We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw Nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rappa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hassan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rappa
Save
You added The Rappa to your Saves list
Arali Marada Koppalu, Hassan 570103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Hassan
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Raw Nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is so serene that you will fall in love with this place at very next moment.
The place is tucked away from the hustle bustle of urban settings and you have to travel interior for ~ 20 km from NH48. Its better that you have your own transport to reach this place.

They have tented cottages, rooms facing the back water and tree house. Vijay who owns this place is very cordial and you spend time with him to share his travelogues.

Food provided as part of package(Breakfast, Lunch, Snacks & Dinner) is very filling and tasty.
Liquor is not available in house but one can carry along .
Activities:
1. Best part of this place is you can go for kayaking on the back waters of hemavathy river. Also you can visit submerged church.
2.tight rope walking
3. Nature walk
4.try your photography skills as the vast lands provide picturesque view of Gorur dam.
5 If all the above does not excite you then you can tag along with Vijay where in he can showoff his driving skills on those wet lands

overall good place to spend over the weekend.

Room Tip: Its typical camping site and not be mistaken for resort facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    5
    8
    24
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The serene & tranquil nature of this place is most striking thing you notice...Equally noteworthy is the hospitality extended by Sibi & Vijay, These guys just make you feel at home...so down to earth, They treat you like their friends…Very receptive & accomodative!!! Will make sure the basic necessities are met comfortably.
The dining area so unique...the tables & chairs are so different in terms of the design...usage of old furnitures n tree barks...Old bulluck cart wheels...boats.... and artistically designed chairs to be sat in different postures....

Kayaking is the best part...a lake so calm...a light drizzle to top it up...Wow!!
An island full of trees...Hear the birds chirp while you go around the island for a swim!!! None to disturb you,
Biking on the grassland was an feeling never experienced before...That was totally out of the world:-)
Milo,Tutsi, Mischief, Shunti and Tingo.…They will be around you till the last minute of your stay and entertain you...They are indeed man's best friend!
Food is the best you can ask for...Simple n delicious mix of veg n non veg food like fish curries, Tandoori chicken, Dal n Egg curry:-)...U will just love them because they are so easy on the stomach & very homely food!
The best place recommended for people who love to feel nature so close...just getting lost into the wilderness, Simple home like comforts, Great host & friends!!! Sibi was extremely warm n accommodative to our requests, It was really nice to chat with Vijay about his voyage n travel...we were lucky to experience an awesome adrenalin packed drive around the grassland..Thanks to Vijay:-)
I am sure to go back again...Thank you guys for making my holiday an awesome memorable one!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

hey guys..

no words can xpress this place.. all i can say is PEACEFUL place.. the owner treated us like his own frnds... Good services were provided... this plce reminds me of the start of earth wher ther are only rivers, birds, fresh air, river, greenery everywher....... n it goes on n on..... im planin for my 2nd bike trip sooooonnnn...... RAPPA IM CMIN BACK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A place to replenish your inner self from all the havoc in life..... At Rappa you can actually hear Silence grazing through your ears.... The food tells you your not very far from home....Kayaking, the usp, take the kayak, go to middle of the lake and lie down.. a very serene feeling and if your lucky enough it might drizzle a little like creaming on the cake.... Vijay (owner), Sibi and vijay's bro-in-law whom we called 'Doc' are the best hosts you can ever meet. If you know anyone who hate or fear dogs get them here.... tingu, ginger, milo and more can make them think otherwise like in an instant. We went as a 9 member biking group and decided we are going to do once a month from now.... You hv to be there to see it!!!!

Room Tip: Call them in advance like a week and they'll make sure you have a perfect vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hey all. For pure nature lovers I think it is a must do. The pure air, flora and fauna. The food is homely without pretences or colour. From the stone slab "bed" for the reader or the meditator or simply lazy guys like me wanting a siesta to furious kayaking all of them relax you mentally and physically.
Started with the bad reviews on this pace before I went there and realised these guys had it all wrong..... they wanted crisp linen and breakfast in bed ;-).. like my title says it is a rough it out, back of beyond place where you want quiet. The birds, pets and nature are appealing. Will go back. So what if there was no water for brushing at 6:30 in the morning.. damn, I was there for a holiday not a business trip. Like my 9 yr old daughter said "I wanna come back".

Room Tip: What room ?? Choose the stone slab for the best bed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all, I would like to thank Vijay and Sibi for treating us like friends and not like customers.

As Vijay said "this is not a comfy resort but a beautiful camping site".

All I can say is - This place is a very good Weekend Getaway for nature lovers. Simple yet clean and neat food, simple but beautiful accommodation. Unlimited fun with Vijay and his gang. Unlimited Kayaking with precaution. Very very friendly and cute dogs to accompany you. Last but not the least dont forget to ask Sibi for tasty Jamoons :)

Note : If you are expecting 5 star luxury don't go there.

Room Tip: Pick the last one towards the reservoir, its gets real peaceful over there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

excellent location and good caring people and the pets too. very good planned schedules and felt fully engaged over there. Good place for nature lovers and also who loves water bound places for swimming, kayaking etc. excellent location

Room Tip: tents are good than cottages..but there is no restroom in tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rappa

Address: Arali Marada Koppalu, Hassan 570103, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hassan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Hassan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rappa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.