We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Matheran” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hope Hall
Save
You added Hope Hall to your Saves list
MG Road, Matheran, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Place in Matheran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Its the best hotel to stay in matheran.very affordable rates and service is very nice. i always stay at this hotel .very close to market and all points. Maria is very friendly and very Nice. God bless you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

budget hotel with greenery all around, quite, peaceful, old world charm, spacious rooms with verandah. Host Maria, roomboy Bhagwan, Jerry mausi and tiger the dogs and Aunty's breakfast make this place to stay a memorable one. BHARTI PAI.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hope hall's one of the few places in Matheran that doesn't entertain the crooks who look for cuts. The building is probably a century old and the place has a quaint feel to it. The people are helpful and treat you like family. However don't expect any kinda high tech facilities. The place will cater to people who want to stay in a no frills and quiet place in Matheran. It's ideal for the budgeted traveller.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I just fell in love with this hotel, and I just can't stop coming here. Everytime I come, I am at peace. This must be my 12th visit to Hope Hall.

There are nice plants, and the whole area is green. There is a garden to hang around. Now they have TVs too. This hotel is indeed the usp of Matheran.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We hadn't planned an overnight stay in Matheran and had made no prior bookings, but after a long trek from Neral to Matheran on an uphill route (10 kms from Neral to Dasturi Naka + 2.5 kms from Dasturi Naka), we definitely needed a shelter. We chanced upon this place which looked really different from the other hotels in the area. It didn't pretend to be a luxurious resort with so-called suites (like most other run-down hotels in the region which advertise like they are no lesser than the Taj :) ) but rather like a home-stay. I really loved the green garden and the colored bottles that held plants. We met Maria at the office who showed us the room - its a basic room with an attached bathroom. We took it for 1k for the night....really really cheap. The place doesn't provide package meals but does provide you breakfast. Maria's mom cooked really delicious poha for us and when we praised her, she blessed us from the bottom of her heart. Staying at Hope Hall was more of an experience than just an overnight stay at a hotel. Maria spoke to us about her interest in gemology and we were also lucky to have a sneak peek into her collection. She is also very fond of dogs and the place is filled with many of her harmless pets. I also loved the long verandah with colored platforms and green plants everywhere. Our room opened right into this verandah. As a pleasant surprise, the room had a TV with cable. The location of Hope Hall is great - really close to the market but away from the commotion. What we carry from Hope Hall are the memories of the cute place, the lovely service of Maria and her Momma.

Disclaimers: The rooms are very basic and the sheets were a tad dirty (you might like to carry your own sheets in case you are prepared to check in here). Plus the rooms don't provide you with towels and soaps like hotels do - so you need to get these stuff and they are easily available in the market. The bathrooms are Indian style and the bath doesn't have running hot water (they will provide you bucket hot water on request).

Room Tip: Choose the room that opens into the Verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Located at a very convenient place, the owners try to make your stay comfortable. A little advance cleaning of the rooms would create a better impression on the visitor. Rooms are OK, needing some repair. A little steep on the price when compared to the services offered. OK for a quiet weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We are looking for Cottage rather than a Hotel in Matheran as we wanted to make our trip an adventerous one.

However, being unaware of trustworthy localites who offer their spare accomodation, we settled for Hope Hall Hotel which had a nice board at its entrance: "Our Hotel does not pay the commission agents and touts to lure you to us. After all, we're not an unlicensed lodging or an over priced luxury hotel" The Hotel actually proved true to its point.

The Entrance and the Garden were all lush green in a Cottage style accodomation which we were actually looking for. The room was just Okay and the Washrooms were of very poor quality however we setlled for the Tradeoff of the price charged, the excellent atmosphere in the Verandah and 5 Beds in one room where all of us 6 friends adjusted.

We were unable to have a Bath the next day, due to the owners Dog occupying the Bathroom! and the quality of ground water was poor.

Only the Verandah Rooms were Habitable as the had sufficient ventilation and the rooms inside in the Corners were suffocating. The room has only one Fan, but the Climate of Matheran does not make you require an air-conditioner and the fan was more than sufficient.

Overall we were satisfied with the accomodation as we had wonderful night playing games as all of us could accomodate in the same room.

We paid just Rs. 1,700 + taxes for 6 people for a night stay. Later on we realised that the Hotel was too Cheap and we could have easily afforded an expensive restaurant. But the Photos which we could take in Verandah are still Memorable. The Owner of the Hotel looked like the angry young Man of Horror Films, so one can avoid occupying rooms Singly! (Just Joking)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Hall

Address: MG Road, Matheran, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Matheran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.