We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horizons Restaurant & Lounge

Horizons Restaurant & Lounge
4888 North Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
(866) 806-8066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hartford, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Substandard at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After traveling 1000 miles to stay at the Lodge- we walked over to Horizons the evening of our arrival. The odor of fried fish was so overwhelming that we lost our appetite and had to drive into town for a pizza.
Attempted Sunday breakfast buffet before departing- $12.95 per person and very limited choices. Omelettes (not very good), bacon, link sausage that tasted horrible and whole oven/baked new potatoes that looked like they were left over from the night before- the cold bar was pitiful. Blueberries and cantelope, box cereal and milk- service was lacking as our waters and juice were never refilled. Never saw our server until we got up to leave and she brought us a check! Disappointing food services and rooms. All over priced and lack any type of "WOW" experience - however, the grounds are lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waited for a long time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The restaurant was not very busy since it was Sunday night. However, we had to wait for 45 minutes to arrive our foods. I saw other tables and they also waited for a long time. I wonder if there was only one chief at that night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow and cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ordered to go food to go back to our room. Pizza was cold and served before a cold dish which at inflated prices turned out to be a dinner that made us wish we would have stopped at Daves Cosmic Subs before we checked in at the Lodge. Folks! Please eat before you come to the Lodge because they cant seem to figure it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful view of lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have come here several times and every visit was greatly enjoyed! The food is really good with lots of great menu items to choose from. A lot of healthy choices too if you are into that. The only small negative this visit was that we ordered pizza and it wasn't cut all the way through, so I had to cut it myself but I kept cutting it which seemed to go on forever before it actally cut all the way through. The dough was very tough. Tasted ok though. We actually laughed about it because that never has happened before and it took forever before we got a piece off the tray.
The waiters there were super friendly and we have never had someone there that wasn't nice. Great service! This place is incredibly relaxing. We stayed here at the Lodge for only one night and we ate every meal here. We ate our lunch, dinner, and the next day our breakfast and lunch here. We also drank mai tais at the lounge here. Can't wait to come again!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Watch your bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just visited the hotel for their Mother's Day Brunch and the breakfast part of the buffet was great, while the lunch/dinner side was not so much. They only had 3 dishes (+ carving station) to choose from and nobody in my party had anything from that side. The desserts were no good at all and again very limited in selection. We've been to these kind of functions before and they keep getting worse. Upon bringing our bill the waitress charged us for my 5 year old who ate next to nothing anyway but also according to their website 5 and under eat free. I remembered that specifically reading that thinking I can't believe they want to charge 16.99 for a 6 year old (that was the highest price I saw for brunch anywhere else I've been or looked). So I asked the waitress why she was charging us that, and she said oh it's 4 and under that eat free. I said not according to your website. So she went and got the manager who again said No mam' it's 4 and under, so I then pulled out my phone and showed the manager their own website for her to see. She didn't apologize or say anything she just went to the register and our server came back with a new bill, this time for 4 adult buffets (we had 3 adults and 1 child in our party). So i said you charged my card for 4 adult buffets, there are only 3 of us and 1 child here. The waitress had to go get her manager again to fix our bill, and she then came over telling me to sign the check and write in the correct amount. Never once did she apologize for all the confusion, time she wasted of ours doing all this nothing! It was no big deal to her, and I was very disappointed and upset. Here I am trying to treat my mom and grandma to a nice brunch and we get nothing but headaches and hassle.. Not a great way to bring back people to your establishment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horizons Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Horizons Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizons Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.