We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Advnture!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Save
You added Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest to your Saves list
Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Advnture!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

First off...my wife is an absolute fan of Neemrana properties. That's exactly why we chose 'Vereandah in the Forest' to spend our weekend at in Matheran.
Good food and a shop stuffed with memorabilia one can buy to journey back into the time they spent at the place.

Now here's the shocker. Besides average hospitality, if you intend to venture out to the market and plan to come back by 2100-2130(which is what most tourists do), the obvious question you'll have in your mind for the staff is, "Is it safe to come back by say 9-930, given that the property is in the middle of the forest?"

Guess what the unsuspecting revellers will be told by three different wait staff,"Absolutely!!"

Funny that you believe them and set out! On your way back, to your amazement you find out that there is a tract atleast a little short of a kilometer that has no lights and is all pitch dark. You can't even see your own shadow. Now that's a party! That's not at all. There are dogs that can chase the daylights out of you and your wife(in pitch dark, they look like hyenas!) , who is left palpitating and chased into the wrong bunglow!

When you get back to the WOW proporty(sarcasm), you'll have morose, bored waitstaff to (not)greet you. They live there and guests are in interruption in their daily routine it seems(funny that the guests only frequent this place on the weekend. Is the staff so pampered and lazy???)

When you narrate the incident, the manager tells you that he is only 8 days old at the place!!!!!!!!!

He gets some senior who then says he's sorry(Awwww ....so heartwarming)

Then you choose to sleep off your not warranted adventure, and say to yourself that with Buddha like calm you'll leave the next day.

You are ready to take off, when the manager comes over to you in the morning and hands over a sheet of paper which reads-Friend of Neemrana...10percent discount on the tariff the next time around!!!!! "I am so glad man! Love your generosity(sarcasm again)."

So here's what I propose to the manager-"invest the ten percent that you'll have me save in fixing the bulbs to light up the path and training your guys to hand a torch over to unsuspecting tourists when they ask you if it's safe to walk back down to your property by 9-930."

We are back home. My wife has an upset stomach. She has had to call in sick for two days, and I'm squandering my time writing about the trip, or should I say warning a few:)

Gurpreet Kalra....checked into Shankershet room on Feb 1 2014

Room Tip: get the one in the back of the verandah if you want no noise at all...ones that muffle the verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Kalra,

Thank you for your message and your continued patronage to Neemrana Hotels.

We are extremely sorry to learn about your experience at The Verandah in the Forest and have investigated the same in detail.

Although the Manager of the property was on leave during your visit and another senior personnel was in-charge of operations, we are extremely sorry for the trouble faced.

Please be assured that the entire team at the property has been sensitised and given the requisite instructions and training to ensure that the same feedback does not recur in the future. This should never have been the case. We do hope that you will give us an opportunity to make this up to you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    118
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
90
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Verandah in the Forest offers typical Neemrana hospitality --- Impeccable service with great food (even in the forest!) by a very friendly and efficient staff.
All rooms look good. We stayed in the Elphinstone suite. The unit is at the edge of the massive colonial bungalow and has two rooms with covered sit-out and reading areas with fitting furniture.
The main-bedroom is huge with high ceiling and colonial arch windows, preserving the charm of the Raj days.
The hotel offers buffet lunch (Indian) and dinner (continental), one can also order snacks from an ala carte menu. We had only the Indian buffet on a glinting dining table, long enough to seat an army!
And the kitchen staff lovingly dished out one of the best caramel custard we had so to complete the dinner.
(Food in all the Neemrana hotels I have stayed so far have been memorable)


Now Some must Dos & Don'ts
The property is located near the Charlotte Lake, a walk in the morning on the opposite side of the barrage is a must.
Try to go on weekdays if possible to avoid a crowded Matheran. We were the only guest (in the hotel) on a Friday and the solitude was an experience in itself.
There is no bar facility available, carry your liquor.
If you are going out at night, carry a torch as the street lights are not very dependable and it gets dark as pitch after sunset.
Try to explore Matheran in the morning, before the day-tourists arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana brand in India.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Elphinstone suite at The Verandah in the Forest. Your appreciation about the efficient service and the cuisine has been conveyed to the Manager and the Chef.

While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Verandah is the Forest if very aptly named.. its away form the crowds and offers a refuge from the humdrum of routine life. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.. very high ceilings which i loved! The best part about the hotel though was having our meals at the large table with candle light at times because of power outages. Meals come at an additional cost but its so worth it, because the food was delicious! There isn't much else to do on the property which is something they may want to look into. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay, but I don't think it equated to the amount we spent on the room. A matter of perspective, I suppose

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback has filled our hearts with gratitude, as it completes the whole cycle which our restoration of ruined properties begins !

