We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in Matheran (May 2013)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa to your Saves list
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vitthalrao Kotwal Road, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation in Matheran (May 2013)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Matheran has a unique problem , a good one though , when it comes to the choices of hotels and the quality and amenities that are available. Almost all hotels are old properties converted to hotels. The cost of construction is simply sky high due to no vehicles policy in Matheran. Everything is transported on man pushed carts , horse backs and human porters. It is a stark reminder on how much human sweat n effort is gone in every bit of things we use there.

The hotel has good compact campus with varying sized rooms. The inside common areas and building lobby bears an old property establishment look which some people love it.

The location of hotel is very close to railway station and central part of matheran , making easy access to all trails in any directions. The market is about 2 mins walk , yet away from noise.
The staff was courteous despite being summer rush and helpful to listen to us and make tie ups for our trail - sightseeing needs

The beds in the room need to be of better quality.

The small pool is clean and is favorite for kids and adults alike , after a hot afternoon sight seeing. Frequent visits by troop of monkeys near pool side and sitting on patio walls.

The food is the biggest plus point. All meals were delicious and did not make you feel heavy / bloated.

The DJ is good to keep you entertained in the eves.

The checkin checkout process is smooth. housekeeping was ok.

The spa & massage staff is bright spot in their service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    33
    14
    24
See reviews for
92
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virar, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have visited Horseland Hotel between 16th to 18th May, 2013. It was a very nice experience. The food was too excellent. The cook even served the menu to my 3 year old daughter which was not available in their buffet. I really thank them for that and I really appreciate this. This hotel also gives car facility from Dastur to our home. This was really helped us to reach home within short period of time.

But, during my stay, I observed that the furniture like cupboards / dressing table in the room were not in good working conditions. If the hotel would have taken our feedback before leaving, I would have suggested the same in the feedback form.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Returned yest from our visit. Gr8 place, gr8 food, but best of all gr8 people. If the kids were not in the pool or playing TT/badminton, they were feeding ducks, enjoying free pony rides, participating in drawing competitions or watching puppet shows, amazing magic shows or dancing. Not too far from the market. In fact when 1 of the kids got hurt, the hotel staff escorted us to the doc and constantly assisted us. (Warning for parents - do not let your kids interact unescorted with the uncouth game host)

Room Tip: The super deluxe rooms are a good choice. Do not leave wet pool clothes on the railing to dry...monk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had been to this place in April 2013. The hotel is good it has a decent swimming pool, in the evening they have entertainment programmes. Not far from the market. We would like to come back to this place again.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great place to stay n Food awesome.............Had fun with friends.
Staff were cooperative..Swimming pool is good and the view from the balcony overlooking the pool is good....
Hotel has facilities like Swimming Pool, Indoor Games, Small Garden for Children to play, Disco in evening etc....Family or Friends.... I would recommend this hotel.............

ENJOYED....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We along with our 3 year old son stayed here for 2 nights in on 11 and 12 Jan 2013...Found the place to be awesome with Hotel located exactly in the middle of the market ( few meters inside though) and at 5 minutes walkable distance from Railway Station. Rooms, Hotel premise etc were in prefect conditions..Best part is their in-house activies..They conduct activities like housie, Magic shows,Disco etc which is fun...We won two night free stay in those games which we gave to my friend who visited the place last week and they too had a great stay...Horses stands just outside Hotel which is convenient for visiting various points of Matheran..Reception and room service was excellent..Monkeys irritates you sometimes but that problem is everywhere in Matheran..There is nice play area for kids where my 3 year old son enjoyed a lot..Swimming pool was nice too...For the price paid, it was real value for money..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very good stay in this hotel. It has a nice pool and also a small pool for the kids. The rooms are nice and clean with a balcony. The only problem is there are lot of monkeys so have to be careful. In the evening there are nice activities like housie, games for adults and children and disco. The staff is cooperative and provide with good service. The hotel is very near to the main market and also matheran station. Overall a very good plce to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Address: Vitthalrao Kotwal Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseland Hotel and Mountain Spa is the beautiful resort in Matheran.Among all the hotels in Matheran, Horseland Hotel and mountain spa stands out for its spacious rooms,impeccable service and excellent food!Matheran is a great place for a weekend getaway and the resort provides the setting for a perfect family holiday in Matheran.The Mountain Spa is set amidst natural beautiful surroundings, you bask in nature in its purest and undisturbed form.Although set in an environ so rustic you are never separated from the luxuries and comforts of modern facilities which nourish and pamper your every individual need.Enjoy pure luxury with latest SPA facilities and wellness, all under one roof, breathe fresh air, experience the joy of living with nature, get pampered by our specialists and then return to everday life, refreshed and rejuvenated.Horseland Resort is the perfect get-away for friends and family longing to experience the serenity of long walks-ways, lush greens and lazy evenings. Offering scrumptious cuisine, spectacular views, enviable rooms and comfort like you have never experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Matheran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.