We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakkhotaa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakkhotaa Lodge to your Saves list
Lakkhotaa Lodge
Mawpun, near Golf Club, | Polo Hills, Shillong 793 001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi,India
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The decor is Tibetan and many others including Indigenous American . Its an eclectic collection that works . The Hotel is cosy, comfortable . The vibes are good, positive . The food is good. The hygiene is excellent. It is right next to the beautiful Golf Course . An excellent choice for Pine City

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmie S, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying at LAKKHOTAA LODGE GUEST HOUSE and for taking the time to share your experience on TRIP ADVISOR It sounds like our Guest House was a perfect accommodation for your needs and expectations. I’m also glad you enjoyed the amenities offered by LAKKHOTAA and you were able to make a trip to see the sights of our lovely Hill State.

Again, Thank you for your stay and comments, I will share your kind words with our staff, who are always happy to hear of how well they work, it helps them to improve hearing positive reviews from our Guests .. I hope your travels home were safe and we will be anticipating your next arrival.

Best Regards,
Ms. Elmie Shullai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
23
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Enter Lakkhotaa Lodge ..... You would be transported into an Oriental Palace in its pristine form. The sights, sounds, and smell will make you believe that you have come to live in a Palace. The whole ambience is Soul soothing. The paintings, relics, and the architecture of the Lodge have been put together with minute attention to details and every item placed there is testimony to the painstaking efforts of Elmie and Jim - the wonderful owners of the Lodge who play host to every guest and treat them as family.

The services provided by Sasha and SK in the Front Office; Eva, Albika, and Moina in the Kitchen-Restaurant; and Santi, Jenita, and Pdianghun in House keeping is one of its kind that we have experienced. We have not experienced such warmth and caring even in a 5 Star facility. These young people not only show case the hospitality of the people from North-East; but also are testimony to the painstaking efforts of Elmie to impart and imbibe in them Service Attitude and Mindset that can be benchmarked with possibly the best around the globe.

The infrastructure and facilities at the Lodge and in the rooms is comparable to that in 5 Star hotels. The creativity and expansive heart of Elmie & Jim is amply reflected in every aspect of the Lodge. Our 4 days stay at Lakkhotaa Lodge would be one of our most memorable moments of the many vacations that we have undertaken as a family. The high point was the sumptuous Christmas Dinner with the best of wine to add to the X'mas 'Spirit'.

One needs to have an appreciation for the 'uncommon' and 'off the beaten track' experiences to be able to enjoy and savour the experience at Lakkhotaa Lodge.

Thanks Elmie, Jim and the entire staff of the Lodge for the wonderful time that you gifted to our family. We will be eagerly looking forward to our next visit to Shillong and our stay at your lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us out of the many options in Shillong during your holiday & sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to know that you found Lakkhotaa Lodge Guest House & its staff warm & welcoming. I will be honored to pass your kind words to the rest of our staff as well, that you have mentioned individually.
.
We hope to welcome you back on your future visits to Shillong. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to live up to the standards that you expected from us, not only from room comfort and cleanliness, but to the service as well. We thank you again for taking your time and sharing your review on Trip Advisor we look foward to welcome you in the future!
Best Regards,
Ms. Elmie Shullai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lakkhotta lodge is a different place altogether from any other "hotel" we have stayed at. The moment we entered we were taken aback by what we saw. Rich hues on the walls. tasteful furniture, artifacts of various kinds, cozy corners, several theme lounges, a high quality fitness center, billiards table, a super friendly dog, a piano....., it is quite unusual to have it all in a ten room property. Our room had two double beds (one tucked away in a cozy alcove) that served us family of four very well.

Elmie and Jim, who own the place, have built it with a lot of care, attention and taste and clearly keep a sharp eye to ensure that things stay that way. They are also great company. It is great to hear about the makings of the place.

The place has a wonderfully equipped and squeaky clean kitchen that serves great food, although the menu is perhaps a bit limited. In any event the staff are extremely helpful and efficient and went out of the way to cater to our needs.

For travelers to Shillong (which unfortunately has gone to seed like most Indian "hill stations"), this is the place to put up at. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.. I’m happy to see that you received such a high standard of service throughout your stay with us, it’s also great to see that you had a nice tour of our Lodge and liked the Kitchen .
I am surprised however to read you were disappointed with our Menu, we appreciate your comments & review but when we opened in Sept 2009 we tried to have a broad spectrum menu, the Guests limited their culinary orders to what we presently offer.
Before your next trip to Shillong let us know what you want to eat, and we will see what can be done.
We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Shillong and Thank you again for a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it as it helps our performance to keep up the good work catering to our guests..
Best Regards from all the Staff @ Lakkhotaa Lodge Guest House
Ms. Elmie Shullai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Apart from the location, without any doubts, I can compare my stay at Lakkhottaa Lodge with that of J. W. Marriot, Oberoi Hotels and The Taj. Although the swimming pool was missing, but I doubt if anyone will prefer a swim in the cold of Shillong. The location isn't at the heart of the city, but easily reachable (5 mins drive to Police Bazaar). But this turn proves to be a very peaceful and tranquil environment. As soon as you enter the hotel you will not only be welcomed by the smiles of very cooperative staffs but also an aroma which will make you feel as if you have entered a very Holy place. Well it's not just the aroma but also the decorative things around, specially lots of Feng Shui objects that will make you feel that way. Enter the rooms and you will feel like as if you are in one of the aforesaid hotels. If you know the standards of these hotels, I don't think I need to explain about the rooms, as well as the toilets. The restuarant looks somewhat like a Chinese one. Luckily I got a chance to visit the kitchen, and I wondered if the other 5 star hotels follow the same hygiene standards as Lakkhotaa is following. To my surprise, they have their own kitchen garden too, so as to serve food which are free fertilizer free and non genetically modified. Where else do you get such vegetables now, except in remote villages? But one I am sure you won't find anywhere in the hotel, i.e., DIRT. I found the hotel spotlessly clean. But you what is the best part I found there? It's Sir and Madam (the owners of the hotel). They both are senior citizens but very active. They are very friendly and down to earth people and of course very knowdgeable. Guess what, if you feel bore on any day in your trip to Shillong, just chat with them, and they will make your day. Rest, find yourself by going there!!! Have a happy stay at Lakkhotaa and Shillong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, "Greetings from Lakkhotaa Lodge Guest House" Shillong. and second of all Thank you so very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you & your wife like the Old World Charm, Aromas & peacefulness of our Guest House.
We do always work hard to deliver the high levels of comfort, service & Food Quality which you have enjoyed and so In your case, it would appear we exceeded expectations all around, so excellent! There is no better review than a guest who not only says they will return, but will recommend to their friends!
It is a pleasure to be able to read such kind and positive comments about our Guest House. I have shared your review with the staff as personal messages from guests always motivate them to continue delivering first-class service.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay, I look forward to having you again among our guests

