We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flow of Energy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dhuandhar Falls

Dhuandhar Falls
| Bheda Ghat, Jabalpur 482003, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Jabalpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Thane, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Flow of Energy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have visited Dhuandhar Falls several times during my BE in Jabalpur and each time I had an amazing experience. You can visis this place from 2 different routes, 1 is Old Bhedaghat and other is New Bhedaghat. New Bhedaghat route is more beautiful than the older one and offers a great ride on bike. Don't miss the boating in Narmada river with interesting commentary, after you have visited Dhuandhar.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    76
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I went to Dhuandar falls this Saturday and it was an amazing sight. The gushing waters of Narmada and the beautiful greenery from the cable car was a welcome sight on a crazy,hot and sweltering day. Cross the cable car and got to the other end first. It's quiet with lesser people and view is equally good. Dip your feet in the cold clean water while you soak in the surroundings. Then move to the opposite side. Lots of people over the weekend up doesn't spoil the beauty that is Dhuandar falls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dhuandhar Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a place worth a visit. The river narmada is flowing heavily an plunging from a height of almost 100 feet and the splash is so huge that it creates smoke like water dust at the bottom - thus the name. Rope-way cable-cars are also there for tourist attraction. Items made of marble can be bought from the shops there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Force of Nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently was in Jabalpur for a business visit and one day we wrapped up our work sooner than expected. A colleague suggested we go see the Dhuandhar falls. I had heard so much about these falls that in spite of a fever I decided to go ahead. I have to say the effort was worth it. The Dhuandhar falls - literally translated - Smoky Falls are situated near a place called Bhedaghat about 20 kilometers out of Jabalpur. The falls are created by the Narmada river cascading over a narrow passage of marble rocks and the falling waters throw up such a mist that it creates an impression of smoke in the air - hence the name Dhuandhar! While the falls are not so great in height, the sight is beautiful and you can be awhile just taking in the sight. There is a ropeway to take you to the falls but one better take the walking trail if you are to truly appreciate the beauty.
Of course, the place is replete with local traders selling off marble wares - stone idols, marble artefacts and your own personal bust - if you are keen to get one!!! Your very own personalized statuette if you want!!!
The falls gracefully gentle down into the broad flow of the Narmada river between the sheer rocks of marble. Boating is a must to take int he sights, I am not sure if they allow it these days but from what people say, boating in moonlight past the marble rocks is truly the experience of a lifetime!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Waterfall of Milky water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The water fall is wonderful. It seems as if loads of milk is flowing through the waterfall. The droplets which sways with the wind on your face makes you feel that you are in a different world altogether.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhuandhar Falls also viewed

Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
 
Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
 

Been to Dhuandhar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhuandhar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.