We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnum Hotel

Magnum Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnum Hotel
Save
You added Magnum Hotel to your Saves list
Police Bazaar, Shillong 793001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Tinsukia, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here during our Shillong and Cherrapunji visit. The main positive factor about the hotel is its location which is the central hub of Shillong. The staff of the hotel was friendly and professional. The room was clean and of adequate size (noise free for a good sleep at night). The manager at the reception was a very good person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For Shillong standard of living it's not very cheap.. but not expensive too. For Shillong, budget hotel would cost around Rs. 400-800/-.... average Rs 1000-1800/-.... Costly Rs. 2000-3500/-.
..........................
Tariff: Room charges INR 1450/- as on Apr 2014.
Located: AT the heart of the city.. at Police Bazaar, Shillong.

Deluxe rooms have decent free space... other than a bed.. it has a small dining table, a 2-seater sofa, cupboard & a drawing table with mirror.
Toilet was clean, but a bit small.

Room service is a bit slow... food is okay.. but you have many options nearby, so any time (till 9 pm) you can have outside food.

Room Tip: > Rooms at front side, nearer to reception are brighter & has road view. > Rooms at back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really nice experience, went there in Dec 2008, staff were courteous to help, room were provided with heater, location was excellent, one can go walk or shopping in near by market. Rooms were clean, food quality was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

it is good we have been staying at some other posh hotels before but out of accident we stayed at magnum and ever since don't want to go anywhere else. the food is good n the staffs are nice plus the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel being right in the middle of Police Chowk, which is one of the central places in Shillong, steals the show mostly.
The rooms are spacious and tidy. Wont call it luxurious, but for the price you pay, it is worth it. The hotel staff was really helpful in terms of booking cabs for sight seeing and generally quick with their sercvice. Overall Good!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I and my colleague had travelled from Guwahati and reached Shillong in late evening. This hotel was in the main bazar and we choose not to search hotel for long and rather have quick dinner and rest. The hotel was not clean at all and there were mosquitos. It was very cold and on request, they provided us room heaters. The heaters made a lot of noice. I had a bad sleep. Overall though the staff tried to help, it was an overall bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

i had jus finshed my exams n was goin for a tour when i stayed in this hotel for a day it was really good n really comfortable with good service

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnum Hotel

Address: Police Bazaar, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Shillong
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.