We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adamo The Resort to your Saves list
Adamo The Resort
MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Above average...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Matheran is famous for its vehicle free environment. This made us visit Matheran and we choose to stay at this hotel. It is a good hotel with good rooms. A little above average. Food here is simply mind blowing. I suggest you opt for buffet rather than la carte. Staff is very co-operative. It is a bit far from the other main market hotels but the location is good. There are limited rooms so ensure that you book in advance. The pool is very small but clean. It is a god place to stay with family and large group. They have duplex accommodation/rooms so its best for a big group to stay here. There is no special or extra activities except that it has a small disco place where DJs play music and people can dance. They have ample staff so carrying luggage and dropping guests till the train station is not a problem. My rating: 6/10.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
53
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hie i just made a Solo Trip to matheran. Its just so awesome. Though was a lil difficult to get a room in any hotel, as they feel its risky to accept singles, because of suicide fashion recent generation has made. lolz!!!

I went to Richie Rich resort and stayed for 3 days 2 nights... I went in an off season making me very comfortable and less crowded.. and perfect weather to njoy. :D.

If you people really want to njoy the complete Trip then do not use any means of Transport except for if Horse riding is your interest. Walk all the way from the entrance right to the top where u reach the market.

Well shopping is not much to do here. Awesome weather is the best thing to enjoy. 0% Pollution really makes you feel energetic. Well not many places are left out being 0% Pollution.

There are certain tourist spot really worth visiting. The view and scenery really recharges you with Confidence and New creative ideas. Me being into Creative field really love to observe nature and i truly get inspired by it.

NOTE: This place is full of Red Natural Mud so it is advised to carry shorts and used old shoes so that you can throw them away lolz ;) well this was just to inform that you may dirty your clothes so wear accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

we family of 6 been here for 2 days to celebrate my dad's 6oth birth day in month of may 2011. we have booked this place from their office im mumbai. Matheran it self is a very beautifull place and If I am not mistaken than it world's only hill station where there is no vehicle allowed, so no honking no traffic and you can just be relax.

now for hotel Richie Rich, it is rally very good place to stay. rooms wer good. we had booked new rooms which is recently renovated. it has good Varanda for all rooms. hotel is not very big but its good. swimming pool is small. they serve only Veg food, wich is mouth watering.

morning breakfast was at pool site, which was good expirience .
staff was very polite and always there to help you if u want some thing.
we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Guys, we just been back from Matheran (3-5th July'11). We would advice one thing to visit Matheran in this off season. DO NOT BOOK UR RESOT IN ADVANCE for mainly two reasons:
1. Not all hotels/resorts are well maintained in off season (monsson).
2. You will get ample discount and bargain when you negotiate with hotel on the spot (upto 20-30%)

We looked into RIchie RIch Resort which is now knows as Adomo Resort. Rooms (A/c) are like servant room, v small, smelling like anything. Property is maintained v badly. swimming pool is ok. I would advice do not take up this room even if you get v good deal.
Matheran is must visit to enjoy the off season discount and most impoertant b'ful climate with v less people...thoda hatke....
Have a happy holidays...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is probably one of the better places to stay when one arrives at matheran, although pretty expensive as compared to the standard and the qulity of services provided. This resort is right in the main market which is advantegeous as one can reach matheran only after a long walk / long toy train journey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had been to this place from 17th May to 20th may 2011 for our hony moon purpose .
It was a very good experiance to spend time in hotel .
Everything is manage very nice also food quality is excelant ,nice & cooprative staff.
Rooms are too good & clean .
It is very convinient from railway station .
i would like to suggest every new member going 1 st time in matheran to stay in this hotel you feel beteer as compaired to other.
Me & my wife decided whenever we go there we syay in the RICHE RICH HOTEL .
It is permanat place to for our family in matheran .
Regards,
Sagar Birari ( Nashik)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surat
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Very good location in centre of matheran,having all view points at walkable distance.
As no auto vehicle allowed in matheran ; this kind of stay very comfortable for moving on ourself.
Rooms are very spacious with greater room service.
Facility of hot water,swimming pool,TV, Ac are good.
Very tasty unlimited breakfast was great attrection for us.
food & snacks were having great taste.
Resort is having ups backup very useful incase of frequent power cut offs but power failure is somewhat trouble some as AC do not work on UPS.
Toilets & Bathrooms are spacious giving neat & clean experience.
It is very much delightful to have all these in a affordable package.
Staff is hospitable.As service charge is included in package; staff do not expect any kind of tip or money from us. But If someone wants to give any tip; then it will be accounted for all staff of resort.Tips to single members of staff not allowed.This makes tourist a nuisancefree stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adamo The Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.