We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Save
You added Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest to your Saves list
Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently stayed in this excellent, quaint, colonial property. The building itself is probably more than 150 years old and is in a good state of repair. There is a lovely verandah surrounding the rooms and a good place to bond with other guests.
Mind you, the property is truly victorian and one would not find modern conveniences such as Air Conditioners, Televisions, Internet or even the Radio! Truly a good place to unwind if one wants to. The place is reasonably clean, considering the orthodox architecture ( double height room ceiling makes it difficult to clean) as well as the Matheran red mud that gets into everything. The service is quietly efficient. Don't expect attendants to jump up at the snap of one's fingers. This is a place to relax and hence: all in good time. One should not hurry.
The hotel provides breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner. The lunch is Indian and the dinner, continental. Being vegetarians, we were a bit vary to have continental food, assuming that there may not be many varieties. However, we had dinner on 3 consecutive nights and the dinner during each of them was a four course meal, which we found excellent. Hats off to the chef ( he is from Rajasthan) for presentation, style and taste. In comparison, the Indian food, served during lunch, was nothing much to write home about, and was the run of the mill, punjabi fare , seen at most buffets.
The attendants are, as previously stated, quietly efficient. All our needs were taken care of and we did not have to remind them for any requests. They keep their distance, but are always available.
Since we had visited the place during April, it did tend to get a bit warm, especially in the afternoons and we found the clutter of pedestal fans all over the place quite unbecoming. Some ceiling fans, reminiscent of the colonial era, would have been nice. The management may consider t introducing some activity or game that would allow some past time or social networking, such as billiards, darts and such. The library needs to be re stocked and most of the magazines were 2-3 years old. The hotel does not offer any Bar facility and beer is the only alcoholic drink available. It would have been great if there was a bar where one could have a drink before dinner or a brandy after. Different types of tea are available during breakfast and tea, but the only coffee available was the instant kind. We had prepared ourselves and had carried our "Filter" and peaberry coffee powder and so had no problem. But it would be nice if some fresh coffee was made available.
We were lucky to have very pleasant and sociable co guests during our stay and our breakfasts and dinners lasted hours after finishing our meal, though there was the odd guest who needed to improve their social skills and graces.
The property was home to monkeys earlier and now, and the monkeys levy a price for our staying there. This could be by taxing a part of your meal or some of your more dazzling fashion assets. One should be careful and keep the door of your room closed at all times as else the monkeys could decide to inspect them.
"The verandah", as the property is commonly known, is situated near the centre of Matheran and hence very convenient to visit the various attractions, mostly in the form of look out points. There are three sets of rooms. One set on the ground level, one on the main floor and two in the back. We found the main floor "Verandah" rooms the most charming since we could mix with the other guests. ( The rooms are used only for the afternoon siesta or during the night) We did not find it noisy as mentioned by other reviewers, probably since the hotel was not fully occupied and possibly due to the absence of children at that time.
We had paid for the entire trip including the meals in advance and the manager informed us that we would not be able to get any refund if one wanted to skip and meal or cut our stay short. It seemed a bit unfair since there were guests, who had not pre booked and paid for their meals in advance, who were asked every morning during breakfast, whether they would be having lunch or dinner.
All in all a good property, efficiently run and with good service. A good place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, the "verandah"rooms are the rooms which we found attractive since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback about The Verandah in the Forest !
Such encouraging words reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into ruined and unused buildings and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and maintain a balance between old world charm and modern amenities to ensure that the past is not completely forgotten; and therefore, as part of our USP, common hospitality practices like room service and televisions in rooms are avoided. The rooms are equipped with minibars and tea and coffee makers for the convenience of the guests.

Your generous compliments about the staff and the food have been conveyed to the Manager and the Chef respectively.

With reference to your feedback on the library, we have added a few bestsellers to the collection. Do let us know if you would have enjoyed reading any specific titles and we shall do the needful.