It is heartening to learn that you had a peaceful stay at the property and thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef.

The Verandah offers an intimate library, various indoor games and a table tennis facility for recreation. Further, there are a range of local excursions that help our guests unwind and rediscover themselves. Guests can stroll down to Charlotte Lake or take longer walks with a picnic basket to the various look-out points.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice and cozy hotel though in the night it can be a bit scary. All rooms are good. The food is great. Rooms remind you of the rich culture and heritage of the province. The best time to go is during the monsoons.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay and thoroughly enjoyed the decor and ambience.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the monsoon season !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the title says it all. verandah in the forest is a quaint 19th century bungalow that's away from the hustle and bustle of central matheran. and when i say, it's away, i mean it's a good 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town. you won't hear a thing. not even the sound the of your cellphone buzzing. chances are your cell network will be gasping for breath at the verandah in the forest.

it's perfect if you just want to cut off from city life and relax or work on a project without anyone disturbing you. the staff is friendly and non-intrusive. but are there to help you out if you need anything.

they have a smaller gazebo in a corner of the bungalow that's perfect for group brainstorming sessions. you'll only have the occasional curious monkey dropping in from time to time.

the rooms were large and steeped in history with paintings by british generals and indian soldiers adorning the walls. the beds were soft and comfortable.

though i had one peeve about the rooms. the toiletries that were offered were the normal run-of-the-mill kind that you find in small, dingy hotels. it would probably have been nice if there were some natural or herbal products.

step out and you step into clean and well kept gardens. they could do with a bit of grooming though.

if you are the outdoorsy kind. there are many points like charlotte lake, echo point, panorama point and a host of other points around that you can walk to. and if walking is a problem, the good guys at the hotel can also arrange a horse for you to trot around.

all in all, we had a nice stay. with just the monkeys and our thoughts for company.

Room Tip: all the rooms are fairly large and spacious. and if you come from a place like mumbai and are not us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property.

You will be pleased to learn that majority of the team is from the local area and has been empowered by Neemrana to run their local heritage with pride. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to them.

We are surprised to receive your feedback about the toiletries as these are well accepted and liked by our clientele. In fact, in the recent past some guests have requested for additional Neemrana soaps and toiletries after checking out.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A perfect place to enjoy within family away from todays world. Nice location, good view and one of the nicest choice to enjoy weekends near the nature and many important view points like sunset point, charlotte lake etc .

Room Tip: Get good sport shoes before you plan for matheran. Prefer jungle view and if on honeymoon, ask suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable family getaway at the property and were able to discover the nearby areas too.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here last year, but am reviewing it now since I just joined TripAdvisor.

The Verandah in the Forest is a beautiful property. It's located away from the major 'touristy' hotels and the market area. Consequently if you like your holidays to be peaceful and surrounded by lush forest-like greenery you'll be a very satisfied person just with the location. A major plus is that it's located very close to all the major view points and lake Charlotte. In fact even a stroll lands you in the woodlands or nooks with breath-taking views.

Add to this the fact that the hotel itself has impeccable service. The staff is unobtrusive and very polite. I also found a guide book to Matheran in the living room which helped a lot.

The property itself is so quaint and retro-chic. It used to be a Parsi bungalow and no modern amenities like televisions and ACs have been added to ruin the charm. If you're looking for entertainment in the form of televisions or partying, you couldn't possibly land up in a worse place. But if it's serenity and a love of nature that you're after, you'll be delighted.

We stayed in the Kotwal room and highly recommend it. It's slightly detached from the house proper and has two beds in all.

Before I end my review, I must add a word for the food. We had dinner twice and lunch once there. And the lunch was pretty ordinary but the dinner were fabulous. Yes, they are expensive but they are very good. We ate at candle lit ling wood table, and we had the entire dinning room to ourselves the first night; to this day it remains a memorable meal for me.

All in all, this is the place where I have such great memories that I'll always want to return!

Room Tip: I recommend Kotwal since we stayed there, but all of them are good. Pick one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback about The Verandah in the Forest has filled our hearts with gratitude, as it completes the whole cycle which our restoration of ruined properties begins !

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Kotwal room.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality and the service has been conveyed to the Manager and the team. The Chef is pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience.

While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.