We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ohio Wine Country Getaway
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Christmas stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were able to book a last minute Christmas Eve and day stay here. We chose the Bed & Breakfast package with a double room facing the pool. The room was very clean and comfortable. My one pet peeve about hotel bathrooms, and this was no exception, is the slippery surface of the bathtub. Thankfully there was a grab bar. You'd think they could at least offer rubber mats. Dinner Christmas Eve and Day were exactly the same. We were not told we could have ordered from the menu Christmas Eve. Another complaint is that we were not offered refills on our coffee. However, the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was very very good. The entire first floor was decorated for the season very nicely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Crosstchr-
Thank you for your honest review of your visit. We love sharing the holiday season with our guests and spend a week each year decorating! I’m glad you enjoyed the décor. Our facilities manager says we do have built in, non-slip surfaces on bottoms of each bathtub, though I did share your comment so he is aware. I will also touch base with our holiday planning team to perhaps offer different dining options for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day next year for variety. Thank you again for sharing and helping us get better all the time!
Sincerely, Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    118
    49
    20
    11
See reviews for
85
168
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Creek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the lodge. Although the winter limits the nearby attractions on the strip of Geneva on the Lake, there was plenty of time to visit wineries. The Lodge itself was clean, spacious and had a better than normal restaurant which featured some excellent and wide ranging meals. The huge windows in the dining room gave guests a beautiful view of the stark wonder of the smallest of the Great Lakes. Prices for rooms and meals we moderate and the indoor pool and exercise room were a plus.

Room Tip: Use triple A discount if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This ts THE place to unwind and relax. Next to the lake- a huge expanse of serenity, the Lodge is very well equipped with spacious rooms, Wi-Fi and a decent restaurant and bar. The history of a train accident that happened in 19th century in a nearby bridge is very well captured.. the whole place has an old world charm that can be very relaxing.

I witnessed season's fresh snowfall, the sight was just awesome, especially as it has large open spaces and meandering walks along the lake.

The staff is very friendly, and the food at the restaurant is decent- nothing exceptional though. There is an awesome Italian restaurant nearby...a pleasant 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day 2 night stay at the Lodge. It is a beautiful lodge with great services from the front desk, housekeeping to the restaurant. It was too cold this time of the year for us to take a walk by the lake, but we would come back in the spring or summer. Our room was on the forth floor, and spacious enough for two kids, and the king size bed was comfy. The room smelled a little musty when we first walked in. It could be from the bathroom after cleaning. It was fine when we returned in the evening. They have beautiful staircases decorated with Christmas theme. We took the staircases the entire time we were there. The lobby was nice and cozy decorated with a huge Christmas tree and fireplace. You can get to town within 10 minutes for grocery, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sisters and I stayed her at the beginning of November to celebrate a 40th birthday. The rooms were average nice and the staff was super accommodating. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the Lodge. Everything was great. The Lodge has a wine shuttle for $18 and that is a steal. It takes you to 4 different wineries where you stay an hour and 15 minutes at each. It was great. I want to go back in the summer because the property is gorgeous. They have a two night minimum though which makes it difficult. My only complaint is that the bar in the restaurant wasn't open at noon when we checked in and our room was not yet ready; however, the staff came through and opened it up for us. Love it here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lodge is right on the lake and we selected a 3rd floor room with balcony & had nice view of the lake. King bed room was spacious with comfy bed, lounger chair & flat screen TV. Liked the Kuerig coffee machine but was disappointed that styrofoam cups were supplied instead of real mugs. Room was clean & staff at front desk were efficient. Thought price of $180+ was a little high for off-season (mid Nov.).
Grounds around the lodge are lovely with walking path along edge of the lake, complete with gazebo & several benches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I just got back from an overnight anniversary trip to the lodge. It was excellent in every way!

The girls at reception were friendly and helpful, and everyone we encountered in Horizons restaurant went out of their way to make sure everything was great. We left a coat the the restaurant and they brought it right to us in the room. We also left a bottle of wine purchased in the lobby, and it was waiting right for us behind the reception desk. We don't always leave everything, haha.
The rooms were pretty basic, but we knew that ahead of time and the bed was comfortable. No issues at all. There is a keurig in the room which is a nice touch. We paid for a lake view but as little as we were in the room, we wouldn't even need it. I think if they really worked at updating the rooms the ratings would even be higher! It doesn't appear that there is a modern hotel in Geneva, so this could really boost their business. Going in November we weren't able to use the pool or beach, but I would think coming in the summer, we would need to stay a few nights to enjoy all they have to offer. It looks like the children's pool area is a lot of fun. Hiking would be really great in early fall or spring too!
There was a wedding the night we stayed there, and for the most part they stayed in the bar area, it didn't affect dinner at all. The food and drinks were amazing! Because we went in mid November, most of the bars and restaurant on the strip were closed so we didn't try to eat anywhere else. But that was just fine, the breakfast buffet in the morning was amazing! Everything you could want, chocolate muffins, an omlette station, etc. This isn't a run of the mill continental breakfast.
What we really loved about our stay was the wine shuttle. Don was our driver and was so fun, friendly and really tried hard to make it a great experience. You get on the bus with a group of 12-14 and stay out about 5 1/2 hours. I would go as early as possible (we did the noon shuttle) because then you can come back to your room to freshen up and have dinner at horizons. Don agreed at the end to drop our group back off at the bourbon distillery because we thought it was the best place. (You go to 4 wineries but there is a new bourbon distillery that he wanted us to try. Their mixed drinks were amazing and nobody wanted to leave). The wineries we went to were all amazing actually...He them went out of his way to pick us back up at 730! He worked so hard with a great attitude and said he has a 13 hour day. He loves his job. He deserves to be mentioned here! This is something that everyone should try.

I have a feeling we will be coming back to the lodge every anniversary from here on out!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio’s wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from Seasonal Specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options!With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services, The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20 wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake’s nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park’s beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake to your Saves list