We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACK TO THE 19th CENTURY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Save
You added Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest to your Saves list
Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“BACK TO THE 19th CENTURY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A verandah is defined in the OED as "Open roofed portico or gallery along side of house".

The Verandah in the Forest (TVIF benceforth) is exactly that . Lovingly restored , a 19th century bungalow with a trellised balcony has been converted into an unique heritage hotel by the Neemrana Group at Matheran, a hill station in Maharashtra.

It is only the second house built in the isolated Western Ghats by Cape Barr in that period to serve as a retreat to the Britishers to escape from the heat of the plains.It is now a popular heritage hotel in Matheran, and part of the experience is getting there by road from Pune or Mumbai to Neral,and onwards by a 77-year old toy train or on horseback !

The rooms at TVIF are all tastefully appointed with period furniture and there are 11 rooms imaginatively named after Parsi families - Petit,Chenoy,Kotwal and Peerbhoy - and there is
even one in the turret named - guess what - Elphinstone.

Breakfast is included while lunch and dinner is separately accounted for. All mod cons exist
and the peace and quiet is well worth the journey.

Apart from the Charlotte Lake, the only other activities consist of walking,trekking,horse riding and valley gazing.

A couple of nights at TVIF and one is transported back to a different era and a different lifestyle - and returns to the mundane life of today refreshed and madeover,

Room Tip: Each room has its own ambience and charm. Maybe even a family ghost ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the rooms and the ambience of the property have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the restoration team.

It is heartening to learn that you were able to rejuvenate at the property and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    118
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
90
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The property is right at the end of the main town/market, so expect a long long walk from Dasturi Naka, which is the car drop point. It would make sense to take a horse or 'doli' to get here. The plus is that once you reach, you are away from the crowd right in the middle of wilderness.

Come here for rooms with an earthy elegance:antique furniture, sunlit red bathrooms and sheer block printed curtains. The verandah is really the piece de resistance. It overlooks the forest and you can choose to either sit around a marble topped table or sprawl out on one of the many plantation chairs. All you can hear is the sound of silence, broken intermittently by the chirping of birds.

Breakfast is basic but good: bread with eggs, an Indian breakfast like poha, a selection of jams, cereal & milk. Lunch is simple Indian fare. Dinner is a fancy continental multi course affair at a candle-lit 24 seater table. After dinner you can choose to sack out in the huge hall on one of the cosy sofas and ask for some freshly made coffee. If you're staying here longer and are looking for variety, walk over to Gujarat Bhavan, about 20 mins away by foot, for simple yet delicious Gujju thalis.

Since we were here on our fourth trip to Matheran, the idea was to just spend time relaxing rather than point hopping. The Verandah turned out to be just perfect for lounging, reading and going on strolls into the forest nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor which open into the verandah are highly recommended. Pick Peerbhoy, Kot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience and have conveyed your compliments to the team. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Thank you for choosing The Verandah in the Forest for a quiet, weekend getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Six friends spent a weekend in late October at the Verandah.
Overall: A great destination for a quick weekend to unwind.

The old bungalow takes you back in time.
The rooms are well restored and very comfortable, there are no TVs, phones or fancy bathroom fitting, which I think is perfect. Dinner is served in a big communal dining room with candles. The whole place reminded me of an Army Mess (for those who can know what I'm talking about). We stayed Peerbhoy, there weren't any photos so we weren't sure of the room but it was great. I've added a few photos.

Far away from the crowds.
Rooms were available a week before we travelled. There were just 4-6 other people at the hotel during our stay. The hotel is tucked away from the crowds of noisy tourists and the constant stream of hawkers.

Good food and service.
The food is served as a buffet, most of the dishes were pretty good. The staff were polite.

For more info and photos see my blog http://www.phototrippin.in/blog

Room Tip: For a couple the Peerbhoy was a nice room. The others are just bigger with seating areas which to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Peerbhoy room.

