We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Motel and Cottages
Save
You added Anchor Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I recently wanted to go up to Lake Erie (hoped to do a little fishing but the weather killed that idea) and decided to visit Geneva On the Lake for a few days. We arranged for a room at the Anchor Motel and Cottages after having a short phone conversation with the owner. We arrived in Geneva On the Lake to find a resort village from out of the 1950's or 60's and the Anchor was no exception. We were greeted on arrival by the owner operator who I soon began referring to as our innkeeper and local advisor on what was good in town. The room was small and showing its age (but with few exceptions everything in town was showing its age and turned out to be part of the charm of the village). It was well maintained and clean and the setting was fun. There was a large common area out under the trees (with chairs, picnic table and campfire ring) which meant we spent very little time in the room, so the smaller size of the older room was not an issue. Throughout our stay our innkeeper was checking with us to assure everything was going well. In hindsight if and when we return we will most likely book one of the cottages for the extra space and the kitchen. Eating every meal out managed to put a few pounds on an already over ample waist but more later on the Lakeview Restaurant, what became our favorite in town.

Room Tip: Call and talk with owner about reservations and fishing options (he also owns the local baitstore)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We booked one of the cottages at the Anchor for 3 nights and were very pleased. Don't expect luxury - this is definitely a no frills establishment. But if you are looking for someplace quiet and convenient in Geneva on the Lake, this is a good bet. The cottage was clean and pretty well outfitted (bring towels!) The yard/garden is very nice - would be great for kids to run around in. You can borrow a grill from the owner and ther are picnic tables and a gazebo as well as a patio in front of each cottage.

Cons - for us, internet access is really important and the connection at this location (wireless) is not good. The furniture is a bit worn down and a few added touches could make this a more amenable home away from home.

But, overall, we enjoyed our stay - the owners were really nice and helpful. I marked this as "average" only because there isn't a "good" category - I would definitely not have any reservations about recommending the property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

Buyer beware. This motel requires a 72 hour cancellation prior to check in. I say this because there is no statement to this fact on their web site and they have no way to give you anything via email, or any other way for that matter. When we notified them that we would be staying one night instead of two, 36 hours prior to check in, the owner then notified us of the policy & threatened to charge us both nights. We told him we were not told of said policy and he immediately got aggressive, told us we were attacking his integrity and that we need to watch our step. He was very threatening then just walked away.

Never, never, never give this guy your money. He is mean and the rooms are not something you can't find somewhere else, and you won't have to be concerned about someone threatening you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The two gentlemen running this hotel went above and beyond to make us feel safe. We had problems at a local bar and the owners of the hotel caught word of the problem. They knocked on our door immediately after founding out and assured us they would look out for us. They treated us like family and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel just for their attitudes alone!! Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Anchor on several different occassions in 2009 and the experience was a great one. We traveled to geneva for a few shows with our band and the staff at the ANchor went above and beyond to accomodate. Those who know about geneva know that alot of the Hotels are about the same price wise. I reccomend the Anchor to be your first choice!!! We are bookin our reservations for 2010 now and advise everyone to do the same!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, oh.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We visit Geneva On The Lake frequently (8 times this year, so far). This is our first choice
when planning a visit. We have stayed in the motel rooms and in the cottages. We have
always found them to be immaculately clean. (This is our top priority in a place to stay)
The owners, Phil and Kathy, as well as Greg and Cindy, are very accommodating and friendly. We appreciate having the extras like a microwave and a refrigerator and an good supply of towels and blankets.The tv, heating and cooling always work properly and there is always hot water. There is ample parking. There is a bar next door so the motel room closest to the bar can be noisy. We have stayed there since 2000 and only one time did we ever have a noisy neighbor. Prices are reasonable and the property is well maintained. My wife Kathy and I have enjoyed staying there the last 9 years and have reservations for the month of August. When there is no vacancy at Anchor we have
stayed at other places and the Anchor remains our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I feel that i must write this review after reading some of the negative reviews left prior to the new owners taking over. My wife and two children have stayed at the cottages on three occasions and I stayed with two other couples on eone other aoocaion. The owners Phil and Cathy are very outgoing hosts. On my last visit they even went as far as to allow some of their guests to hold their wedding on the premises, including a catered reception. Each of my visits have been pleasant and I would reccomend the place to anyone looking for a clean place to stay in town. The rooms are clean and I didn't notice any excessive noise fron the street or neighbors as one of the other guests had mentioned. I look forward to returning this fall for the annual grape festival.
Gavin E. Dailey

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.