We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest, friendliest, absolute best place to stay on the strip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Motel and Cottages
Save
You added Anchor Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cleanest, friendliest, absolute best place to stay on the strip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed down in the strip many many times for many years at many different places. We will not ever stay anywhere else now that we have stayed at Anchor. Mellissa checked us in with a smile and a great attitude. She was there everyday we stayed, always working hard and cleaning. The hard work showed, our room was spotless!!! The room we reserved at last minute was a little small but when we go to the strip we don't plan in being in our rooms for much more then sleeping, so it was perfect for us. The owners are very friendly and inviting. We really felt welcome. We were talking about coming back with a group of our friends later this year and we were taken around and shown some of their recently completely renovated absolutely beautiful cottages. I was just so impressed by the hospitality and their willingness to go above and beyond. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to GOTL. At the recommendation of friends, we booked a cottage at the Anchor (We planned to eat in a couple of meals, but that did not happen LOL!). As soon as we checked in, we were made to feel welcome (by staff and by Cooper, the dog, who rocks!). The cottage, while small, was clean, recently updated, and comfortable....all that we needed. The owners and staff are both very pleasant, friendly, and gracious, and make you feel like they are glad you are there, and that a great guest experience is their top priority. They nailed it with us! We had a great time, the location of Anchor was perfect as it is close to the park and the strip, and our cottage was very peaceful and quiet. We can't wait to return! Bring towels...and if you are expecting luxury, this is not for you, but for a CLEAN, friendly, and comfortable place to stay, you can't go wrong! Also, if you have a complaint or need something, ASK the owners! They will do all they can to make your stay pleasant. ~Kathy and Scott, Washington, PA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Finding a decent place to stay at geneva on the lake can be a challenge. The Anchor is clean and friendly and a good place to stay.
Keep in mind that geneva is an old town so this is not the Ritz Carleton. It is however however a clean place to stay with a friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First time visiting Geneva-on-the-Lake so we were looking for a nice place to stay the weekend before the July 4th weekend. Rates seemed reasonable based on location, and the website images of the rooms looked OK. Once there, the room appeared to be recently renovated and clean, but it was very small. Manager told us there would be no daily housekeeping, only towels upon request. The walls were very thin, and the noise from adjoining rooms was intrusive, as was the very noisy building plumbing that woke us up numerous times throughout both nights. The "A/C unit" was only marginally effective at keeping the room comfortable on 90 degree days and humid nights. Notably, the only window did not have a curtain, only mini-blinds, and the morning light shone right into our eyes regardless of how tightly closed they were. I asked the manager why no curtains, and she said that the Fire Marshall wouldn't allow them for some reason; REALLY!!?? We felt this room was WAY overpriced for content and lack of any real amenities or services.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I'm looking at these reviews wondering if this is the same place we stayed in. It sure is, but man we did not find this place as nice as most are saying. The owners, or staff or whomever it was staying there was no where to be found most of the time. Checked us in and that was it. So we didn't have that experience. The room was old and dated, the pictures with the panelling are really what they look like. That wasn't so bad, but the SMELL was horrible. It was like 5 litter boxes had been kept in there at all times. The bathroom left alot to be desired, don't touch the walls of the shower stall if you can help it. We were there for our 1st anniversary. Memorable to say the least, and not for a good reason. We would not consider this place again if it was the last place to stay!! We were there a few yrs. ago, sorry for the false date posted with Tripadvisor, they don't allow for before 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good place to stay for the holiday, always in walking distance to everything!! No big name restaurants but good food never the less. Good for kids also. If you want a good place to stay, and a good price, in a good place and clean this is the place to be!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay, we were on our honeymoon n owner told us we was to receive free bottle of wine.. we never got it. Rooms were small but nice. Walls r so thin we had to listen to nxt room have sex and b very noisy. We stayd 2 nites and received NO maid serv

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.