Your compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the team in Matheran.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The verandah is an ideal quite getaway for those who are allergic to vehicular traffic and the baggage they bring.
We went during the monsoons, so the rooms were a bit damp.
With the actual manager being absent the property was on temporary management by the Kitchen incharge.
Food quality, taste and service was First Class.
No one however warns you of the trip you need to make from the car park to the town/property.
During monsoons the train does not ply.
So you have to take either the horses or the pull carts. We made our way up by horses while it was raining cats and dogs during the evening hours. So the experience was very exciting to say the least. Though not for the faint hearted.
Our way back was more normal with our son safely sitting in the pull cart with luggage while we trekked back.
Do request the verandah management to arrange a porter and appropriate travel for you. Cause it was a surprise for us.
It could cost a family anywhere between 800-1000 for a one way trip.
Monkeys are the other animals to watch out for. Although the boys were on vigil.
Overall very relaxing,a minor issue with hot bathing water not withstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

With reference to your feedback, please note that the Manager of the property was on leave during your visit. However, our team is well trained to run their local heritage with pride.

Your compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

With reference to your feedback about the lack of information, the tariff page of the hotel website mentions the details about the journey from Dasturi to Matheran. Nevertheless we shall ensure that adequate information is provided going forth.

Since there is a solar heating system at the property, sometimes it takes time for the water to heat up. The note in the bathroom explains the system. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here in Oct 2012. This was my first visit to Matheran. The good things about the hotel first:
Pros:
1. Location is perfect. It is a nice structure, built in 1852 (supposedly the 2nd oldest building in Matheran) away from the noise and dust of the marketplace and in the middle of the forest (as the name "verandah in the forest" nicely captures). Rooms are big with high ceilings, bathrooms are of the scale I have not seen since my younger days.
2. Food is quite good. Nothing outlandish, just good old stuff done well. Breakfast, Lunch and tea is served outdoors while dinner is served in a large 20 seater dining room. I was a bit uncomfortable sitting with lots of strangers on the dinner table but the experience was fine. The breakfast and tea is on the house while lunch and dinner cost 500+taxes per meal per person... a bit on the high side for the spread on offer. Where there is food there are monkeys. Lots of them around but the management has thoughtfully posted a monkey watcher (yes!!, I'm not joking) all set for the slightest hint of a monkey attack armed with a catapult and rough pebbles
3. Good furniture; I liked the high solid beds in the room and the diwan. There are also lots of comfy chairs and furniture around the property to laze in; wish they had some chairs on the small tree house
4. Service is prompt, discreet, helpful and responsive, just the way i like it.

Cons:
1. Quite expensive for the stuff you get; it is a room without any modern amenities - no TV, no room service, no A/C, no faucet in the loo, no wash basin in the loo (there is a wash basin outside the loo), god-forsaken poor locks, some awful paintings - the list is huge
2. Lighting in the room is dull and compounded by the fact that the whole town is affected by low voltage. When was the last time you saw 40W bulbs in rooms with 12ft high ceilings? Neerama- have you not heard of the CFL lamps. If there is no TV (and I love the fact that there is no TV), people would spend the time reading - it is impossible to read with the dull lighting (I suppose that's the done thing with rich folks but i just hate it). Speaking of reading, i wish they had some better stuff to read than thousands of copies of "Open" magazine and some uninteresting coffee-table books. With such a ince reading room, I wish they had something better to offer

Room Tip: Pandey, Jeejeebhoy and jahangir are located at a lower. Choose the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and facilities of the property.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef. The dinner experience encourages guests to interact with each other, thereby facilitating conversation which leads to an exchange of culture. We have also conveyed your compliments about the service to the team.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. A Neemrana experience is very rooted and real. None of the buildings you wake up in with us were built to be hotels. We have remodelled them to this purpose. Common hospitality practices like room service or television in individual rooms are avoided. However, mineral water and in-room tea and coffee makers are provided for the convenience of our guests.

Based on your suggestion, we have introduced CFL bulbs at the property. It is our endeavour to constantly improve our services and it is feedback such as yours which helps us to do so.
We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. This is definitely the best option available in Matheran. Earlier when we visited matheran one year back, we had stayed at another hotel which was horrible...so this was a pleasant surprise. Good location, rooms are clean and food is good.

They do not have TV in rooms...ideal if you are looking for a peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to receive your compliments about the rooms, the food, and the maintenance of the property.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful secluded property, quite far from the market area & other hotels. Don't go expecting swimming pools & other add-ons. This is more of a quiet nature retreat... no noise, no fuss. And good food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback about The Verandah in the Forest.

We are delighted to read about your experience and have conveyed your compliments to the Chef and his team.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Verandah in the Forest and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.