We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed every September for the past 6 yrs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake to your Saves list
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We have stayed every September for the past 6 yrs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love staying at the Lodge. Each year we have had different rooms. Our room was nice and had a great view of the lake. Very clean. The only problem was it was on the second floor right when you got off the elevator and the noise of the elevator going up and down all night was very annoying. If you stay try not to get room 222. Otherwise we loved our stay of two nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    163
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
125
253
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with 7 girlfriends to celebrate a 50th birthday. We enjoyed our stay. The grounds are well maintained and you can't beat the views of the lake. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds were no the best or the worst I have experienced in a hotels would rate them a 3 out of 5. We had 4 rooms on the first floor with screen doors and small patios. It was nice to be able to walk out those doors and enjoy the property. We did not use the pools but both indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs looked very nice. Overall they are doing a good job maintaining the property. I did not handle the booking but my friend who did, did not find the process smooth. When she tried to connect with the hotel to inquiry about amenities she had a hard time getting through to someone who was on the property and familiar with the area. She felt that her calls were being handled by a call center.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spur of the moment 3 day trip. Front desk was more than helpful when reservation was lost in cyberspace. More than accommodating as there was a rolling blackout due to unseasonable heat(which I love)!.Best time of year to come when you don't want to be around children!.ours are grown and now it's.our time!outside,pool nice and warm. View from was great during the.wind watchimg the whitecaps. JEN our server Sept. 13 was the best as well as Rachel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a girls weekend with myself, my daughter and my two young granddaughters. The pools were warm and clean, the room large and comfortable! Great drinks at the pool bar. The staff couldn't have been nicer! We ordered a pizza from my favorite restaurant a few miles away, Alessandro's, and the manager set up a table for us in a private little area, and got us plates and silverware! We were able to hear the live music from the bar area, but could enjoy our pizza in a cozy little nook! There are nice trails for riding bikes, beautiful sunsets, picnic tables on the grounds and a beautiful beach a few miles away! They have a great little restaurant on site as well. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed two nights and three days at this lodge. We had stayed the previous winter and did not spend much time at the Lodge as we were in and out during a trip to wine country with some friends. Decided to return in the summer for a couple of days in order to utilize more of the amenities of the lodge and relax a bit. We were not disappointed. The outdoor pool, hot tub and Tiki bar were awesome! We also scheduled a ride on the Wine Shuttle to save us from having to drive to several wineries. The driver was very helpful in explaining the local area and available wineries for us to visit. No worries about driving! Had breakfast both days, with excellent service and food! Dinner one night was good, however the service was a bit slow, as we dined at the end of the dinner time slot. Rented bikes for a ride on the paved bike path which took us to the state park. We are planning a return trip again in the near future.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the summer and plan to use the outdoor pool, book a ground level room if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having stayed there before we love the Lodge, the pool, walking to the Lake and very good restaurant. It is close to the wineries and they have an incredible staff- However- and her is the big drawback - we got NO SLEEP. Lovely comfortable room, we requested a mini fridge and microwave which we got-- these MUST be requested- they are NOT in the king rooms and these are only allotted "If they are available"... OK back to the a/c- it cycled on and off ALL night and was it loud !! It was the worst system I have ever seen. As much as we love the amenities at
Geneva we are seriously looking at the Band B's in the area and other places if we ever go back.
If you are booked there - take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Try the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This get away was a trip down memory lane. Husband's family used to frequent this area yearly. Not having visited for 25+ years yet sparking curiosity by our children, we made this a Labor Day 2013 get-away. This small town is quaint, rustic. Nightlife more conducive to adults but still seemed civil and orderly. The Lodge is a newer hotel facility to the area. Hotel is clean, pool area pleasant. We had double deluxe room and the beds seemed small. No frig or microwave but you can request them. Staff friendly, housekeeping does good job. There is a small playground on hotel property and a trail for walking or bike rides along the parameter of property -- provides a nice view of lake. Hotel offered a kid-friendly movie in lobby one of the evenings. There was a wedding taking place making it a challenge to hear movie over echo of music in reception area. Still a nice touch. I commend hotel staff. During our visit there were two weddings. From observation the staff did a nice job and the guests all acted appropriate and orderly (unlike an extremely unpleasant experience we endured during a stay at the Clarion in Erie, PA a few years ago)! Amenities were limited, a little over priced for what is offered. Otherwise, no complaints--a relaxing, clean stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio’s wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from Seasonal Specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options!With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services, The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20 wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake’s nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park’s beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.