We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Motel and Cottages
Save Saved
You added Anchor Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not a lot of frills, but has absolutely everything you need. Owners and staff are excellent and very low key - provided some great recommendations (including Pieori's and Mary's ... excellent!). Great outdoor bar/restaurant (Lakeside) on the water which was good for drink/appetizer and minimart within a few steps. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here with two girlfriends in one of the motel rooms. Clean room. Perfectly fine for our needs. Close to the strip - we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. This is an old hotel - but everything was in good repair and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages and were pleased at how clean and quiet it was. 10/10 for cleanliness! But the bedrooms (2) were too small and felt closed in. The beds were hard and terribly uncomfortable. The shower in the bathroom was WAY too small. Maybe I'm being a little bit too picky because overall it was extremely clean and private and a tiny shower is better than no shower. I do regret not staying at the popular hotel a couple miles down the road.
Said they had wi-fi but it didn't reach to our cottage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am the lady who took my 12 yr. old kitty to the "pet friendly" motel. I will admit that I was wrong to tell the manager that I have my kitty in the "suite" after the fact. We were in the room for 30 minutes...at which time the owner came to the room and told me to remove my kitty immediately. I did so within 15 seconds.
This is the beginning of the story.
I was charger 150.00 for the day + $20.oo cleaning fee. ( The 150.00 was returned when they re-rented the room.)
The room was cleaned to their standards...which did not include checking the fridge or freezer because I left a 46.00 bottle of Patron in the freezer.
I called and the wife said she would hold my tequila until I returned. She was very pleasant....however now the story gets weird.
I returned 5 days later and that is when all hell broke loose. The husband (owner) met me with vengeance...He was upset about a nasty review on trip advisor. He screamed at me, threatened me and my friend with a law suite for slander, and told me to never return to his motel.
At that time he slammed my Patron on his contact paper covered counter so hard...I thought he broke the bottle.
He also called my cancer recovering husband a slanderous name. I really don't know why, except maybe he expected my husband to get in his face???? He also called me a liar....
Thank goodness I had my cell phone in my bra and recorded the entire event.
Stay at his motel...just don't get him mad.
Be advised that I could have kept the kitty in the room...but chose to be honest. The manager set me up...twice. She had me removed and had the owner yell at me 5 days later...Thanks.
The "suite smelled musty and old. That is why I opened the windows so my kitty wouldn't get ill.
They were concerned with allergy cat dander. I recently retired from the school system after 35 years and I can tell you that a peanut butter cup is more likely to get a reaction that a cat.

Marcia Pellegrene

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed down in the strip many many times for many years at many different places. We will not ever stay anywhere else now that we have stayed at Anchor. Mellissa checked us in with a smile and a great attitude. She was there everyday we stayed, always working hard and cleaning. The hard work showed, our room was spotless!!! The room we reserved at last minute was a little small but when we go to the strip we don't plan in being in our rooms for much more then sleeping, so it was perfect for us. The owners are very friendly and inviting. We really felt welcome. We were talking about coming back with a group of our friends later this year and we were taken around and shown some of their recently completely renovated absolutely beautiful cottages. I was just so impressed by the hospitality and their willingness to go above and beyond. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to GOTL. At the recommendation of friends, we booked a cottage at the Anchor (We planned to eat in a couple of meals, but that did not happen LOL!). As soon as we checked in, we were made to feel welcome (by staff and by Cooper, the dog, who rocks!). The cottage, while small, was clean, recently updated, and comfortable....all that we needed. The owners and staff are both very pleasant, friendly, and gracious, and make you feel like they are glad you are there, and that a great guest experience is their top priority. They nailed it with us! We had a great time, the location of Anchor was perfect as it is close to the park and the strip, and our cottage was very peaceful and quiet. We can't wait to return! Bring towels...and if you are expecting luxury, this is not for you, but for a CLEAN, friendly, and comfortable place to stay, you can't go wrong! Also, if you have a complaint or need something, ASK the owners! They will do all they can to make your stay pleasant. ~Kathy and Scott, Washington, PA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Finding a decent place to stay at geneva on the lake can be a challenge. The Anchor is clean and friendly and a good place to stay.
Keep in mind that geneva is an old town so this is not the Ritz Carleton. It is however however a clean place to stay with a friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.