We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porcupine castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcupine Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porcupine Castle Resort to your Saves list
Porcupine Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Polibetta Road, 571215, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 183 Kodagu District B&B and Inns
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Porcupine castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Awasome place, good food & Great service! Place is sarrounded by mountains, coffee and trees, easy to reach if you travel during the day, Overall it is worth the money and travel, out of all the experiences we had a wonderful experience at porcupine castle.

Room Tip: Go now if you like rains and clouds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    92
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
83
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Porcupine castle, built over the hill, is cleverly designed to adapt the terrain it stands on, the castle is built in parts and gives you the pleasure of living on a fortified hill. The experience was amazing!.

Location & Ambiance (5 stars):
The resort is located rather quite remote to any other metro or even town perhaps literally in the middle of no where. If you wish visit the closest store to even buy a loaf of break and if and only if you have your own transport, you need a 20 minutes drive down the hill. However the castle is quite self contained, you can find most if not all you need right at your door step.
I don't buy this "Home away from Home" bulls marketed by most other resorts, if I need to be at home, I would be at home.. The isolated Castle in the middle of a 300 acre coffee plantation gives you an experience you never had.

Service (5 star):
The service and courtesy of the staff was remarkable and they tend to you to their best.

Value for Money (5 star):
I spent two days at the resort and given the fact I could not try my luck with other restaurants in the city I had to completely rely on the Castle, was worried a little at first but I availed free Buffet for breakfast and dinner and my total bill was shockingly low.. If I would pay just as much for hotels in the city I would gladly pay for this experience.

Quality & Taste of Food (5 stars);
The food was amazing but my kind advice, when you make the order, ask them to reduce the salt.. They add TOOOOOOO much salt.

Facilities (3 stars):
Sad isn't it? The Castle, unfortunately, is not fully equipped.

You have internet but only at the reception but even then never have any hopes, they have constant communication failure.

The Castle, built on top of the mountain adapts to its terrain and many parts of the castle are steep, I hope the administration redesigns them with stairs soon.

They have a swimming pool overlooking the valley however they don't always have it filled, obviously, not many want to take a swim at below 15 degrees everyday, but you can always request it just a day ahead, which makes sense.

The Castle is well protected and they have taken extra care to make sure bugs and insects, which literally rule the terrain, don't get into your rooms and other facilities, which I believe is remarkable.

Summary:
Your best holiday take off if you are adventurous and quite truly speaking not afraid, note this, if you are afraid of an isolated resort especially in the night none this is going to matter you would just hate it.

Room Tip: > Chalet was amazing > Request less salt in your food > Don't be scared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We made our trip to kodagu porcupin castle from 22 to 25 th july 2013.The resort is in a remote place 30km from the town of madikeri.but connected by road with sign boards.. Those who seek calmness from the day to day mess will enjoy the place...... We really enjoyed the place.....the resort is situated in the middle of a 300 acre coffee plantation. The food was excellent... All the resort staff were extremely good and helpful.since myself and my wife were travelling in our own car, we seeked hotel staff help to visit all the tourist destinations. the swimming pool is not having water hence please ask them if u plan to have a swim. PLEASE NOTE: the roads in this part is in a VERY BAD STATE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pretty decent place but slightly overpriced. Food was tasty and the view from the chalet was amazing. 201,202 was where we stayed, the view's blocked by trees. We reached the place at around 10PM, had some trouble finding it at that point of the night!

Room Tip: 105,106 are the best of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited the resort on 13th July 2013. Our initial plan was to stay for one night but when we reached there we were so impressed that we postponed our flight tickets and end up staying for two nights. The service was also very good. They served starters in the rooms but dinner was served only in the dining area which was also quite nice. In food we ordered for pork curry and pork fry which were indeed tasty. We loved the mountain view rooms ,ambiance of the resort and cleanliness of the place. I would definitely suggest others to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to porcupine castle on 13-14th of july 2013. it was well worth the drive. Let me start off this way, for the view and serenity and the quality of stay I would give this place five big stars. It met with all what I had expected. A calm and relaxing trip away from the chaotic bangalore city life. It gave much more than I had expected in that front. Food was the main calamity at this place. The restaurant a la carte food is good. But the food included in tariff i.e. breakfast and dinner are almost worse. Like 4/10 if I'd be to rate them. But what takes off the bad taste of food is the view from the valley view chalets. It is just an unbelievable experience to stay in one of these chalets. They are just as explained in their website or advertised. I'd give this resort a high recommendation. A really high recommendation and would rate it 4/5 and a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The stay was really good and peaceful. The scenic views were very soothing. The rooms were clean and maintained well. Not luxurious though but comfortable. The food was really good but not much variety was available. There is no spa which is a big draw back. Since we went in july (non-season) the swimming pools werent maintained properly , may be due to non-stop rain. overall its an excellent place to relax with your family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcupine Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Castle Resort

Address: Polibetta Road, 571215, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu District
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porcupine Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Porcupine Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcupine Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.