It is our constant endeavour to improve on our services and such feedback is always welcome as it would help us improve and cater to your requirements more closely.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our other 27 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    118
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
90
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Verandah in the forest for 1 night on 13th April 2014. We were 5 adults & 3 children- & what an experience that was:)
Shankerseth, peerbhoy & jehangir were the rooms we booked.... lovely rooms! Each room was unique in its own way. Peerbhoy opened into the Verandah whereas Shankarsheth was a little more secluded with privacy & a cute little sit out. Jehangir was a huge room with an additional couch & a very pretty dressing area. Truly British! Just perfect for a complete switch off from the hustle & bustle of Mumbai.
Food was also very good. Set menus with Indian cuisine for lunch & continental spread for dinner. Not very elaborate but each dish has a lovely flavour, & ofcourse the ice cream was locally made:)
Service was also good. The staff is prompt & cordial. No ACs, intercoms, televisions in the rooms. Rustic, beautiful & well maintained property. Lovely hammocks, swings & a tree house also make ur stay worth while.
Its a 5km walk from dasturi. But well worth it. The USP was NO mosquitoes despite the dense folliage. The welcome drink was really refreshing(ginger ale)
Its a great place to unwind. A must stay for every Mumbaikar......

Room Tip: The rooms opening into the Veradah are a little more noisier than the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to know that your group had an enjoyable stay in the Shankershet, Peerbhoy, and Jehangir rooms.

The Chef is delighted to receive your positive feedback about the cuisine, including the home-made ice creams and the welcome drink.

Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the Manager and the housekeeping team.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a heavenly stay at the verandah ! Our only regret is that 1 night was way to short ...diner was superbe, the room spotless, great hot shower , stunning surroundings... A little heaven on earth.
If you considder a walk, ask for Imran at reception. We were 2 ladies, went out late afternoon and felt perfectly comfortable with him, even after sunset in the dark woods :-)
Out of my 3,5 week stay in India, my stay at the Verandagh was the highlight of my holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your kind feedback about The Verandah in the Forest.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@nemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Matheran is the most cleanest hill station I have ever been to! It is a drop of dew in the summer's heat & no other place around Mumbai to beat! I am in love with Matheran!! Everything about it is so charming be it the toy train or the small shoe shops or the horse ride & the simple people with much simpler attitude!

In order to explore this beauty of a place, one has to stay a minimum of one night. So my husband & I decided on our first trip that next time when we visit Matheran, we would stay a night. So this time in March on a weekend we decided to avail our one night in Matheran. I looked for the best property in Matheran & found The Verandah at the top of the list! We absolutely made the right choice as it is a gem in the forest.

The Verandah in the forest is run by Neemrana group of hospitality & like all their other properties this ones too a heritage. It is a 19th century property which was the second house to be built up on the isolated Western Ghats by Captain Barr. Hence, till today it is known as the Barr House! It is a little royal treat, nestled in the forests of Matheran. Surrounded by forests from all sides, it is a haven for bird watchers. Blessed by the purest serenity & calm it becomes unbelievable to imagine that something like this exists near Mumbai!

Some of the features that make this property work its charm on you are:

1. Its Location: It is both an advantage & a disadvantage for some. Matheran is a place where one has to walk a lot unless one decides to torture an animal's back or take a human for ride! After reaching Matheran, one has to walk 5-10 mins to the city centre. This property is another good 20-25mins walk from the centre. One can take help from a coolie or take a horse ride. We decided to walk the beautiful rustic pathway filled with the smell of the earth & surrounded by dense forest with monkeys to follow. When we finally arrived at the resort, it was quite a relief to enter a beautiful property like this one. It felt home, just more luxurious & more sophisticated.

2. The Rooms: The rooms transported me to an old world charm. The decor, every piece of furniture had a story to tell. The rooms were huge with a changing area & a bathroom with a mix of the old & the contemporary. I always wanted to stay in a portuguese style house in Goa but where ever I looked, it was way over my budget. All my desires were finally fulfilled at The Verandah! The long hall way, colossal corridors, enormous drawing room with tinted glass, had a touch of luxury, sophistication & lure. I felt like extending my stay by a week!

