We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the one hand...excellent, on the other....okay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakehouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lakehouse Inn to your Saves list
The Lakehouse Inn
5653 Lake Road East, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“On the one hand...excellent, on the other....okay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We spent one night using the lodge and a cottage. This was a girl's trip, ages ranging from 16 to 80. On first arrival, we were quite worried as the rooms were quite tiny and it was raining. The grounds are wonderful and you can see how much care goes into them. The staff are very friendly, and there are nice touches everywhere- snacks in the room and lemonade, coffee or tea all the time. We felt it was overpriced for what you got in return, unfortunately. The tasting plate really was pitiful for the $9 price. The room sizes and cottage furnishings also didn't warrant the price. We enjoyed our dinner, but again felt it was not worth $19-$20 a plate, or $6 a dessert. Hey, I live in Chicago so I get everything isn't a value, and you pay for atmosphere. Just didn't agree with it here, but my view may have been tainted by a terrific stay the weekend before at a winery in Michigan. This area needs places like this, but with the conference center two blocks away with large spacious rooms, a better beach, and more affordable dinners and rooms, they need to take that into consideration. That said, the breakfast was amazing and again, the views, combined to make our $600 night total almost worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    42
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
119
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This property offers a B&B and cabins for a slightly bigger group. It is a beautiful gem nestled just west of the quaint downtown of Geneve-On-The-Lake (don't blink). The property itself is beautifully landscaped and boasts a lovely bed/breakfast. There is also a winery and grille with adjacent terraces that overlook the lake. Oh my, the sunsets are to die for!!!!! Want a fabulous romantic getaway just a hop skip and jump from Cleveland/Akron? Here it is. Staff are superb. Rooms are immaculent. Within a nice walk or bike ride are the little stores and eateries of the little tiny town. My understanding was that it had been THE playground of the Cleveland/Pittsburg Industrialists. Still see remnants of it. There are other properties along the city "strip" but this property is distinctly sophisticated in comparison. You might think the beach there is a mite tiny but if you go a mile or two west is the state park with a HUGE beach and bike/hike trails and a marina. We made a day of it and the whole family enjoyed it immensely. We stayed in the cabin since we had kids and one fiance but we plan on coming back w/k (without kids) and bringing the bikes. ;)...don't forget to bring kites and shovels for the beach! Oh I almost forgot. Breakfast is included and boy was it good. They have daily house special and then basic eggs toast meat choice and hashbrowns. Excellent coffee and fresh fruit. It was basics but very delicious and more than adequate.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabins, had a big group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Ran into friends who had reservations on Sunday june 5 at Crosswinds. Since Sunday is a quieter day, was able to up the rservations to 4 people. Several new items on menu. Tried the pork chop and it was WONDERFUL.. The other 3 people has loved the perch before and could not pass it up again. Both the fried and broiled perch got great reviews. Dinner did not disappoint . Waitress was both attentive and personable. If you are looking for Nice , adult , alternative to fast food...this is it. Weather cooperating and outside dining could not have been better. if you are looking for a quieter day to dine, I would recommend Sunday. However, with the new dinner reservation system on Friday and Saturday, things are much more streamlined. But even when it is crazy on Friday and Saturday, get a glass of wine and sit in one of the Beautiful landscapped areas.. Great adult / couple place to hang out !!! (Dined only ...did not stay at in this time)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an overnighter. It was just ok. We had a very small room that was modestly furnished. The staff was not overly friendly and though the B and B was very slow, they did not appear to go over and above in any way for us. We had a decent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We celebrated our 10th anniversary here in the Sunset Suite. It was a great room, and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. It is not inexpensive, but you get a lot of space. The beds were very comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was great. Very relaxing and enjoyable. The property was very nice, good view of the lake, lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy some wine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Purchased a groupon for 2 nights. We were booked in a 2 bedroom cottage. When we walked into the cottage it smelled like mildew and I felt like I stepped back into time. The place is dated and worn and we both decided there was no way we were staying. We went to the tasting included in our stay and what a joke. Little plastic pill cups with awful tasting wine. We were giving a little cup of 4 nuts, a small serving of warm bread (the highlight of our one hour stay) and a few slices of cheese and apple. We couldn't find a decent place in town for a meal. Turn back to the highway as fast as we could! Home never looked so good after our visit here! DO NOT WASTE YOUR GAS!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amb0915, Owner at The Lakehouse Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
This guest had purchased a living social escapes package that entitled the guest to stay two nights in either a cottage or a traditional room with a full breakfast each morning as well as two wine tasting trays, two souvenir wine glasses, a cheese plate and a bottle of wine for $160. When the reservation was made this guest chose a cottage instead of a room in the Bed & Breakfast.

We received a call from this guest a few days prior to her arrival wanting to change the reservation that she had made three months ago because the weather forecast was calling for rain and she did not want to come when it was raining. Unfortunately, we had no other dates available for her to use with the living social voucher and advised her of that. She then stated that she had looked online and the cottages were not up to her standards for accommodations. Again, we politely advised the guest that the reservation was made three months ago and being that she was scheduled to arrive in a few days, we had nothing else available.

On the day this guest was scheduled to arrive it was raining- we had a full house of guests that arrived that day and everyone else made plans that did not involve being outdoors. Within five minutes of this guest checking in she came back to the front desk and informed us that she & her husband were leaving. As to her disdain over the wine tasting, the 10 samples of wine were poured into plastic cups, however, each tasting tray includes a souvenir wine glass so that the samples can be poured into the glass to be tasted and appreciated along with several types of cheese, pepperoni, apple slices, dried fruit, nuts and fresh bread.

A mind that is set that they will be disappointed will find exactly what they want to find and that was the case with this scenario. It was unfortunate that this guest was not willing to give our facility or the area a chance. I hope the numerous reviews that rave about our facility and staff will give future guests a better picture of what they can expect at The Lakehouse Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My daughter and I went up for the weekend to relax. We had a great time, and the people at the Inn treated us so well, and made everything perfect! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse Inn

Address: 5653 Lake Road East, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern shore of Lake Erie, The Lakehouse Inn is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Enjoy fabulous sunsets, award winning wines, delicious local cuisine and relaxing spa services all in one location. The B&B is also within walking distance of Genenva-on-the-Lake attractions and a short drive from local wineries, covered bridges, the Metroparks biking/hiking trails and Historic Ashtabula Harbor. We are less than an hour from Cleveland and Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lakehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse Hotel Geneva On The Lake
The Lakehouse Inn Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakehouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.