We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and lack of serivce” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Firehouse Winery

Old Firehouse Winery
5499 Lake Road, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
440.466.9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Busy and lack of serivce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very busy, waited about 20 minutes for a table, then another 20 to get anyone to say "hello" we were a minute form getting up and walking out. We ordered then we waited again for drinks and again for our food. Do not go there if you are in a hurry. Food was OK. Husband had Perch dinner, and he left hungry I had the wings, they were dripping in sauce and very messy but not to bad. Do not know if I will rush back there very soon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    33
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay wine, a little crowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I enjoyed the tasting, but I felt very crowded. I will have to try it out again, maybe it was just the actual day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winery with Bar atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

For the rowdy group who like more beer than wine...after visiting so many classy and rustic wineries in the area, this one was less,than enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

the appeal of this restaurant is in the atmosphere and decor more than the food. The food was just okay....maybe even not so good. I would not go here again. The restaurant is very cramped and the do not take advantage of their great view of the lake. The eating area viewing the lake is like eating in a gas station. Save your money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Longtime stop at this winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

With most of the rides now gone, this place isn't quite the same. But some cheap wine and decent bar snacks on a nice summer night and you can't feel badly about stopping by here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Firehouse Winery also viewed

Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Old Firehouse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Firehouse Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.