We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most satisfying stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah in the Forest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Verandah in the Forest
Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Matheran
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most satisfying stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We planned for a monsoon visit to Matheran but wanted a place to ourselves without the mad rush of weekend revellers and while searching stumbled upon Barr House of Mathern on net.After smooth online booking we reached on 23rd June after a half an hour walk through dense vegetation and broken sometimes muddy but walkable road.Guests can opt for horse or hand pulled carts from matheran station as well. From the moment we reached the resort, we were pampered.The Barr house is delightful in itself and as we stood on that long verandah smiling within ourselves about the choice we have made,welcome drinks welcomed us & then we were shown to our room. We had asked for the best room and allotted the room named Petit . All the rooms open on the long verandah and petit I believe gives the best view right from the window.The rooms are tastefully done with beautiful paintings and old pictures of Petit Family. The sheets were ordinary and would have loved to see something better in that though i also believe that they must be keeping in view the entire feel of the resort. The room was equipped with furniture to give colonial feel , including an old dressing mirror and table (that was my favourite and i stopped using the new clean mirror ;-))...The most commendable part of this resort is the cleanliness and maintenance of the furniture..not a speck of dust anywhere.Dining in Verandah is an experience in itself.On first day the Continental menu made us apprehensive but we had to eat our words the food was absolutely tasty and unforgettable.Even the couple from NewZealand who were staying there at that time discussed and appreciated the food amongst themselves..not to mention the unobtrusive service of the people waiting on us...the long dinning table had candelabra which was lit during eating ...it was absolutely an experience in itself.The Verandah is also equipped with a exquisitely done common sitting room cum library which is well equipd with board games and books as well as provisions for enjoying music(sufiana, western classics, operas, instrumentals).The entire resort is sprawled over a large area covered with trees and walk within the resort was enough for us and we never left the resort for sight seeing although close to points like charlotte lake and echo point.Each room has a sit out arrangement and can relish the buffet lunch and breakfast in privacy.Guests in ground floor have to come to first floor for buffet services.Lucky is the couple or family who gets to experience downpour during the stay and hear the rain drops beating on the really high roof lying in the colonial cot with beadsteads or relaxing in deck chairs. I was delighted that Mr.Manager could give me the historical details of Barr House and the details of change of ownership and even provided me a book on Historu of Matheran.

Negatives : There was no negative in the resort in itself.It is absolutely beautiful experience. Only problem was mobile network but the accommodative, polite manager of the resort (I am extremely sorry for not noting down his name when i could have. ) offered the land line and net access to call my parents and office.
Since all the front first floor rooms open on the long Verandah , people/groups can be heard during lunch and breakfast and in cases of inconsiderate groups the noise can be bothersome and be a sleep spoiler.management should try to ask these groups to keep their voices low, though it might be a tough job i believe.
Suggestion : Neemrana should try to give a small write up of the history of the property to the guests to make the thrill of staying in old property more complete.Lots of people for ex would like to know who Capt Barr was , what happened to him and how the property changed hands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are please to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Petit room. Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the housekeeping team that strives hard to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible.

We have also conveyed your appreciation about the Continental cuisine and the dining experience to the Chef, the Manager the service team.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
62
109
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my 4th visit to this wonderful hotel - I guess that says it all!

The VITF is not just a beautiful hotel with quaint and charming rooms, but in the monsoons, there's a bit of magic around the place. For some reason at the VITF I sleep sounder, and longer, than in any other place, and wake up totally refreshed. Perhaps its the mist rolling up the mountainside, or the refreshing cups of neemrana tea, or the huge and beautiful trees surrounding the hotel, or the absence of television and (mostly) no cellphone network - it all goes to make a calm and soothing environment for the harried and blackberry-toting Mumbaikar.

The cuisine is outstanding, too! I'm usually not fond of continental food, but here, it just melts in the mouth, and seems to complete the picture of pre-independence colonial living.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the front fo the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef.

We truly value your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and my husband had been wanting to get away from the city for a break from quiet a long time..and as we were looking for options, a friend posted pictures of their recent visit to Verandah.. Looking at the pictures i felt the place is calling for us! And immediately i made reservations.

If you truly want to enjoy nature and can not afford to take a week long holiday, than this place is your destination. It was an amzingly refreshing and rejuvenating weekend getaway.

You will have an opportunity to have breakfast & lunch sitting amongst the clouds literally!

The best part is they are close to some of the site seeing points. But, the walk from Dasturi/ Matheran Junction to this place really tires you up.

The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are beautiful & cozy furnished with all amenities. No ac, no TV (you won't even miss them).

The food quality was good, though the spread was not lavish (no complains). I have not seen any hotel or restaurant serving such authentic rajma chawal. They serve English Dinner in the evening. We were served very well by "Dharmendra".

The only minor gripe is mobile connectivity becomes a challenge, can't help it, in today's day & age we are addicted to our cell phones.

Reaching there can appear to be a slight challenge, but once you are there you will not even want to go out.

Just sit out in the Verandah and relish the cup of chai and catch up on conversations that the TV has killed in city!


We checked in on Sunday, and checked out on Monday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the Manager and the team. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the service and the cuisine to the personnel concerned.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable weekend getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We travelled during the monsoons, the perfect time to visit Matheran. Matheran is always awesome and Verandah was the icing on the cake. We stayed in Peerbhoy and loved the room. The ambience of Verandah makes you feel like royalty, four course candle light dinner, amazing breakfast. What I loved the most was the sound of rain on tin roof, that is awesome. Highly recommended, take the package with Dinner. The loud groups spoil the charm of Verandah, but cant do much about them.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opening towards Verandah....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in the Peerbhoy room.

Your compliments about the dining experience have been conveyed to the Chef and the entire team.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the monsoon season at Neemrana and look forward to welcoming you back in the other seasons.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandi gobindgarh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

verandah is around 1 hour nature walk from parking. it is a very quiet property away from mall road. The food though fixed menu was very good. the old look rooms are also impressive. Service was also good. Matheran just being 2 hour drive from Mumbai is a good relaxing place. if you do not mind compromising on swimming pool, spa or other amenities then Verandah is a nice place to relax. we also enjoyed board games

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef and his team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm and efficient service to the service team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you go to Matheran to get away from the hustle bustle of the city, this is the place to be. Well maintained property at a far away location. We went as a large group and booked all of their suites. The people who work there are really nice and accommodating. It's a little far from the market so we ended up eating dinner at the hotel. Great continental food was served in their formal dining room. Overall, it was an excellent stay. Oh, another icing on the cake, while checking out, ran into Anurag Basu, he was checking in. Pretty cool, huh!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team at Matheran.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the continental cuisine to the Chef and his team.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Verandah is an awesome getaway location with one being completely cut off from technology :)So if you happen to be a type of person who likes getting away from tv / mobile /internet for a few days and get into a cacoon of your own, this is the place to be in matheran ! Its a well maintained heritage property away from the hustle bustle of the main market. While in matheran one can enjoy the pristine beauty (as construction is sorta banned in matheran) and horse rides. One has to walk a lot while in matheran but amid the quiet and beautiful surroundings , it is worth while . A 2 night stay is more than sufficient to stay in matheran . And if you plan to visit matheran , it has to be none other than the beautiful and quiet verandah ! A good time to visit matheran would be a month or two after monsoon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property.

Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah in the Forest

Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Verandah in the Forest to your Saves list