We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and Poorly Managed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Kasturba Road,Via Neral (Central Railway), Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Matheran
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Run down and Poorly Managed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just back from a trip to Matheran. Booked the trip thanks to the some review . The flaws started with we (3 couples+kids as part of trip) getting rooms with 2 of them having doors with faulty latches - one didn't open and the other didn't close. The blankets were worn thin and frayed in the corner - and obviously filthy. Cockroaches added to the company. Bathrooms were dirty too. Complaints resulted in us getting new rooms which were a tad better though bathrooms still were dirty . And to think this is one of the highly rated hotels.

The restaurant decor is also very ordinary and the food was average. What was the icing was the service in the restaurant - there is no policy on which age category of kids will be charged - a debate ensued and then our view point was reluctantly accepted. The lights and fans started getting switched off by them at 1030 forcing people to start moving out or the next day breakfast start was delayed from 830 to 9 , we went back a little later and sometime later at 10 sharp they started clearing away the buffet! One hour for breakfast . We asked for some milk while they were packing up and he brusquely shrugged us off. These are only some of the instances . On the bright side - the kids room was good to keep them entertained for hours and the rooms were big but poorly designed. Overall a forgettable hotel with terrible service - no where near the 3 starts claimed - rather its a no star run down property .

Room Tip: The first ac dx rooms were a bit better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
71
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent, Great, WOW, really wonderful service, food - Kya baat hai,

Our family visited second time to Regal in last year and this year. It goes better and better than last year.
I really loved this hotel last year and this year too. So we decided to go again to the same hotel, as we didnot want search any more. Because Anybody will not find better than this hotel.

I really want to congratulate the staff of this hotel for their kind service.

Dear Mr. Sunil Raja,

Thanks to make our trip memorable one more time.

Keep it up Regal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Impressed with the food quality, service and all other arrangements we expect from a good Hotel. Our family totally enjoyed the event at Hotel Regal, we will always remember this experience. I am worrying that whether my kids will enjoy or not.. but sports section, swimming pool and evening shows like magic show & puppet show fulfilled their dreams of vacations. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

All my family members are currently residing in Mumbai, Maharashtra, India. We all lead a very exhaustive life in the busy city of Mumbai, where we have to run all day & night to to cope up with the current world. From past many months we were trying to have a vacation together so we can rest our body and mind for few days and gain some eternal peace as well as have great time with all family members together so we can strengthen our relationship. All in all we are 30 members of a same family with all type of age groups from 55 to 12 years old. After a long search and great efforts we finally came to a decision for spending the vacation not so far from the city, so all the members would would have to only remove two days from their busy schedule. Finally with few meets and calls we came up with the idea of spending this vacation at the hill station MATHERAN which only two hours away from Mumbai. As soon as the location was decided we made few calls to some friends how had been to Matheran asking their help on their experiences in various hotel to pick from, and then we were shocked! As all this friends guided us to the one spot that was REGAL HOTEL. After calling up and booking the rooms and services the hotel we visited the same in next few days. To be petrified we had all the best accommodation provided with all rooms together for our huge family. The hotel had the best services from the staff. It has big gardens which are spread all over the hotel area. Regal Hotel has all the best facilities which we needed for our vacation a swimming pool, gymnasium, badminton court, in door games,etc. being located in the center of the main market all things needed were just a few yards away.................the main thing that craved us from Regal Hotel was the excellent food, which was tasty and healthy for all. With this kind of service and response from the hotel staff we all family members have already planned another vacation at the same spot for our next trip.......Thanks REGAL for a warm and courteous serviced.

Room Tip: Select the small cottages by the pool, they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUNE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Regal was our first and last choice. this is our 3rd trip here, and Regal is our only option. Very near to Market area and well connected to all the points nearby. Availability of "Horses" and "Coolies" right outside the Hotel. End of May- June and July are best months to stay....
Very good service with A1 quality of food provided in entire Matheran. (Thali and Buffet system)
Pool side view rooms available ! A must stay here ! :)

Evening time Magic shows for entertainment.

Room Tip: Pool side View P
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Regal hotel turns out to be by far the best hotel amongst the ones that I have ever stayed in Matheran. It provides an excellent family vacation experience. The rooms are pretty much spacious, clean and hygenic. The staff is very polite and courteous, and they do their best to make the guests feel comfortable.

Other amenities like health club, games like badminton, table tennis and chess creates ample opportunity for a family to spend time at the hotel.

The swimming pool is quite spacious and clean, but just be sure to carry a proper swimming costume, especially ladies. I was taken a bit aback when they refused to allow my wife (and some other ladies too) from entering the pool wearing the usual nylon long tops, which are generally acceptable at most hotels and resorts. We did not want to spoil our vacation fun, so we just bought a new swimming costume from the hotel and enjoyed the pool.

Finally, the food quality and variety (pure-veg) provides 100% satisfaction to guests. Almost all kinds of Indian cuisines are served, which ensured that we for once committed the sin of over-eating. :) An entertainment item presented by a "Hindi melodies" karoke singer during dinner is definitely worth mentioning.

Overall the hotel provides a good 2-3 days of quality time with family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The quality of room and food in regal is really good.
The service is also good.
Rooms and bathroom were kept neat and clean. Nice place to stay.
The lunch was Gujarati thali, dinner was light fast food. Breakfast was a mix of south indian, flakes, bread butter and jam along with tea and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Kasturba Road,Via Neral (Central Railway), Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Regal Hotel to your Saves list