. We appreciate all of our reviews, as it's the best format to not only reward our team, but make adjustments to our operation when necessary. Our Guests are very important to us.


Trip Advisor Reviews such as yours are important to us, and we appreciate your feedback.

On behalf of the entire Lakkhotaa Lodge team, Thank you!
We look forward to your next visit with the family or on your buisness trip.
Best Regards,
Ms. Elmie Shullai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was unsure about staying here as I prefer staying in more metropolitan areas,however decided to give it a try after some recommendations from a friend. And i wasnt disappointed!!

I was put in the beautiful room ( very ethinic) was spacious & modern and very clean… this room type was more than adequate for me . Great food and sceneary which is always important to me personally, also there is a gym, gift shop and library which is fantastic for someone on a holiday.Food was good, I enjoyed the room service menu however the restaurant can be pretty chaotic if the occupancy is high. The cooked breakfasts are absolutely heavenly!

What did I enjoy mostly about this property? Everything from the room right down to the services. A++++ services provided by this lodge - everyone is very courteous and hospitable. It can become a bit hot on some days, the only minor setback i can think of.

Definitely recommend this property for families, couples and short stay solo travellers!

Room Tip: Do try the Restaurant - the food here is absolutely fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay, here @ LAKKHOTAA LODGE Guest House Shillong India.
We strive to offer superior service and I am pleased this was the case during your stay
We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, hopefully for longer next time.
Best Regards,
Ms.Elmie Shullai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Peace and solace is what one can find at Lakkhotaa. My 2nd visit and its just keeps getting better. Hospitality as its best, the chef keep surprising us every time. Its an amazingly energized place and gives a very warm feeling to the rooms. The staff and owners both go the extra mile to make you feel at home. Keep it up folks..you guys are awesome.

Room Tip: Take a new room everyday, they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, "Greetings from Lakkhotaa Lodge Guest House" Shillong. and second of all Thank you very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you like the Old World Charm & peacefulness of our Guest House.
We do always work hard to deliver the high levels of comfort, service & Food Quality which you have enjoyed and so Thank you for the FeedBack on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to be able to read such kind and positive comments about our Guest House. I have shared your review with the staff as personal messages from guests always motivate them to continue delivering first-class service.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay, I look forward to having you again among our guests.

Kind regards,
Ms. Elmie Shullai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled to Lakkhotaa Lodge once again in Oct. This was second time since my trip here in June this year. The experience here was even better this time.

As always we found the rooms, services and food as the best as per the industry standards. The treatment I got from the staff and owners was just so amazing... For me it was like coming back home after travelling for long.

I enjoyed the tranquil environment, the chat I had with Jim and Elmie(owners) and the delicious food served. Nothing can be better than this..

Came back home with pleasent memories of this place and for sure planning to take my family here for a vacation next year.

Room Tip: Each and every room is very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durga816, Owner at Lakkhotaa Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,


Create a wonderful memory and you'll create a customer for life is our motto....Thank you so much for your second glowing review of Lakkhotaa Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of our reviews, as it's the best format to not only reward our team, but make adjustments to our operation when necessary. Our Guests are very important to us.

In your case, it would appear we exceeded expectations all around, so excellent! There is no better review than a guest who not only says they will return, but will recommend to their friends!

Trip Advisor Reviews such as yours are important to us, and we appreciate your feedback.

On behalf of the entire Lakkhotaa Lodge team, Thank you!
We look forward to your next visit with the family or on your buisness trip.
Best Regards,
Ms. Elmie Shullai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakkhotaa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakkhotaa Lodge

Address: Mawpun, near Golf Club, | Polo Hills, Shillong 793 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakkhotaa Lodge has been designed under the best principles of Feng shui-the Ancient Oriental science of creating spaces in complete harmony. Redefining luxury never seen before in this part of the world. All Bedrooms offer double pillow top mattresses & high quality linens. All rooms have cable T.V. direct dial phone, free wireless Internet to ensure guests are completely relaxed & rejuvenated. Included in your stay is a made to order whatever you want Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lakkhotaa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakkhotaa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.