We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad wine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Firehouse Winery

Old Firehouse Winery
5499 Lake Road, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
440.466.9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bessemer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stopped here to taste the wine and possibly have lunch. It was not very busy, yet the service was slow. We bought a tray of wines to taste. We did not like one of them and we certainly don't consider ourselves to be picky when it comes to wine. We were going to order lunch, but the server never made her way back to take our order, so we just left. They have a nice location, but I would not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    34
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxation it it's finest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We never really come here to eat. We have eaten here once or twice. Not really that good. Average bar food. The nachos are really good and huge. Share with at least two other people. The wines are what draw people here. We absolutely LOVE the Pink Smash! You get to keep the pitcher after your done. Bring it back on your next visit and get it refilled for half price or something like that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graytown, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, and got a couple of their wraps, and a glass of their wine. Everything was fresh and flavorful, and setting on the patio looking out at the Lake was very relaxing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

First and last time going there. Service slow and unfriendly. Wine does not even rate a review and the tasting is over double price of the central Ohio prices.The wine tasted like vinegar in all the samples. Did not buy any to take home

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service is always slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been here many times over the last 20 years and service is consistently slow. Food is average, nothing to get excited about but I guess we're really here for the wine which is good but the prices are practically tripled on those over the years as well. Nice view of the lake though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Firehouse Winery also viewed

 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Old Firehouse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Firehouse Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.