We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world Charm !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah in the Forest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Verandah in the Forest
Save
You added The Verandah in the Forest to your Saves list
Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Delhi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Old world Charm !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Verandah in the forest or Barr house as it is called is one of the best kept secrets. Away from the noise and hustle bustle of tourists, it has a very old world charm. Very serene, peaceful, beautiful...You can just soak into the nature and listen to the birds sing...Very nice and well located hotel although away from the main market place...It is an ideal place for romantic getaway.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    104
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
118
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I have been complete Neemrana fans...and The Verandah in the jungle made sure that we continue to be!
Right from the refreshing welcome drinks (which are a must owing to the one hour walk from Dastoori) till the last bite of the lavish dinner, this place could not have been anymore welcoming!
The rooms with their high ceilings, the long armchairs, the verandah and the garden below take you back in time. All the basic needs are taken care of. The meals are simple but tasty. Lunch is an Indian speak in the porch and the dinner is served in a 5course meal in the gorgeous dining room (which by the way is candle lit)
Squirrels and monkeys keep one entertained, and if thats not enough, the local magician comes by to tickle you with his tricks!
The shy yet attentive nature of the staff makes the entire stay very comfortable.They are very polite, helpful and try to ensure that you have your meals (even if you slept in late ;) ).

I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Property - A huge english style bungalow with several rooms opening onto a large Verandah. The old english architecture with very high ceiling, roof tiles etc take you a century back into the history.

Location - Located some 3-4 km away from the central market area of Matheran town, close to some of the viewing points.

Food - Decent simple food served in old British Raj fashion.

Service - Good

Activities - Reading, Carrom etc

Other entertainment - Monkeys roaming around the place offer a lot of entertainment, especially to children.

Who should visit - Those desiring a leisurely, slow paced holiday, spending time in the jungle surrounding going for strolls on nature trails etc.



Rates - Premium

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We've been to Matheran before, and had stayed at Lord's Hotel which was lovely. For our second trip we chose Verandah which was a wonderful experience in terms of the rooms, the fabulous food, and the lovely verandah but the management was some of the worst I've experienced in my travels. Rude, uninvolved, uninformed - it made for a very bad start when we were checking in and put a bit of a negative spin on the overall trip. I emailed the Neemrana Hotels to share this with them (before posting a negative review here) but never heard back from them which is not a good indicator when in the hospitality business. I have since checked with them on availability for a future trip and the company rep was curt and almost rude in his responses. It's really very unfortunate because the property itself is wonderful, the chef is fabulous, but the management puts a damper on the overall experience and this seems to be a top down issue considering the non-responsiveness of the hotel chain and the poor customer service manners of the reservations/inquiry reps.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

this is one of the best hotels we stayed during our short trips. the ambiance of this hotel & the area surrounding was amazing. best place to stay for a long leisure trip. it has a old jungle mahal flavor with all the well maintained antic type furniture & interior. Rooms were really specious with well decorated furniture & attire. morning breakfast was good & tasty, though there wasn't many options. Only problems we noticed that no stuffs were present after dinner for any emergencies, also no service at night so pack your own snack if you need anything after dinner.
we will definitely visit this place again & will recommend everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This hotel is owned by the Neemrana Group, which restores old buildings as hotels. We have now stayed at a number of Neemrana's hotels and each and every one has the same problem, including Verandah. The properties have generally been well restored (albeit this one was clearly done some years ago and could do with another update) but there's absolutely no thought or investment in the hotel and service post restoration.

Arrival: If you arrive by car, you are dropped on the edge of Matheran which is 5km on rocky paths from hotel. The kind of information that might be useful for the hotel to tell quests when they make a booking! Alternatively I would have expected a service whereby a hotel rep would meet you and help you fend off the douzens of porters that hassle people at the entrance. There's not. In the end we paid Rs350 for a man pulled cart for our bags and Rs250 for those that wanted to ride a horse to the hotel.

Rooms: The rooms are well restored and nice, though I would warn against staying in the more expensive upstairs rooms. These do not have ceiling fans, instead have old, noisy floor fans and we found it very, very hot. The cheaper downstairs rooms have ceiling fans are are far, far cooler and quieter and have a more private porch. Note, there is no AC in any part of this hotel.

Staff: The manager shows his face fleetingly and the rest of the staff have no authority to do anything and clearly have not been given appropriate training.

Food: Average, especially breakfast. Lunch is Indian buffet and dinner seems to vary between buffet and served and Indian and continental. Note, this hotel does not serve alcohol so if you want a nice G&T etc. then bring your own.

Information: How can a hotel like this not have the likes of local maps and information?! This could be leveled at other Neemrana hotels as well.

Note to parents with young children: Neemrana hotels do not have baby cribs. Even when you call in advance and are told there will be a crib, this is not true. The hotels do not have cribs! We have learnt this the hard way each time we have stayed at a Neemrana property.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The hotel is a wonderful example of what life must have been like in colonial times.
Rooms are really nicely decorated in old Raj style and the place is very near to the charlotte lake.
There isnt much to do in Matheran other than take long walks so take your books along.
Food is little costly but it is good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah in the Forest

Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.