We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great this time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Firehouse Winery

Old Firehouse Winery
5499 Lake Road, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
440.466.9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so great this time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband & I travel to Geneva on the Lake several times and we love to go to the Old Firehouse Winery. We always have a good time, but not this visit!! Everything was good, except our waitress. We ordered some wine and an appetizer, which we received after a long wait. We were going to order more food, but never got the chance!!! Our waitress came over and said she was done for the evening, and we needed to pay our bill now. I asked if someone else was going to take over her tables and she said yes, then she stood at our table waiting for us to pay her!!!!!! How rude!!!! And guess what? No one ever came back to see if we needed anything else!!! I did speak to the manager, but that was just a waste of my time!!!! Not sure if I will go back again!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    33
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great music, great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We took our 2 toddlers and had a great time dancing to the live music! Tons of awesome food choices and large serviings at a very affordable price! Highly recommend visiting here, plus the ferris wheel was great fun! :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good fine, Great environment, OK wine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

If you are into relaxing with a drink, catching-up with some friends all the while being in a crowd of people, this is the place to be. Although they create their own wines, they are not the best wines available in this region. DON'T come here for the wines along, but instead come here for some fun and a little wine on the side.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great spot for sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have been visiting Geneva on the Lake for years, and have usually visited the winery for a bottle of wine during sunset (which I highly reccomend). The service has always been mediocre, as it was when we recently visited. We ordered appetizers (Buffalo Shrimp and Veggie Quesadilla), both were good.. If you expect fine dining, you should probably look elsewhere. If you are looking for outdoor seating, live music, drinks and beautiful views, this is a great place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service, bad experience!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was literally one of the worst dining experiences I have had in some time. First, the waitress only came to bring us our drinks once(sat empty over 25 minutes), then our "meals", then at the end of our meals she brings the check and a refill of drinks. My friend spilled some of her drink on the table and had to wave down the same waitress to ask her for more napkins to clean it up....got them 15 minutes later.

The food was another story....$9.00 for a wrap/sandwich and $10.50 if you want fries...I knew when I saw that it was a rip-off....I don’t mind spending $10.50 if its worth $10.50. I also noticed when we sat outside they didn’t even serve wine in glasses but plastic cups....

Save yourself the time and money....avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Firehouse Winery also viewed

Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Old Firehouse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Firehouse Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.