambeince is quite good , very open and welcoming . has inorrs and outdoor seating but i recommend outdoor.

excellent pizza's - try the meetza which was a treat , it a think crust pizza which is dufficult to get in most metro pizza joints.
the grilled sandwiches were just out of this world , melted cheese and onions .
lastly the black currant milkshake , really frothy and appetizing on a cold evening.

my wife had a chicken burger which she loved & drowned with a masala tea.

a definite recommendation to all who would visit Shillong.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shillong
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“As an American residing in Shillong for the past 2 years, Munchies gives the best quality food at the lowest prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've tried many restaurants of all types, from the small local Jadoh hotels, to the finest dining Shillong has to offer, and by far one of my most favorites after two years of living in Shillong, is Munchies! Great atmosphere, excellent service, great music, friendly people, and great food that satisfies my western taste buds at very exceptional prices. I've had burgers twice as expensive and not even half as good all over Shillong. Although Munchies is a fairly new addition to Shillong, it has already spread in popularity by word of mouth alone, and their business is booming for a reason.

I personally reccomend the Lucy Juicy Burger with fries, or even try their pizzas! The Roast beef sandwich is equally fantastic, but I'm not that fond of the chicken burger.

Give it a try and see for yourself!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesom burger with some nice music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

was recommended by some friends to try this joint on the main road , had the burger and it was just excellent ; the best i recommend , not had a better one in austrialia .
the thin crust pizza my girlfriend ordered was really nice ;
spoke to the gentleman who i guess must be the owner or manager ; he guided us to some sights in shillong. offered us a ride too ; a nice chap.
would recommend this place to any traveler who would like some hot fresh food

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hep place in shillong with ordinary food & owners attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Place was happening sort- nice music, good ambiance, lively in an otherwise dull city of Shillong. frequented by teenagers. perhaps the very reason the owner carries so much of an attitude! he kept reminding that he was from Mumbai and appeared as though he is doing some great service for the city on whole! food was average- bit too much oil & butter, though kathi roll was good. service took time as the owner kept reminding he had so many pending orders (though i couldnt place too much of a crowd)
good place to visit once for evening tea or snacks. nothing much to boast about though the entire fare was pretty economical.
Beware- can be really chilly on a windy day.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Regurgitated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Beyond AWFUL. Pizza was basically a half baked chapatti with a few bits of ham and cheese thrown in as an afterthought ...which they didn't bother even grating. The so called "juicy lucy" burger was a processed patty of what seemed like chewed and regurgitated chicken. Never again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchies Shillong also viewed

Shillong, Meghalaya
Shillong, Meghalaya
 

Been to Munchies Shillong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munchies Shillong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.