3. The Food: The food is buffet style with Indian for lunch & continental for dinner. INR 500/person for lunch & INR600/person for dinner. We had lunch at the resort which was good but could be better.

4. The Service: It is a hill station & people are bound to have a little laid back attitude. The service was a little slow but we didn't mind as we were there to relax & chill. What we appreciated was the way the staff handled our query. They were well informed, polite, simple people with a will & eagerness to help. Thats all that matters!

5. The Tariff: For the kind of property in such an awesome location, the price is perfect! It has 3 categories of room. All are excellent. I suggest the ones in the basement with a view of the garden & a swing, a ping pong table & a watch tower kind of thing overlooking the rooms.

6. The Shop: It has a tiny fancy shop with aesthetically selected items for sale. I love to shop in a forest!

The resort also provide facility of a porter for carrying luggage for a cost. In order to book a room one should book in advance as it is almost always full! I must say that we had an amazing time in the Verandah, with the two of us spending quality time, with no interference, not even a network in the mobile! With fond memories we came back only to pledge to return soon.

Thanks for reading. Be a responsible traveller.

Room Tip: Choose the forest room behind the laundry near the shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your appreciation about the décor has been conveyed to the Chairman.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm service to the team. We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the services and facilities offered.

With reference to your feedback about a Portuguese-style house in Goa, we would recommend considering Neemrana’s Cabana Dempo Noble Home which offers better value for money to our clients. This ancestral 19th century home of the Dempo family of Goa, is an intimate beach bungalow which almost owns its waters. It is a rare bungalow literally located on the secluded Siridao beach, 50 meters from the water. Its quiet, idyllic setting by a fishing village offers an insight into their lifestyle and is a great option for those looking for peaceful villas in Goa away from the commercial hustle and bustle of the city.

We thank you for your patronage to the Neemrana brand in India and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved our stay at the Verandah in the Forest - its in a beautiful location in the middle of the forest and is the perfect antidote to living in Mumbai. We were a 3 generation family with 2 children aged 9 and 7 and we loved the fact that there were no TV's in the rooms and that there was no signal for mobile phones! Bliss....it meant time spent playing table tennis with the kids, going for walks, playing games, watching the monkeys, feeding the dogs and just generally enjoying the our time - the days were longer and we slept well. We loved the old heritage property that has been brought back to life and the dinner by candlelight at a long dining table was a lovely toouch. The journey to and fom the car park by horseback was ultra special too, so relaxing and the horses we had were beatifully behaved and well kept.. Matheran is a perfect destination to get away from it all - and we will be back.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms, which we thought were probably a little quieter as they don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to read about your experience at The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the ‘non-hotel’ hotel experience.

It is only the initiated traveller that is able to appreciate true authenticity. Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is placed in the heart of the forest and it is very quiet and the scenery is amazing. It is an very old place, but very well maintained. The room we stayed in was pretty big and clean. This is the best place to go if you want to get away from all the madness of a big city. They have a big garden with swings and hammocks where you can relax reading your paper or your book.
The staff is very friendly and their food is pretty good. They serve breakfast, Indian lunch and to our surprise very good continental dinner :).
The hotel is placed about 20 mins walking from the train station, which is not that good if you have luggage with you. There are options of hiring a pony or a horse and even a person to carry all the luggage for you, but if you are a foreigner you should be careful as they try to hike the price quite a bit.
Overall I will highly recommend this place to everyone. It is not easy to get rooms so one should book well in advance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest.

We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the location and the surrounding greenery of the property.

Your appreciation about the maintenance has been conveyed to the housekeeping team.

Your compliments about the food and the service are a huge motivator for the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing stays !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A beautiful and serene place to stay hidden in the midst of a forest and the singing and chirping of birds. The staff very friendly and helpful. The candle lit dinner not to be missed both for the atmosphere, service and the food preparation. The mulligatawny soup was excellent. This is the place to stay when in Matheran.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we receive your positive feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

The Chef and the service team are pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the cuisine and the service.

Do venture out to any of the 28 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility. Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.