We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in dalhousie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MGM1

Hotel MGM1
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel MGM1 to your Saves list
Hotel MGM1
Mall Road, Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh, INDIA, Dalhousie, India (Formerly Hotel Chaanakya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Dalhousie B&B and Inns
Amritsar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“holiday in dalhousie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

me and my wife stayed in mgm dalhousie from 28/8/2013 to 1/9/2013.hotel has parking facility for car.location is very convenient as both chownks are within easy walking distance from the hotel.staff was very cooperative.room and bathroom were neat and clean.food quality was good.overall was a good experience and we enjoyed our holiday

Room Tip: better to have hill side room in off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Good choice in Dalhousie. ..gud location. ..on mall road....service was so so but preparation was good...rooms well maintained...
Parking space available. ...overall nice option in Dalhousie...need to improve their restaurant. ..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When you are travelling to Dalhousie you hardly have any options of Good hotels. While Googling I found Hotel MGM1 to be a newly renovated property and the high prices suggested that i must be good hotel. We were three families travelling during June which is considered to be a high season for that place but hardly any one else was staying there. Because of the low occupancy, getting food on time was a very very big problem as it seemed to us that they were not even having the vegetables or other required things in the kitchen and were going shopping for them only after we ordered the food.

Rooms were really pathetic and very badly done. Though we were among the first few guests of the newly renovated hotel, still the carpet was full of dust. Mosquitoes and flies were ruling the air. Taps were leaking. There was very bad odour in the rooms. In one of the rooms (we had 3) the washroom window which was really big in size was not even having curtain and when we complained to the front desk they told that since it was opening towards the valley, therefore, no curtains were required. Food was bad.

Overall, MGM1 spoiled our holidays.

Room Tip: Here you don' t have an option of good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was staying in room 102 for 3 weeks and I have to say I spent a wonderful time in the MGM1.
The Manager Mr. Raj Kumar and his staff will provide you with everything you need.
Friendly staff,good service,nice new spacious rooms and big windows allow a wonderful view to the mountain range.
Room 102 is a bit more expensive but if you stay longer the Manager will reduce the rate.
Also wi-fi was working (free) all the time but be carful because some rooms have no signal.So ckeck the signal before you check in the room.The manager and the staff is hornest and will help you and advise you.I got a heater for free and in the winter months (coldest season) 2 heater would be even better.But the second one you will have to pay.(200Rs)
The service was fine to and the place is very safe.You also have a safety box inside the room.
Location can not be better every because the hotel is in ther heart of Dalhousie located.
It is wonderful to wander the magic villages around Dalhousie.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during April 2012 with my family. This is one of the best hotel ever I have seen. I am touched by the hospitality of the staff of Hotel MGM1. The hotel staff was very amicable. This hotel is right on the Mall Road with private big car parking space. I am very much satisfied with my stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Newely renovated rooms / hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at MGM1 for 3N/4D starting 20th June 2012.The Hotel is located at almost middle of the track (mall road of Dalhousie) that connects Subhash chowk and Gandhi chowk, where you can walk on either side having a night walk or morning walk at your convenience .The rooms are clean with a good view of the valley. Food is excellent with decent variety in buffet (package deal). The staff is courteous and smiling which is a treat.

So far so good.But rooms are not spacious . Very disappointed on that aspect. The most annoying part was the houseflies roaming in the rooms (even after daily cleaning) . However the bathroom was clean but again cramped.
I would not have complained about all this had the rates were lower, but when you are staying at one of the highest priced hotels in Dalhousie, you definitely expect the best.
I visited almost all the hill stations of Himachal even the remote areas like lahaul spiti, sangla valley, kalpa etc and stayed in all almost all types of accommodations  log huts, cottages , swiss tents but this hotel MISSES "MONEY'S WORTH".

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MGM1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MGM1

Address: Mall Road, Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh, INDIA, Dalhousie, India (Formerly Hotel Chaanakya)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel MGM1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MGM1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.