We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"RICH & FAMOUS".... but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Usha Ascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Usha Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Usha Ascot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road, Matheran 410102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"RICH & FAMOUS".... but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

this hotel is considered as one of the top hotel in matheran since a long time. this was my second visit to usha ascot after two years and again i was in same super deluxe pool facing room no. 407. this room has best view of swimming pool. bathrooms at usha ascot are always substandard. my bathroom ceiling was leaking constantly. hotel management show me other rooms of same category, but in all rooms bathrooms were in very poor condition. they have old big television in all the rooms, not istalled lcd there. bed is big & comfortable.staff is very courteous and helpful. food is a plus point of this hotel, very good food. over all property is big and situated at calm n cool place, little away but at walkable distance at matheran.

Room Tip: choose room no 407 which has best view of swim pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    34
    20
    11
See reviews for
71
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our room: Super Deluxe
Distance:
The hotel is 1 hour walk from the place where you park the car and I'm not exaggerating. So you have 2 options, either take a toy train upto Matheran station and after that 20 minutes walk again OR hire someone (who usually charges Rs. 300) to take your luggage and you walk.

Pros:
Staff is very helpful and always doing job with smile.
In our 3 day stay they had Magic Show, Puppet show & Juggling for kids on different days.
There was live music in evenings by pool side, so you can enjoy your food while listening to music.
There is also DJ around 10 but I couldn't enjoy that due to infant.
Swimming pool was nice with maximum 5.5 feet deep.

Cons:
I can understand monkeys in the hotel and they were not much bother with staff always alert. But how can they let stray dogs inside the hotel premise, dogs poo was at many places.
The super deluxe rooms were average, all metal fittings were rusted and also doors/furniture looked very old. They were renovating but for me it was late.
Daily room service didn't replace shampoos, moisturizer, soap unless asked for. Why do I have to ask such basic things when I'm paying so much?

Room Tip: Take ground floor that way from backdoor you have easy access to pool.

Room Tip: Take ground floor by pool side for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Supposedly one of the best places in Matheran. What a SHAME. We stayed at one of the renovated rooms and that too was a disaster. It had everything going for it that would qualify it as a cheap room. The refurbished furniture, old 21 inch box TV (now i know what happens to our old TVs that are traded) and dimely lit rooms.

NEVER AGAIN....

Room Tip: the renovated rooms need a complete makeover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days on my honeymoon to Matheran. The hotel is good, well maintained with courteous staff. The best part was the live music in the evenings.. we could have our food poolside while enjoying the live music. The food could have been better though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Nice property with good people. Quality of property and food (veg as well as Jain) is one of the attraction.

No signals for any telecom operator so perfect place to stay away from busy world.

Value of money !!!!

Room Tip: One of the best property of Matheran and especially for Vegetarians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked Super deluxe room for the occasion of my husband's birthday. and the experience was so bad that i left one day early. First of all, there sales exec tells me the 3night package inclusive of taxes on the phone . But obviously i had not recorded it. So I couldn't prove that she did, then she tell me the price was exclusive of 15% taxes. I still went ahead and booked.

Pro's - People who serve , housekeeping and security are good. And overall it has got a good resort kinds environment.

Con's - I have a list.
Resort is not at all maintained well. Cleanliness, furniture, infrastructure sucks. TV is kept at the rightmost corner or leftmost corner, your bed isn't even in front of the TV. So practically you need to turn your neck 60Degrees to watch TV if lying on bed. Bathroom has old, yellowish become tiles with one ugly bucket and mug. You don't even feel like spending 2min in bathroom. Curtains, Blanket , bedsheets are ancient, i think they bought it last some 25years ago or something. You will see the colors of the entire combinations and will get an feeling of coming in a low-graded hotel.
They have two entertainment options, one man singing monotonous same Gazals everyday and one man making magic tricks. I'm sure a 6 or 60yr old will be bored with it in 10min max. Dinner and breakfast is served near the pool. Don't feel delighted with this fact, as you will have plastic chairs , plastic tables and extremely mediocre decorum.
Food, even if everything else mediocre and useless if food is good, any person gets comfortable. But NO, food is pathetic , terrible. Gujarathi ish food (which usually is marvelous) was the menu for all lunches, No sense of menu, no sense of what goes with what, no variety, whatever cooked below-ordinary taste, and MOST imp thing you will find "stones" in bhujiya, idiotically made strwberry/rose shrikhand and your plates will not be clean in the evenings.
I think only we can see the dirt on plates and they cant. People will serve with bare hands. Sweet - i think they shud nt make it ever, if they dont want to. It was really really by the far the worst sweet dishes.
Front desk executives are rude, arrogant and non-co-operative. I have paid half the money to them and some expenses are still remaining. My point is if you have such a experience and dont stay for the 3rd night? will you still pay some extra amount for the room that you didnt stay in? They ruined my husband's birthday and ruined my surprise plan for it. and they still are asking me to pay some extra amount for 3rd night along with some expenses i incurred. No problem with paying for two nights and my expenses.. but they have now completely changed the package price tat was promised and acting as if nothing went wrong. Not even a sorry came from sales exec or front desk guy..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Usha Ascott is 1 of the best hotels in Matheran from the early days. The rooms and property is not as per the modern style however its still descent than the other hotels. The property can be maintained more efficiently. The food is good and the best part is live gazals during dinner. This part negates all the negatives of the hotel. it really enlightens your evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Usha Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usha Ascot Hotel

Address: M.G. Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Usha Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Usha Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Usha Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.