We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Lake

Charlotte Lake
Matheran, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 19 Attractions in Matheran
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When I first visited this place it was afternoon and sunny, I was not impressed much. I went their second time in the evening next day and the whole look changed dramatically, clouds were floating everywhere cool breeze was blowing so overall I liked it much better second time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    43
    27
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
“KS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Its a Wonderful place to see, do visit and enjoy .......... best thing is that at this lake u can eat Maggie .. there is one stall who keeps maggie .. yuuumm

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“small peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

beware of monkeys though! nice walk by the lakeside. peaceful if u r not there on a holiday! go for a horse ride if u like to sit on horses!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Scenic and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Despite being visited by many people on account of it being the main tourist point of Matheran, the beautiful lake is calm and quiet. Also it is not polluted much which is probably why many folks enjoy taking a shower at the dam's gates. When we visited Charlotte lake, the weather was beautiful and it was drizzling slightly - the entire lake was mist covered. The river crossing activity looked good but we didn't do it as we didn't have time. The points near the lake (Lord's Point, Louisa Point) offer good views of the surrounding hills and valleys. All in all, Charlotte Lake is not to be missed when in Matheran.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Get Drenched :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Trip to Matheran without going to Charlotte lake is incomplete..Or rather I would rate this sight as one of the best in the city...the lake has an amazing view but the most attractive and enjoyable part is WaterFalls especially in Monsoons....Lord's Point is also at a walking distance from this place...and is goood..........the way to point from those deep dark forests seems in first sight as a horror path but I would say "Nature at its best"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte Lake also viewed

Matheran, Maharashtra
Matheran, Maharashtra
 

Been to Charlotte Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.